Page 12 of 15 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112131415 LastLast
Results 221 to 240 of 286

Thread: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

  1. #221

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by irishron View Post
    Before searching for the hidden folder, did you unhide all files, folders, and drives in Folder Options first? They won't show otherwise.

    If it's Vista SP1 or later, try searching the roaming folder.

    I don't know how to do that. I don't know where a roaming folder would be either. And I have windows 7.

  2. #222

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Ok I found the info int eh first post and revealed the hidden files. I still have no virtual store in my user data.

  3. #223
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    How about users\your username\appdata\roaming\the creative assembly?

  4. #224

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by irishron View Post
    How about users\your username\appdata\roaming\the creative assembly?
    I found the roaming folder but the last part is not there. I checked all the user folders.

  5. #225
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Try installing then. If you a message of it already installed, check again and check the registry again.
    Computer does have a Search box top right corner you can use, too.

  6. #226

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    So I disable uac(still nervous about that) reboot and install? I have already done a ccleaner scan. Thanks for the help and happy new year!

  7. #227
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Sound like plan. Go forth.
    If you're the only user on your computer and you only go to legit sites you don't need the UAC. Even with kids using mine long before Microsoft included it I'd just password protect programs I didn't want them into.

  8. #228

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    What would you consider a non legit site? I don't do torrents or go looking to dl pirated stuff(or any stuff for that matter) on use net or sites like that..

  9. #229

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Ok I got it installed and am running the 1.05 patch now. I will probably wait on the TATW stuff until the morning. After I do that(and is there anything else I need to do before that) won't I be finished? What I mean is since the TATW mod is finished(and I installed from dvds) would it be safe to reactivate the UAC? I am a bit paranoid in case you hadn't noticed.

  10. #230
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    UAC is better left off when dealing with Medieval2 mods. Others have said this long before me.

  11. #231

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Well after turning off UAC I did a Spybot scan before continuing. A trojan popped up Win 32 Bifrost and my Spybot will no longer fix selected results. Needless top say I ahve stopped with TATW until I get this fixed. If I can.

  12. #232
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems


  13. #233

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    I tried it but it didn't find anything.

  14. #234
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Is this file on your computer in this folder?
    Code:
    C:\Program Files\Bifrost\server.exe
    If so delete it and run another Ccleaner scan.

  15. #235

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    I don't see it. From that path there would be a Bifrost folder where the exe would be inside right? Or should I look in some other folder? I am trying a Hitman pro scan now.

  16. #236
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Windows folder has server.exe for a reason that is legit. Let the Hitman scan run first.

  17. #237

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Hitman got rid of 2 Trojans but neither said Bifrost. A second scan came up with no problems. I am running Spybot again to see if Hitman listed the Bifrost under an alternate name. What a way to start the new year.

  18. #238
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Hopefully this makes the rest of the year better.
    What were the other Trojans out of curiosity?
    Edit: Have you tried Malwarebytes? They also have a rootkit killer the last time I checked.

  19. #239

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Thanks. From the log:

    Trojan.Generic.1071250 (Engine-A)
    Trojan.MSIL.Fakromup.i

    I have Malwarebytes but it didn't find anything. TBH I am starting to wonder if Spybot removed the Bifrost trojan but got stuck before telling me.

  20. #240
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: How To Fix UAC and VirtualStore Problems

    Possible. Did Spybot leave a text file after its scan?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •