Thread: The Cantabrian Circle

Default The Cantabrian Circle

First of all, I'd like to say that I'm a little new to Total War games. I have RTW and M2TW and I have spent hours on both of them. I've spent some of those hours getting familair with both.
    Then I noticed that horse archers have the "Cantabrian Circle" ability which has them run in a circle while shooting. The enemy AI even actually managed to use this ability to circle around some of my units.
    What is the advantage of the cantabrian circle and have you ever mangaged to circle an enemy unit?
    I've tried, but it seems impossible.

Bull3pr00f de Bodemloze's Avatar Occasio mihi fertur

Default Re: The Cantabrian Circle

It's not really meant to circle an enemy unit. It basically represents all "skirmishing/archer cavalry running in circles to maintain a constant barrage" formations present in the ancient world. The Iberians used it, but so did the Parthians, and the formation in RTW comes closest to the actual Parthian tactic. They'd run in a circle in front of the enemy and each time they passed the enemy formation, they'd release their arrows, making it a constant barrage. Quite effective in Carrhae.

Not to mention it is impossible to hit a horse archer unit in cantabrian circle with Archers or LR archers.

Sabazios's Avatar Semisalis

afaik its harder for the enemy to hit your unit, because other missile units will aim at the middle of your circling unit.

You're also slightly less accurate, and it can make skirmish mode act retarded.

Just keep them a safe distance from enemies....

Entropy Judge's Avatar Vicarius

Quote Originally Posted by Bull3pr00f de Bodemloze View Post