Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 93

Thread: TW Script Editor

  1. #61
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    Version 0.5.7

    Changes/Fixes from v0.5.6:

    • Added admiral to syntax highliting for M2TW & RTW Scripts
    • Fixed the auto indentation which was not correctly indenting in all cases
    • Changed the validation to report one error per unit line from the unit lines of a spawn_army block
    • Fixed the movie line of add_events blocks looking in the wrong location for movie files
    • Changed the movie line in add_events blocks to check for correct extension before checking for file existence
    • Fixed a couple of minor errors in movie line and position line checks for add_events blocks
    • Fixed various commands not being recognized if they also are scripting keywords (such as date)
    • Slight performance improvement from only doing unit related checks when expecting a unit (EDU) type, these improvements will be ongoing for a few updates going forward

    Go to the first post to get the new version.
    Last edited by Squid; December 19, 2011 at 07:19 PM.
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  2. #62
    PunitorMaximus's Avatar TWTEAW Mod Leader
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Austria (that one in europe)
    Posts
    2,881

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    i tried to modify americas. i extracted it and launched the twscript editor. i copypasted the path to the americas data where all the extracted(and required) files are placed. but i had 12 errors^^ the editor found not a single .txt file...
    whats my mistake?

  3. #63
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    49,178
    Blog Entries
    26

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    The files you extracted (data\text folder) are in string.bin format and need converting. Use this: StringBin Converter
    You might also need some files from the main game (descr_advice)




  4. #64
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    The above would account for 3 of the errors but not the other 9. What operating system are you using? My guess is Vista or Win 7 and you're running into virtual store issues.
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  5. #65
    PunitorMaximus's Avatar TWTEAW Mod Leader
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Austria (that one in europe)
    Posts
    2,881

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    im using win xp. as i sayed i just extracted americas and tried to launch the script editor. ill convert them.
    one more question: in the third age total war mod for kingdoms i changed some entries in the export_descr_units and it worked. i did the same with the extracted americas, but without effect.
    do you have any idea what could be the reason for this??

    PS: thanx for fast reply

  6. #66
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    If it still isn't finding the files you didn't extract them to where you think you did or the setting isn't pointing to where you think it is.

    You need to add a config file for the expansions that tells them to refer to the files first, otherwise the game won't refer to the extracted files at all. The easiest is to just add the following to the vanilla config file:

    Code:
    [io]
    file_first = true
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  7. #67
    PunitorMaximus's Avatar TWTEAW Mod Leader
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Austria (that one in europe)
    Posts
    2,881

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    ah ok thx! exactly what i wanted to know

  8. #68
    PunitorMaximus's Avatar TWTEAW Mod Leader
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Austria (that one in europe)
    Posts
    2,881

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    i think i solved it! thx all!

  9. #69
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    49,178
    Blog Entries
    26

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    I have a New Year's wish: a sub routine to check if the correct entries for historic events are present in the text file. For example:

    "historic_event test_entry" and "event historic test_entry" require {TEST_ENTRY_TITLE} and {TEST_ENTRY_BODY} in the data\text\historic_events file, no text is required after those entries.

    Without those entries the game crashes when the event fires.
    Last edited by Gigantus; January 01, 2012 at 11:42 PM.




  10. #70
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    I'll see what I can do, that will probably work into my plan to redo what files the TWLibrary.dll reads based on what is being checked. For example when checking scripts you aren't worried about whether or not entries exists in export_VnVs.txt and export_ancillaries.txt, so don't need to read those files, but when checking traits with ATVTW those files are absolutely required. Currently every file is read, even those files that aren't needed.
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  11. #71
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    Version 0.5.8

    Changes/Fixes from v0.5.7:

    • Fixed a bug in searching in reverse where it wouldn't find a search term if it was at the end of the file
    • Added ability to replace all instances within the selected text
    • Added ability to count instances of a search term
    • Fixed the search term not being selected in the Find/Replace box
    • Find/Replace now notifies if no matches were found
    • Replace All notifies the total number of replacements made
    • Title of the Find/Replace dialog now changes depending on the active tab
    • Fixed the error log not always clearing when a new script started
    • Removed the ability to validate when the editing windows is not active
    • Added default accept/cancel buttons to the Choose Setting and New Setting forms
    • Added hotkeys to all buttons on the Choose Setting form
    • Changed save dialog not pointing to the correct save path
    • Removed end_while from the list of script commands
    • Files that aren't needed to validate scripts are no longer read
    • text/historic_events is now required but isn't yet used
    • settlements names are now checked against external names instead of internal ones
    • settlement related files are now required and not optional

    Go to the first post to get the new version.
    Last edited by Squid; March 06, 2012 at 02:05 PM.
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  12. #72
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    Version 0.5.9

    Changes/Fixes from v0.5.8:

    • Fixed the program overwriting/creating a data/text/barbrian_invasion_regions_and_settlements_names.txt file

    Go to the first post to get the new version.
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  13. #73

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    I seem unable to edit anything in the dHHR folder with the latest version, but it works when I use it to open any file in the Stainless Steel folder. I've deleted both settings without success. When I open the dHHR desc_srat file I find everything greyed out and the contents of the list lack any of the colouring while I'm able to access everything in the SS desc_strat and it contains all the coloured text.

    Do you know what might be causing this and have a solution?

    Does anyone have a link to an older version that might work with dHHR?
    Last edited by Beastro; March 22, 2012 at 03:40 PM.

  14. #74
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,023

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    Check to see if dHHR has its files set to read-only.

  15. #75
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    Quote Originally Posted by Beastro View Post
    When I open the dHHR desc_srat file
    This does not do anything with descr_strat.txt it will only work with a script file (e.g. your campaign script or a show me script).
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

  16. #76
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    49,178
    Blog Entries
    26

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    I am having a problem with my favorite script (1648) again. We had the matter with the settlement because it was identical to a faction name. This time it appears to be massive: nearly every second settlement is flagged as incorrect. Curiously the same name that is invalid in one spot can be correct just a few lines below it, eg Koeln in line 13931 is invalid, Koeln in line 13944 is in order.
    Did some tests and the first name in descr_region (Prag) is fine, the next one (Muenchen) gets flagged. Thought it had to do with the legion entry, but other settlements without that entry get flagged as well.
    Could that be a formatting thing either in my descr_regions file or the tool? Attached my collection of necessary files.
    Last edited by Gigantus; March 30, 2012 at 01:48 PM.




  17. #77

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    Great Tool !
    Thank you Squid

  18. #78

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    have you got a list of commands?

    I searched online and the only source I found, which is on total war forum, is dead.

    If you have got it, can you upload it somewhere please

  19. #79

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    is there any way i can use this without using the imperial_campaign_regions_and_settlements.txt
    eb2 doesn't include that file

  20. #80
    Squid's Avatar Opifex
    Patrician Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Frozen waste lands of the north
    Posts
    17,741
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: TW Script Editor

    It has to have that file if they have a functional campaign for M2TW. What error are you actually getting?
    Under the patronage of Roman_Man#3, Patron of Ishan
    Click for my tools and tutorials
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." -----Albert Einstein

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •