Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 101

Thread: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by Gig

  1. #61
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    My bad, you need to have it added into the descr_religions file as well, the data\text\religion entry is for the displayed text only - the top part in descr_religions is where Geomod reads the data from:

    Code:
    religions
    {
        catholic
        orthodox
        islam
        pagan
        heretic
        protestant
    }
    
    religion catholic
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_catholic.tga
    }
    
    religion orthodox
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_orthodox.tga
    }
    
    religion islam
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_islam.tga
    }
    
    religion pagan
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_pagan.tga
    }
    
    religion heretic
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_heretic.tga
    }
    religion protestant
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_heretic.tga
    }
    Last edited by Gigantus; February 08, 2012 at 10:11 AM.




  2. #62

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    My bad, you need to have it added into the descr_religions file as well, the data\text\religion entry is for the displayed text only - the top part in descr_religions is where Geomod reads the data from:

    Code:
    religions
    {
        catholic
        orthodox
        islam
        pagan
        heretic
        protestant
    }
    
    religion catholic
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_catholic.tga
    }
    
    religion orthodox
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_orthodox.tga
    }
    
    religion islam
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_islam.tga
    }
    
    religion pagan
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_pagan.tga
    }
    
    religion heretic
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_heretic.tga
    }
    religion protestant
    {
        pip_path    ui/pips/pip_heretic.tga
    }
    Thanks, now it works perfectly

  3. #63
    jakerslake's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    in Wilmington, NC, USA - till' the angels cry and we return again to the Great City on the Bosphorus
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    The link for ''Information Maps'' takes me nowhere

    What is it called when you try to start a campaign but it takes you straight back to Campaign menu?
    Last edited by jakerslake; March 05, 2012 at 06:14 PM.

  4. #64
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    The internal link(s) should have taken you to the "Generating of Maps (Ctrl+G)" chapter - I will have to fix that.

    It is called 'Crash to Menu' - a more detailed info about the particular error should be in your game log.
    Last edited by Gigantus; March 05, 2012 at 07:43 PM.




  5. #65

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    hi there does this work with rage of the dark gods aim thinking on adding some new regions in certain places but when i launch the gemod in the mods floder i only see the regualr 3 kingdoms expansions america,crusades etc should it include other installed mods like third age and rage of dark gods for instance?

  6. #66
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    You have to browse 'up' to the M2TW\mods folder, that's were all your mods should be. I know it works with 'Rage of dark Gods' - I made minor corrections with the tool for it.

    Geomod opens in the M2TW\tools\Geomod folder which contains files from the kingdoms campaigns - I guess that is what is confusing you.




  7. #67
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Correction for the upcoming edition, page 26 (Campaign Sub Tab):

    Playability
    The drop down menu gives you a choice of absent, playable, unlockable and unplayable. Note: if you set a faction to absent after having set region ownership to this faction then these regions will be removed completely. Re-allocate these regions to other factions before setting a faction to absent to avoid redoing all the settlement details!




  8. #68
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Update

    12th September 2012
    - added more detailed instructions regarding ports
    - added note regarding the removal of existing factions




  9. #69
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Not sure what I am doing wrong. Just started up geomod and point it to SS folder. it opens up the map but it keeps sucking my mouse pointer to the middle of the map...

  10. #70
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    That's a weird one, never come across it. Have you tried other mods?




  11. #71
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    That's a weird one, never come across it. Have you tried other mods?
    Yes it only opens ss. Wont open other mods. Bad download maybe?

  12. #72
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Does it 'not open' in others without error message or does it mention missing files?

    A deleting of the tools\geomod folder and a re-installing of the tool may help.




  13. #73

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    I am having a terrible time trying to edit the Executable file. I have Windows 7. I right click on it and I do not have an Edit option except "Edit in Notepad++", so I try that, but all I get is tons of boxes/squares, and I tried dragging the file into a blank Notepad window and all I get is special characters everywhere. Clearly the format is not working, what do I need to do to read it correctly? I haven't had this problem before that I can recall. I'm sure the fix it is something simple, but I can't remember.

    http://imm.io/1fh52

  14. #74
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,023

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    You mean medieval2.exe or kingdoms.exe?

  15. #75
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    There is mentioning of the program used to compile Geomod in the main discussion thread (I think it's PureBasic). The supporting files (PBI) are all in the tools\Geomod\include folder. Permission has been given by the author to use those files if I am not mistaken.




  16. #76

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Hi Gigantus, I realized I typed this in the wrong thread. My question is in regards to the map tutorial where you make Iceland (the word text doc).

    Finally yet importantly, we will take care of the ‘Executable.bat’ file. Open it by right clicking on it and choosing ‘edit’. Replace ‘Bare_Kingdoms’ with ‘MyMapping’, save and exit.
    I tried doing that, and got the problems I mentioned in my previous post.

  17. #77
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Executable.BAT = batch file in the mods\MyMapping folder
    You must seen 'executable' and thought it was the kingdoms.exe




  18. #78

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Yes, Executable in the MyMapping folder is what I am referring to. I will delete it and try again later today, maybe it will get rid of whatever went wrong for me.

  19. #79

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Didn't work. Man this is frustrating me, I'm sure it's something simple I am doing wrong but I don't know what it is. This is the file correct? In Bare_Geomod after you install it?

    http://imm.io/1fkUp

  20. #80
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,364
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - The Geomod Manual by gig

    Now it clicked with me: I recently changed the BAT (batch file) of Bare Geomod to the ModStarter EXE (application).

    In which case you don't need to do anything with it.
    You only have to adjust the CFG file in the MyMapping folder

    If you have used Bare Kingdoms as suggested in the tutorial, then you should have a Executable.BAT file in your MyMapping folder and will be able to edit it as described.
    Last edited by Gigantus; August 16, 2013 at 10:54 PM.




Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •