Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

  1. #21
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,912
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    You have to unpack the file attachment after downloading. Use 7zip (freeware) or a similar compression tool.
    Place the file into the M2TW main directory, right click it and then choose 'extract here'




  2. #22

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Hi, Ive just started to play SS again, and realised I get lag on huge armies. Is this mod tweak still active as to help with siege battles.
    The thing is my pc is running a 8 core amd @ 5ghz. on a ROG mthrboard with an Asus 680gtx card and windows 7 ultimate 64bit and 32 g ram. and yet I still get lags lol. Any help will do please.

  3. #23
    DaDump's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    over there!
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    if it was an intel cpu, I'd say you might be using the integrated gpu... but dunno about amd

    I belive setting building settings on lower than high might make a very significant difference, due to the detailed rendering range

    [Tutorial]
    File/Mod Compression Tutorial!




    If you know how I can change my username, then pls help

  4. #24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Quote Originally Posted by DaDump View Post
    if it was an intel cpu, I'd say you might be using the integrated gpu... but dunno about amd

    I belive setting building settings on lower than high might make a very significant difference, due to the detailed rendering range
    Thanks for the reply my friend, just that this mod tweak on here is supposed to reduce the rendering on the buildings only. However I am unable to download this as it keeps telling me its a php file. and neither winzip, or WinRAR see it..

  5. #25

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    On the other hand I believe DLV BB mod has this built into it. Soooooo I was wondering which file I would need to copy for the SS mod. Or can anyone put a downloadable file on here pleeeeeeeease.

  6. #26
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,024

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Ragnar View Post
    Thanks for the reply my friend, just that this mod tweak on here is supposed to reduce the rendering on the buildings only. However I am unable to download this as it keeps telling me its a php file. and neither winzip, or WinRAR see it..
    Change browsers. IE 10/11 work. The last time I checked firefox works.

  7. #27
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,912
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Ragnar View Post
    Thanks for the reply my friend, just that this mod tweak on here is supposed to reduce the rendering on the buildings only. However I am unable to download this as it keeps telling me its a php file. and neither winzip, or WinRAR see it..
    You cannot download the link in the OP directly as it simply opens the download center page here on TWC. Click on it as you would a regular link - that will get you to the download page.




  8. #28
    Nizam's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Turkiye - Ankara
    Posts
    751

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Thx Gigantus, I did what you said. Texture changed but still fps drop problem is continuing. FPS is 1-10 when I am doing siege.

    Ottoman Total Overhaul received the 2nd favorite Overhaul/Compilation Mod - 2016 award!
    by_TotalWarTurkiye

  9. #29
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,912
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    The reduction only has an effect if your game uses original textures, there are a few mods around that use custom textures. Try reducing building details in the video options.

    If you are playing the main campaign then you will need to add an entry to the CFG file in the game's root folder and make it read-only. It's easier (and less complicated) to install my set up and then copy over your saves, but only if you play the main game!




  10. #30
    Nizam's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Turkiye - Ankara
    Posts
    751

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    I am playing vanilla, I will try. Thx for answer.

    Ottoman Total Overhaul received the 2nd favorite Overhaul/Compilation Mod - 2016 award!
    by_TotalWarTurkiye

  11. #31
    Nizam's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Turkiye - Ankara
    Posts
    751

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Your collections performance is acceptable. But still FPS is going down when I use canon (catapult etc.) on wall. I will be cancer :/

    Ottoman Total Overhaul received the 2nd favorite Overhaul/Compilation Mod - 2016 award!
    by_TotalWarTurkiye

  12. #32
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,912
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Are you talking bout the cut scene\movie when the wall breaks? That is a FPS killer, no matter what.

    Cut scenes can be disabled in the CFG file, but it requires that the file gets set to read-only after the changes: open medieval2.preferences.cfg with Notepad and then set the cut scene entry to zero:

    event_cutscenes = 0




  13. #33
    Nizam's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Turkiye - Ankara
    Posts
    751

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Last edited by Nizam; March 27, 2018 at 08:46 AM.

    Ottoman Total Overhaul received the 2nd favorite Overhaul/Compilation Mod - 2016 award!
    by_TotalWarTurkiye

  14. #34
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,912
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Yup, it's those wall damage animations and the small movie about the breach (the cut scene) that will always reduce FPS. Reduced textures will not improve that.




  15. #35
    Nizam's Avatar Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Turkiye - Ankara
    Posts
    751

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    So dear TWC HERO, could you fix it, help me. I want to playe it but I cant with this bulls.... problem.

    Ottoman Total Overhaul received the 2nd favorite Overhaul/Compilation Mod - 2016 award!
    by_TotalWarTurkiye

  16. #36
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,912
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Well, you can disable the cut scenes as I mentioned earlier - I am not sure you can disable the 'small damage animations'. Maybe the guys in the IWTE forum know more.

    You could try to set this line in the CFG file to one, but I am afraid it might just disable events like 'americas discovered'.

    disable_events = 1




  17. #37
    AnthoniusII's Avatar XXI ARMORED BRIGADE
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Thessalonike Greece
    Posts
    21,824

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    I do not mind the size of city textures. My question is where can I find them to re-color or re-texture them.
    There are moments (in history), in which a nation owes,
    if it wants to be considered as a great one, to be able to fight.
    Even without hope of winning. Just because it has to.
    Greek War motto.
    XXI Armored Brigade. Proud that served in that unit in 1996!
    "Spartans do not ask how many (enemies are) but where they are"!
    XXI Armored Brigade's motto.
    The Greek Secret (or why they will fight again if it will be necessary or why they do not sell their history).


  18. #38
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,912
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Creating a World - Reduced City Textures

    Simply install the download on your desktop and it will show you the path




Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •