Thread: Jarno's Historical UI Message Graphics

jarnomiedema's Avatar Artifex ad Infinitum

Default Jarno's Historical UI Message Graphics

Introduction As some of you might know, together with Van Diemen, I have been working on the United Provinces Retexture Project. Now that that is nearing a close, I decided to focus my attention on another pet peeve of mine with the regards to Empire: Total War; the UI graphics.

Now don't get me wrong, I think that the artist who did the UI graphics has done a phenomenal job! My main problem with it is that they're just not that interesting and frankly quite bland. The characters aren't really detailed and in fact most of them seem half-finished.

So, I decided to remedy that. Not by making my own UI graphics ofcourse (I'm a decent retexture artist, but I wouldn't even dream of trying to start from scratch and paint entirely new graphics!). What I've done is search through several helpful websites, found some great period artwork and incorporated them into the game..

Goal With this mod, I hope (eventually) to change most, if not all UI graphics and give you a more highly detailed experience with artwork made by artists who actually lived through the times that this game is trying to portray. Nevertheless, I'm not limiting myself to artwork made from 1700-1800. If there is artwork about that period, but made in a different period, and it still looks good, I have no problems using them. This mod is not about historical accuracy, but is purely an aesthetic change to the game.

Progress This mod has been finished!

Download it from here: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?p=5852471

Assistance? If you have any suggestions for artwork, feel free to post links, attachments or the graphics themselves in this thread and I'll see about using them. If I decide to do, you will naturally get credit for your help once the mod is released!