Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 117

Thread: Don't settle for forced MEDIUM settings on older comps!

  1. #41

    Default Re: Don't settle for forced MEDIUM settings on older comps!

    Go to control panel then go to folder options then check view hidden files.

    Does anyone know why my screen starts flickering after tweaking this script. I have a 2 GB RAM and a 8600GT video card.

  2. #42
    Choki's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Argentine
    Posts
    2,231

    Default Re: No Dead Bodies?Graphics problems?Playing Medium Resolution? Solution

    Quote Originally Posted by henyo10 View Post
    Well nothing happens. The flickering is really annoying. Is there some solution please?
    That happen wen you Video card is colapsing.have you update the drivers of Nvidia? This mod is tested, i have Nvidia 8800 GTX 256 mb, and its work perfect, 4 GB Ram. I play whit 10000 Soldiers in map and no problems!

  3. #43
    Ducenarius
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Detroit - Northern Suburbs.
    Posts
    914

    Default Re: Don't settle for forced MEDIUM settings on older comps!

    Quote Originally Posted by Russ_Ace View Post
    i cant find documents and setings. I have vista, but if its hidden please tell me how to unhid it.

    I use vista as well () Just type "AppData" in your start search bar and hit enter. A folder will pop up with probably three other folders in it, one will be "Roaming". Then to "Creative Assembly", etc.

    Make sure to dub your preference.script though and save it someplace warm and cozy same with anything you'd change or overwrite modding. It can save you a lot of time and headache later on.
    The scribes on all the people shove
    And bawl allegiance to the state,
    But they who love the greater love
    Lay down their life; they do not hate

  4. #44

    Default Re: Don't settle for forced MEDIUM settings on older comps!

    ... or you can create user.script text file where you can have your mods and all preferences together.That way you won't mess wit your original preference file and you can experiment which game settings suit you best.Here's mine for example:

    Code:
    #********************************************************************#    
    # **** Napoleon Total War v1.0.0. User.Script - Mods & Settings **** #
    #********************************************************************#
    
    # Mods #
    
    mod "MOD_BattleAIv1b.pack";
    mod "MOD_NoAiTweaksV1.pack";
    mod "MOD_TighterFormations.pack";
    mod "MOD_BritishDutch.pack";
    mod "MOD_NTAUMv1_3.pack";
    mod "MOD_ModifiedEffects.pack";
    mod "MOD_AdditionalBattleMaps.pack";
    mod "MOD_SfxSound.pack";
    mod "MOD_BattleMarches.pack";
    mod "MOD_TgotreRetextures.pack";
    mod "MOD_UniformsTweaks.pack";
    mod "MOD_RectangleNTFlags.pack";
    mod "MOD_UserInterface.pack";
    mod "MOD_MinimapIcons.pack";
    mod "MOD_LoadScreensSirDCC.pack";
    mod "MOD_NTKneel.pack";
    
    # Units Multiplier #
    
    campaign_unit_multiplier 0.5;         # campaign_unit_multiplier <float>, small = 0.25, medium = 0.5, large = 0.75, ultra = 1.0 - Set default unit multiplier for campaign #
             
    # Gfx Preferences #
    
    gfx_first_run false;             # gfx_first_run <bool>, First time application run #
    gfx_video_memory 1073741824;         # gfx_video_memory <int>, Override available video memory (bytes) 640MB = 671088640B, 874MB = 916455424B, 1GB = 1073741824B #
    gfx_fullscreen true;             # gfx_fullscreen <bool>, Run the application in fullscreen or not #
    gfx_vsync true;             # gfx_vsync <bool>, vertical synchronization #
    gfx_hdr false;                 # gfx_hdr <bool>, Use high dynamic range rendering pipeline #
    gfx_low_quality_shaders false;         # gfx_low_quality_shaders <bool>, Use SM2 pixel shader code with SM3 vertex shaders and instancing. #
    gfx_shadermodel 1;             # gfx_shadermodel <int>, Set shader model, 0-2.0, 1-3.0 #
    gfx_aa 0;                 # gfx_aa <int>, Set antialiasing, 0-no, 3-8x #
    gfx_texture_filtering 5;         # gfx_texture_filtering <int>, Set texture filtering, 0-bilinear, 5- anisotropic 16x #
    gfx_texture_quality 3;             # gfx_texture_quality <int>, Set the quality of textures. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_volumetric_effect false;         # gfx_volumemtric_effect <bool>, volumetric fog on sea battle #
    gfx_ssao false;             # gfx_ssao <bool>, Enable Screen Space Ambient Occlusion buffer #
    gfx_distortion true;             # gfx_distortion <bool>, Enable Distortion Effect buffer #
    gfx_depth_of_field true;         # gfx_depth_of_field <bool>, Enable Depth of Field effects #
    gfx_hardware_shadows true;         # gfx_hardware_shadows <bool>, Enable hardware shadow mapping #
    gfx_sky_quality 1;             # gfx_sky_quality <int>, Set the quality of sky. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_unit_quality 3;             # gfx_unit_quality <int>, Set the quality of units. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_ship_quality 3;             # gfx_ship_quality <int>, Set the quality of ships. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_building_quality 2;         # gfx_building_quality <int>, Set the quality of buildings. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_water_quality 0;             # gfx_water_quality <int>, Set the quality of water. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_unit_scale 0;             # gfx_unit_scale <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_shadow_quality 4;             # gfx_shadow_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - off, 4 - ultra #
    gfx_tree_quality 1;             # gfx_tree_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - off, 4 - ultra #
    gfx_grass_quality 2;             # gfx_grass_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - off, 4 - ultra #
    gfx_terrain_quality 1;             # gfx_terrain_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - low, 1 - high #
    gfx_gamma_setting 2.2;             # gfx_gamma_setting <float>, Set gamma correction #
    gfx_brightness_setting 1.0;         # gfx_brightness_setting <float>, Set brightness #
    gfx_hardware_shadows true;         # gfx_hardware_shadows <bool>, Enable hardware shadow mapping #
    gfx_disable_terrain_ao_gpu false;     # gfx_disable_terrain_ao_gpu <bool>, Disable terrain ambient occlusion term. Supported only on ShaderModel 3.0 #
    gfx_screenshot_folder ./screenshots;     # gfx_screenshot_folder <folder>, Folder to where save screenshots relative to Empire directory #
    gfx_fixed_env_map ;             # gfx_fixed_env_map <filename>, cubemap for fixed env.map #
    gfx_effects_quality 2;             # gfx_effects_quality <int>, Set effects quality. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_vignette true;             # gfx_vignette <true|false>, Enable vignette #
    gfx_picture_in_picture false;         # gfx_picture_in_picture <true|false>, Enable picture_in_picture #
    gfx_frame_rate 60;             # gfx_frame_rate <int>, Set frame rate (fps) #
    
    # Mouse Settings #
    
    mouse_wheel_sensitivity 50;         # mouse_wheel_sensitivity <card32>, mouse wheel sensitivity: <0-100> default value = 50  #
    invert_cam_x_axis false;         # invert_camera_x_axis <bool>, invert camera tilting up/down #
    invert_cam_y_axis false;         # invert_camera_y_axis <bool>, invert camera panning left/right #
    
    # Camera #
    
    camera_move_speed 240;
    camera_turn_speed 8;
    default_camera_type 2;
    battle_camera_shake_enabled true;
    
    # Game Settings #
    
    battle_time_limit -1;             # battle_time_limit <int>, Sets the time (in minutes) for each battle. -1 for unlimited #
    battle_difficulty -1;             # battle_difficulty <int>, Sets the handicap for battles. Positive gives advantage.  -2 is vhard, -1 is hard, 0 normal, 1 easy #
    autoresolve_difficulty 0;         # autoresolve_difficulty <int>, Sets the handicap for battles that are autoresolved. Positive gives advantage.  -2 is vhard, -1 is hard, 0 normal, 1 easy #
    campaign_difficulty -1;         # campaign_difficulty <int>, Sets the handicap for campaigns.  Positive gives advantage.  -2 is vhard, -1 is hard, 0 normal, 1 easy #
    battle_advice_level 2;             # battle_advice_level <int>, Sets advice level in the battle game #
    campaign_advice_level 2;         # campaign_advice_level <int>, Sets advice level in the campaign game #
    campaign_time_limit -1;         # campaign_time_limit <int>, Sets the time (in seconds) for each round of the campaign. -1 for unlimited #
    show_cpu_moves true;             # show_cpu_moves <true|false>, Show/hide the movement of the ai pieces on the campaign map #
    automanage_regions false;         # automanage_regions <true|false>, Let the AI manage taxes etc in players regions #
    limitless_ammo false;             # limitless_ammo <true|false>, Enable/disable Infinite ammo on battlefields #
    occupiable_building_markers false;     # show_occupiable_building_markers <true|false>, Enable/disable occupiable building markers on battlefields #
    allow_drop_in_battles false;         # allow_drop_in_battles <bool>, Allow invititations to other peoples campaign battles when playing a single player campaign #
    friend_only_drop_in_battles false;     # friend_only_drop_in_battles <bool>, invite only friends to your campaign drop in battles when playing a single player campaign #
    
    # User Interface #
    
    local_player_name ;             # local_player_name <name>, Name used to identify the local player on network and local battles #
    minimised_ui false;             # minimised_ui <true|false>, show minimised ui #
    show_selection_markers false;         # show_selection_markers <true|false>, Show the selection markers under the units #
    show_path_markers false;         # show_path_markers <true|false>, Show paths in naval battles #
    show_target_zones false;         # show_target_zones <true|false>, Show firing arcs etc #
    ui_order_button_mode 2;         # ui_order_button_mode <0|1|2>, Only applicable with minimised ui. 0 = always, 1 = slide on, 2 = never #
    ui_card_mode 2;             # ui_card_mode <0|1|2>, Only applicable with minimised ui. 0 = always, 1 = slide on, 2 = never #
    ui_radar_mode 2;             # ui_radar_mode <0|1|2>, Only applicable with minimised ui. 0 = always, 1 = slide on, 2 = never #
    ui_land_unit_ids 2;             # ui_land_unit_ids <0|1|2>, 0 = always, 1 = on mouse over, 2 = never #
    ui_naval_unit_ids 2;             # ui_naval_unit_ids <0|1|2>, 0 = always, 1 = on mouse over, 2 = never #
    ui_mouse_scroll true;             # ui_mouse_scroll <true|false>, Allow/disallow scrolling of the map by putting the cursor at the edge of the screen #
    
    # Sound #
    
    sound_music_volume 55;
    sound_speech_volume 85;
    sound_sfx_volume 100;
    sound_file_caching true;
    sound_variations 2;
    audio_memory_size_in_megabytes 100;
    sound_channels 128;
    
    # CPU Threads #
    
    multithreaded_model_enabled true;
    bink_use_thread true;
    number_of_threads 2;

  5. #45

    Default Re: No Dead Bodies?Graphics problems?Playing Medium Resolution? Solution

    It doesn't work for me. I set it to high graphics and it still looks like normal, and the bodies still disappear. Help me out!







  6. #46
    Choki's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Argentine
    Posts
    2,231

    Default Re: No Dead Bodies?Graphics problems?Playing Medium Resolution? Solution

    Quote Originally Posted by Themanwithnoname View Post
    It doesn't work for me. I set it to high graphics and it still looks like normal, and the bodies still disappear. Help me out!
    Imposible, you are making some mistake? Try poot the number in 1073741824

  7. #47

    Default Re: Don't settle for forced MEDIUM settings on older comps!

    I have a toshiba satillite A350D (laptop), and it is stuck on Med settings, max. I have to set it to low sometimes for MP battles to help with lag (at least i think it helps). If I adjust this and play on [mostly] high settings, will I see massive lag, or will that not be an issue any more? It works perfectly smoothly when playing offline, just slows down on MP, currently.

    I think my laptop has a ATI Radeon X1200.....
    Last edited by ♔DeusVult!♔; March 14, 2010 at 01:32 AM.

  8. #48

    Default Re: No Dead Bodies?Graphics problems?Playing Medium Resolution? Solution

    Wow very nice it works perfectly and my computer don't lags. I've thinked it will lag but not and i have all settings in high if some one have a computer whit lagg you should put shader model on 2

  9. #49
    Choki's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Argentine
    Posts
    2,231

    Default Re: No Dead Bodies?Graphics problems?Playing Medium Resolution? Solution

    Quote Originally Posted by General William Howe View Post
    Wow very nice it works perfectly and my computer don't lags. I've thinked it will lag but not and i have all settings in high if some one have a computer whit lagg you should put shader model on 2
    YOu are Welcome my friend!

  10. #50
    RNV's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Regio Septima, Tuscia, Italia, Res Publica Romana
    Posts
    1,621

    Default Re: No Dead Bodies?Graphics problems?Playing Medium Resolution? Solution

    Could you explain to me how can i put the no dust mod in game?

  11. #51
    Choki's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Argentine
    Posts
    2,231

    Default Re: No Dead Bodies?Graphics problems?Playing Medium Resolution? Solution

    Quote Originally Posted by RNVITTORIOVENETO View Post
    Could you explain to me how can i put the no dust mod in game?
    Just Extract the Filo into Data folder in Napoleon total war

  12. #52

    Default Re: Don't settle for forced MEDIUM settings on older comps!

    It really does improve fluidity considerably! Thank you for the tip.
    believe in nothing.

  13. #53

    Default Re: You Canīt Play in high? Here is SOLUTION

    i doesnt work for me ive got and ATI RADEON 4350 and its still laggy with smoke i cant run on high or anything....

  14. #54

    Default Re: You Canīt Play in high? Here is SOLUTION

    Quote Originally Posted by ben_mcg333 View Post
    i doesnt work for me ive got and ATI RADEON 4350 and its still laggy with smoke i cant run on high or anything....
    That card is just to weak to play this game on high settings.

  15. #55

    Default Re: You Canīt Play in high? Here is SOLUTION

    I'll try this. I really want to have particle effects on ultra, primarily because it looks great; the smoke hanging over the soldiers and all that but I'm not going to do it when it makes the game a slideshow.

    I don't get how it lags it to such an extent as it does, my troops throw up big clouds of dust when they march and there is the general fog hanging over the field but when I turn on the effects my PC goes into a hissy fit.
    Last edited by BemusedHorse; March 28, 2010 at 03:54 AM.

  16. #56

    Default Re: Don't settle for forced MEDIUM settings on older comps!

    it doesnt work for me ive got and ATI RADEON 4350 and its still laggy with smoke i cant run on high or anything....

  17. #57

    Default Re: You Canīt Play in high? Here is SOLUTION

    Quote Originally Posted by |Quintus Sertorius| View Post
    That card is just to weak to play this game on high settings.

    ok thanks for answering so quick dude that solves that problem lol

  18. #58

    Default Re: You Canīt Play in high? Here is SOLUTION

    Quote Originally Posted by CescPistols View Post
    I'll try this. I really want to have particle effects on ultra, primarily because it looks great; the smoke hanging over the soldiers and all that but I'm not going to do it when it makes the game a slideshow.

    I don't get how it lags it to such an extent as it does, my troops throw up big clouds of dust when they march and there is the general fog hanging over the field but when I turn on the effects my PC goes into a hissy fit.
    Probably the same reason as above. The enforced medium setting is there for a reason, most of the times

  19. #59

    Default Re: You Canīt Play in high? Here is SOLUTION

    yeah ah well im kinda bored of napoleon now anyway haha

  20. #60

    Default Re: You Canīt Play in high? Here is SOLUTION

    Quote Originally Posted by |Quintus Sertorius| View Post
    Probably the same reason as above. The enforced medium setting is there for a reason, most of the times
    It worked. Had settings on ultra to test and was fine, even when I had 400 men regiment's.
    I have a better framerate with the particle effects on ultra and everything else on high with the new script than i had with everything on medium with only high particle effect's, made a huge difference for me at least.
    So +rep to the OP and I'll also give rep to whoever thought of this solution first on the other thread. Thanks guys, made my playing experience a lot better.
    Last edited by BemusedHorse; March 28, 2010 at 04:22 AM.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •