Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 139

Thread: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

  1. #61

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    I had problems making the layered images - when I put them together all the land or all the sea would turn black. I eventually worked out that it was because I was in indexed mode rather than RBG. Could be worth a note?

    EDIT: just found a much bigger problem - when I'm saving images from the online mapper, they come out at different sizes so they don't overlay properly.

    EDIT2: ok solved that. The problem was, the first time I updated the layers on the online mapper, it reloaded and changed the zoom slightly. Just had to remember to change then change back before saving the first image.
    Last edited by raneak; December 22, 2010 at 08:05 AM.
    "Something unknown is doing we don't know what."
    - Arthur Eddington on the electron

    Free from English since 3:05pm Thursday 4th June 2009.

  2. #62
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    I will put a note in. Indexed mode will happen if you save in PNG format I believe. (Just checked, doesn't matter - they end up indexed)

    Edit:

    Quote Originally Posted by Page 4
    Saving the Map Pictures


    This is as easy as right clicking within the map area and choosing ‘Save as..’ Enter the name suggested in this tutorial and then add the tga ending to it. I would suggest saving the pictures to the desktop for easier localizing once you are finished.
    Adding:
    I would suggest to open all pictures and changing the mode from 'indexed' to 'RGB' as this will save problems later.
    Last edited by Gigantus; December 22, 2010 at 08:03 AM.



  3. #63
    NiliusJulius's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    Thanks, I'll take a look at it

  4. #64
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    EDIT: just found a much bigger problem - when I'm saving images from the online mapper, they come out at different sizes so they don't overlay properly.
    I have found that by working in full screen mode it is easier to maintain the focus. You still will have to define the area before you can start taking any pictures. And then simply change the display options, "update" and then right click on the map area and save.



  5. #65
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    i am using this to make a mapin rome total war.... what should i do in map_roughness and map_trade_routes

    and i need help for map_features too becouse i done as you sayed but i have some rivers verylarge,fat, and idon't know how to place thestart locations,white points
    Last edited by hori873; January 04, 2011 at 12:20 PM.

  6. #66
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    rivers = see page 9 of the manual
    map_roughness and map_trade_routes are blank (RGB 0,0,0) in M2TW



  7. #67
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    can you check my rivers? i tryed to create a map that includes italy, tunis and greece

    map_roughness is 0 0 0 for rtw too? or should i use map_heights?

  8. #68
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    Sorry, I misunderstood you.

    Map_roughness in RTW = convert map_heights to greyscale and reduce the size by one pixel
    Map_trade_route = I am not sure how that works, I guess you would have to ask in the RTW forum to found out how the lines are defined.

    Your map_features = the rivers are too wide, they can only be one pixel wide. There has to be a white pixels at the origin (spring) of each river. Check page 6 of my tutorial Creating a World - Basic Mapping from scratch for more details.



  9. #69
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    for map roughness i have to reduce one pixel from both coordonates x and y?

    and for map_rivers i have to trace the rivers by hand? well, ihave to be carefull

    i remember from rtw that i can't make the diagonal rivers, as yousay in your tutorial i have to add a surplus pixel, i have a question. in the map i i want create, in italy, is a river that splits in two and then the two new rivers jointogether and is a singleriver again, can i dothat in the game?

  10. #70
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    Rejoining a river will cause a crash, I think I mentioned that in the tutorial.
    You can avoid that by leaving out one pixel of the second river and then cover that area in map_ground_types with dense forest.



  11. #71
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    thanks

  12. #72
    The_Steppenwulf's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    formerly Yorkshire,UK - currently Devonshire, UK
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    Gigantus - the online link to the map service doesn't appear to be functioning - any ideas?



    EDIT - following reply below: Ok got it, thanks for your help and quick reply as usual.
    Last edited by The_Steppenwulf; January 10, 2011 at 03:53 PM.

  13. #73
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    The site has been coming and going - always check the first post for updates.
    This link is working: http://www2.demis.nl/worldmap/mapper.asp



  14. #74
    EarendilElenthol's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    998

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    I can't find the biome/climate information anymore, perhaps it's somewhere hidden?

  15. #75
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    Unfortunately that feature is not available anymore (has been removed by the map guys).



  16. #76
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    - the 'Biome version' of the mapper is available again!



  17. #77
    AuroN2's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, AUS, EARTH.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    Just now reached the bit with the Resizing, unfortunately what you actualy do with the rectangle, is of no help, you basicly said "hey, draw a rectangle, now lets go onto the step after what you actualy do with that rectangle".
    Please try to be a bit more clear.

  18. #78
    AuroN2's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, AUS, EARTH.
    Posts
    44

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    Or, i imagine, you just use the rectangle tool to find out dimensions so you do not surpass the 1021 limit?
    (apologies for double post, cant find the edit button)

  19. #79
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,425
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    The rectangle tool defines the area of the graphic that you will work with. It's use should become clear once you reach this part (page 9 - it defines the area that will be copied in this case):

    Basic Map files

    Map_features

    Make sure ‘Italy_river.tga’ is at the top of of the ‘Layers’ window. Click on it to highlight. Press Ctrl+C (copy), followed by Ctrl+Shift+V (paste into new). You now have a brand new picture that you will save as ‘map_features.TGA’. Now click on the little dustbin in the ’Layers’ windows to delete this layer.



  20. #80

    Default Re: Creating a World Working with the Demis online Mapper

    I'm curious, how did someone find this site and see it's potential for mapping?

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •