Thread: Hungarian and Central European History

Mihai Bogdan's Avatar Laetus

Default Hungarian and Central European History

Hello community Magyar mod ! Your mod is very pretty, good job! I say this because I like Central European Medieval age (Holy Roman Empire, Bohemia, Poland, Hungary ). But I have some questions that are in my head for a very very long time. Please excuse me if somehow I do off-topic:

1. I know that in the Middle Age Hungarian kingdom was almost Catholic, I mean all the Hungarians were Catholic. When did Hungarians (a percentage of them) became Protestant and why? I suppose there was a reaction against Holy Roman Emperor (Habsburg Archduke of Austria )
    2. I studied at school that Transylvania was an autonomous principality under Ottoman suzeranity.I know that Hungary was somehow split in two parts after Ottoman occupation of Buda : one independent which is the state mentioned above (Eastern Hungary) under Zapolia/Szapolyai family and the other inherited by the Habsburgs because the Holy Roman Emperor of that time was relative with Hungarian king Louis II of Hungary and Bohemia. My question is why the Holy Roman Emperor through a general like Basta was so implicated in Transylvania's politics as this state was occupied by Habsburgs? I think that the Holy Roman Emperor considered this Principality a puppet state.
    3. I saw on youtube that Prinz Eugen Marsch which is Austrian was adopted by Hungary and it is called Prinz Eugen indulo I know that Austria was always an enemy of Hungary but many hungarians like this historical figure tough he ended with the Principality of Transylvania's independence.
    4. Where the Austrians come from ? I know that they do not consider themselves germans, they say they are celtic tough the Babenberg family originated from Franconia, Bavaria that should make the Austrians german. Are they german ?