Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 83

Thread: Creating a World - Named Forts

  1. #1
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Creating a World - Named Forts

    A short tutorial for naming forts. After following the tutorial (other supporting files are included in the download) you will be able to have named forts in two different display methods (see spoiler - pictures courtesy of the 1648 - Der dreissigjährige Krieg mod).



    Instructions how to place the necessary permanent forts first can be found here.


    Regular Display Option


    Permanent Display Option



    Version History
    14th September
    - added attachment for required files, link provided in manual
    13th September
    - added link to Creating a World - Stone Forts on the Battle Map tutorial for placement of permanent stone forts
    .
    Last edited by Gigantus; June 30, 2017 at 07:09 AM. Reason: media updated




  2. #2
    Cyrene's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Una River
    Posts
    2,590

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Thanks, good sir, will make sure to rep when i can.
    Last edited by Cyrene; August 28, 2014 at 07:05 AM.

  3. #3
    The Border Reiver's Avatar Artifex
    Patrician

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,692

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Once again you astound me Gigantus, thankyou for this tutorial, you have made my week, and helped my mod. I had thought of only adding a few token forts to my map...now thanks to you I can add greater detail and depth to my map.
    Last edited by The Border Reiver; September 13, 2012 at 08:05 AM.

  4. #4
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    One is glad to be of service




  5. #5
    The Border Reiver's Avatar Artifex
    Patrician

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,692

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    I've just added the entries as required (I've probably made a mistake as usual), but instead of a fort appearing on the campaign map, I have a a texture less princess model? What step do you think I have missed to have the fort model appear Gigantus?

  6. #6
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    You have to place the fort the regular way via descr_strat.
    The princess is just the name tag that sits on top of the fort.

    Edit: link added to manual and OP

    Edit2: moved from Text & Editing to Mapping
    Last edited by Gigantus; September 13, 2012 at 11:00 AM.




  7. #7
    The Border Reiver's Avatar Artifex
    Patrician

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,692

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    You have to place the fort the regular way via descr_strat.
    The princess is just the name tag that sits on top of the fort.

    Edit: link added to manual and OP

    Edit2: moved from Text & Editing to Mapping
    Ah yes that make sense

    I've got everything to work except to make the princess disappear. These are my entries in the descr character and descr_model_start

    faction aztecs
    dictionary 1
    strat_model invisible

    type invisible
    skeleton princess
    scale 0.7
    indiv_range 40
    texture aztecs, models_strat/textures/princess_aztecs.tga
    model_flexi_m models_strat/southern_princess.cas, max

    My invisible texture is definently called and saved as princess_aztecs.tga. Do I need to create an invisble model type as a cas file and add it to the models_strat folder? How does the game know to look for the invisible model?

  8. #8
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Maybe the formatting of your texture isn't correct - I am attaching the model and texture(s) that we used in 1648 to the OP. You will also need the default texture of that CAS model in the textures folder (textures\SouthernPrincess_milan.tga - included as well).
    The model gets looked up through the faction's entry in descr_character:

    faction aztecs
    dictionary 1
    strat_model invisible


    UPDATE


    • The manual has been updated with the link to the model and textures and a short explanation regarding the default texture.
    • The model and textures have been attached to the OP.
    Last edited by Gigantus; September 14, 2012 at 03:20 AM.




  9. #9
    The Border Reiver's Avatar Artifex
    Patrician

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,692

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Thank you Gigantus for your replies. Using your files I was able to get this working, best of all using your files I found a couple of errors in my coding, that I fixed.

    Now to get my Geomod files working.

  10. #10
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Glad to hear you got it fixed - you know where to ask for Geomod issues I assume?




  11. #11

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    finaly , big thx

    The more sand has escaped from the hourglass of our life, the clearer we should see through it.
    Niccolo Machiavelli

  12. #12
    Paladin94610's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    A Motte & Bailey
    Posts
    1,035

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    can't we make it using rebel faction?? just curious. Is this the same method as in DotS.
    Formerly Iberia Auxilia


  13. #13
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    You cannot use the rebel faction as it requires the faction to be frozen, simply reducing movement points is not effective enough. Apart from that the characters will be prone to actions from other factions.
    I do not know which principle DotS is using (it's not releases yet) but I would think it's very similar, given the appearance of the name (see intro by TWC postcast) when 'mousing' over the fort.




  14. #14

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Thanks for this Gigantus, also the pics have gone from the 1st post!


  15. #15
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    The release of RotK and related pictures has chewed up the band width with media fire. Unfortunately the pics also become unavailable to me at that site, so unfortunately I can't just transfer them to a different service provider. It will have to wait for the beginning of the coming month. I have already transferred the pics for RotK to imageshack - it should therefore not happen again.

    Note to self: do not use Photobucket (or other restricting providers) for pics that will be viewed excessively.




  16. #16

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    I noticed earlier, when following the tutorial, the pics are in the tutorial booklet!

    I'm having problems, I've double checked and triple checked etc, but I cant seem to find the problem.

    There's no ctds and there's nothing that shows in the log, so I just wonder if I'm adding spaces instead of tabs or something like that!

    Would it be possible if you could upload me the 1648 script, so I could check.

    Here's my entire script:

    Code:
    script
    
        freeze_faction_ai dragondawn
    
        restrict_strat_radar false
    
        monitor_event PreFactionTurnStart FactionIsLocal
            spawn_character dragondawn, Ruins, princess, age 16, x 233, y 269
            console_command move_character "Ruins" 231, 269
        end_monitor
    
        monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionIsLocal
            retire_characters dragondawn princess
        end_monitor
    
    end_script


  17. #17
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Probably the missing 'wait_monitor' line at the end of the script. The rest looks fine.

    If that's not the reason, try spawning a character for a faction that you can control. And don't forget to have 'label_characters = 1' in your CFG file if the texture is complete alpha (invisible).




  18. #18

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Thanks mate, that was exactly what it was, I can breathe a sigh of relief now!


  19. #19
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,395
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    One is glad to be of service




  20. #20

    Default Re: Creating a World - Named Forts

    Hello mans! need some help, I'm adding retrofit mod, and my problem is that in the second round, the units rebedes out of forts. how to let the rebels fixed within the fort? Thanks in advance.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •