Thread: Taking on Spanish Galleons early game with Brits

Default Taking on Spanish Galleons early game with Brits

I think I posted something like this ages ago, but no matter how much I play this game, I find I'm always fighting a losing battle when it comes to medium to large navy battles versus Spain. I've played a lot of different campaigns now and still feel like a complete newblet when it comes to this.

Playing as the Brits at the moment, but I expect other nations struggle similarly against them.

Right now I have a force mostly comprised of Brigs, 5th rates, etc. and a couple of Fourth Rate Ships of the Line, but I find nothing I can build comes anywhere close to the Spanish Galleon for pure cost and early game evilness.

It's pretty cheap, the guns can badly shred any ship I can get right now in just one or two broadsides, it can take an unholy amount of hull punishment (I've never actually sunk one in the MP campaign, as battle ends instantly when they rout), and when things get hard to organise in big battles this just makes it easier to make a mistake and get insta-sunk. Or so I find.

I've had success plinking away with chain-shot from out of range with Brigs and even 5th rates, but in big battles I find my Ships of the Line still aren't really as tough or hard-hitting, so I can't get stuck in at close range without getting maimed, boarding is suicide unless I can grapeshot a crew to pieces beforehand (hard when trying to break the Galleon line), and my 5th rates quickly get killed because I can't micromanage them so well.

Am I just being a nubbin even challenging Galleon fleets with Brits? Or is there a niche strategy I should be using that I'm not?

Default Re: Taking on Spanish Galleons early game with Brits

Quote Originally Posted by hermanJnr. View Post