Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 54

Thread: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

  1. #1
    KnightErrant's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama USA
    Posts
    578

    Default GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    The version 1.1 bug fix release is here:

    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/downl...o=file&id=2233

    (1) For the converter fixed the u texture coordinate bug for attachments.

    (2) Fixed the back conversion bug for siege engines.

    (3) Some mesh files had -1 for their secondary bone assignments and that
    would crash the script. It now changes them to 0 (root bone assignment)
    and gives them 0 weighting. Also, some troublesome meshes had names
    over 32 characters long. These are now checked for and truncated so the
    Milkshape format is satisfied.

    (4) RTW to M2TW battle model converter is updated to deal with slightly
    more units. Now instead of dying on a bad unit, it outputs as much valid
    model data as it can. For those types of units this means you usually get a
    body and a weapon, but maybe some missing shoulder pieces.

    (5) Fixed a bug in the convertcastotxt function where horse animations
    should have had a 0 byte and a float like 0 0.123 but instead got 00.123.
    This prevented them from back converting to .cas.

    (6) Forgot to account for the scaling of the horse skeletons in the game.
    There is now a fourth dialog for the exportskeleton function where the
    user can put in a scaling factor. For all units except horses, just accept
    the default value of 1.0. For horse animations enter 1.12 which will scale
    the skeleton down so the game can scale them back up.

  2. #2

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Great KE, this is like a Xmas present to all of us, +rep m8 wonderful job, but i make my state late i think, because the bug for strat models is still there , but i don´t mind, but i am sure in the future GOAT will be use by all the TWcenter and others total war forumers and they´ll fall into this bug. pretty easy to fix by hand though!!
    Merry Xmas KE and thanks for your excellent Job!!
    Regards.
    Contribuitor IBIICB-WOTN-Modeler-Scripter


  3. #3

    Icon4 Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Hi KnightErrant,

    I keep getting this error when I try to merge a .cas file with a .ms3d file, can you help?

    Exception in Tkinter callback
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "C:\Python26\lib\lib-tk\Tkinter.py", line 1410, in __call__
    return self.func(*args)
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationTool
    box_v1_0.py", line 2668, in animmergeButton
    animmerge( ms3dfilename, casfilename, FPS )
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationTool
    box_v1_0.py", line 586, in animmerge
    ms3dobj.fromfile( fnms3d )
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationLibr
    ary_v1_0.py", line 12685, in fromfile
    self.definetoplevelinfo( ms3dfilename )
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationLibr
    ary_v1_0.py", line 12919, in definetoplevelinfo
    self.texture2 = tokens[2]
    IndexError: list index out of range

    Thanks,
    -Sohaib

  4. #4

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Quote Originally Posted by sabooakhter View Post
    Hi KnightErrant,

    I keep getting this error when I try to merge a .cas file with a .ms3d file, can you help?

    Exception in Tkinter callback
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "C:\Python26\lib\lib-tk\Tkinter.py", line 1410, in __call__
    return self.func(*args)
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationTool
    box_v1_0.py", line 2668, in animmergeButton
    animmerge( ms3dfilename, casfilename, FPS )
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationTool
    box_v1_0.py", line 586, in animmerge
    ms3dobj.fromfile( fnms3d )
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationLibr
    ary_v1_0.py", line 12685, in fromfile
    self.definetoplevelinfo( ms3dfilename )
    File "C:\Users\Saboo\Downloads\GOAT_GOAL_ver1_0a.zip\GameObjectApplicationLibr
    ary_v1_0.py", line 12919, in definetoplevelinfo
    self.texture2 = tokens[2]
    IndexError: list index out of range

    Thanks,
    -Sohaib
    Hi. I am no KnightErrant, but will try to help nonetheless. What model are you trying to merge? There is clearly a problem with the model. I had the same error when trying to merge a vanilla peasants unit. I suggest to use some working vanilla model (e.g. city militia) and try to merge with whatever you are trying to merge. This way you will know which file out of the two is the cause. Also, try using GOAT v1.1 and place it in a different folder than v1.0. I also noticed that some .cas do not merge properly, or at least they are not working in milkshape. Another idea, check if your model has the right skeleton. If the .cas animation is using extra bones then that could be the cause.

    EDIT: Check bone assignments. If some vertices are not assigned to any bone, GOAT will give that error.
    Last edited by G|I|Sandy; January 21, 2013 at 08:56 AM.

  5. #5

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Hey Gemini,

    Its okay, it wasn't that, I just didn't read properly. I was trying to use the camel model file and now realize that I need to name it "mount_" beforehand so that it receives the proper skeleton. If I really tried to modify the python code, I may be able to make it adaptive so it knows what type of skeleton the model requires, but then again if it ain't broke, why fix it... Thanks for the reply though.

    -Sohaib

  6. #6
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    13,291
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    This is probably a silly question from a noob (just starting modelling the units) but how do you install/use GOAT?
    Many thanks in advance.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


  7. #7

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    You will need Python 2.6.8. Install it first. Then extract GOAT v1.1 to somewhere on your hard drive. Then run GameObjectApplicationToolbox_v1_1.py from the GOAT archive. I suggest to create a shortcut and place it in your working folder, so that you can access it easily. There are many functions inside, but you will mostly use ms3d to mesh and mesh to ms3d conversion tools.

    Sandy

  8. #8
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    13,291
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Many thanks for your quick answer. I found out what I was doing wrong this afternoon. I didn't set the .ini file correctly. Once corrected, GOAT worked fine. Now, it's time to mod

    By the way, many thanks for your tuto on the medieval dagger. It helped me a lot
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; October 09, 2013 at 03:03 PM.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


  9. #9
    Aneirin's Avatar of flowing verse
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Gododdin
    Posts
    2,728

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Hey guys,

    I get the same error as mentioned above.. I checked the bone assignments, but I found no unassigned.
    In the attachment you will find the model..

    Hope somebody could help me

    regards neadal
    Proud son of Aikanár and brother of Iskar

  10. #10
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    13,291
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    I'm using GOAT v1.1. When I try to use the Animerge function, I have an error message each time saying "MemoryError" or "OverflowError: long int too large to convert to int", no matter which ms3d model or .cas file I use.
    Any idea what causes this?
    Many thanks in advance.

    Edit: it seems that MS3D can't handle most of these animations. A few work but most of them don't. Any input to confirm this?
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; June 19, 2015 at 03:41 AM.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


  11. #11
    AnthoniusII's Avatar XXI ARMORED BRIGADE
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Thessalonike Greece
    Posts
    22,012

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    I want to extract the vanilla horse skeleton and then to add it in a new horse model.
    GOAT 1.1 creates skelexport files.
    How do I create skermerge one to to use GOAT1.1 "merge with external skeleton"?

  12. #12
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    13,291
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    I'm trying to use GOAT v1.1 to convert a .cas into a .txt file. However, each time I try, the process stops (see pic below):



    The conversion mesh to ms3d (and the other way around) works fine.
    I've tried with python 2.5.4 and 2.6.6. Same results each time. Any input to solve this?
    Many thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; May 26, 2016 at 05:26 AM.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


  13. #13

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    People how to click on in explorer ?

  14. #14

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Quote Originally Posted by G|I|Sandy View Post
    You will need Python 2.6.8. Install it first. Then extract GOAT v1.1 to somewhere on your hard drive. Then run GameObjectApplicationToolbox_v1_1.py from the GOAT archive. I suggest to create a shortcut and place it in your working folder, so that you can access it easily. There are many functions inside, but you will mostly use ms3d to mesh and mesh to ms3d conversion tools.

    Sandy
    Sorry but I'm really stuck on how to install this version of python, as there is no installer...

    Any help is really appreciated!

  15. #15
    paleologos's Avatar You need burrito love!!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Variable
    Posts
    8,341

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release


  16. #16

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Quote Originally Posted by paleologos View Post
    Thank you, but I can't find an installer, just this:





  17. #17
    paleologos's Avatar You need burrito love!!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Variable
    Posts
    8,341

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Step 1
    Download and install 7-Zip.
    Step 2
    Download Gzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig), or Bzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig).
    Step 3
    Right-click Gzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig), or Bzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig), -whichever you have- and in the drop-down menu select 7-zip and then "extract here".
    Step 4
    Repeat the same as necessary until you get a regular windows folder.
    Step 5
    Inside that regular windows folder you will find a file named "setup.py"
    Because it's been a long time since I installed mine, I'm guessing that's the installer you are looking for.
    Double-click on it and tell us what happens.

  18. #18

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Quote Originally Posted by paleologos View Post
    Step 1
    Download and install 7-Zip.
    Step 2
    Download Gzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig), or Bzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig).
    Step 3
    Right-click Gzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig), or Bzipped source tar ball (2.6.8) (sig), -whichever you have- and in the drop-down menu select 7-zip and then "extract here".
    Step 4
    Repeat the same as necessary until you get a regular windows folder.
    Step 5
    Inside that regular windows folder you will find a file named "setup.py"
    Because it's been a long time since I installed mine, I'm guessing that's the installer you are looking for.
    Double-click on it and tell us what happens.
    Thanks, I'm guessing I need a version of python already installed to run that?

  19. #19
    paleologos's Avatar You need burrito love!!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Variable
    Posts
    8,341

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Quote Originally Posted by AleksiMizaro View Post
    Thanks, I'm guessing I need a version of python already installed to run that?
    I don't think so.
    Did you try it?

  20. #20

    Default Re: GOAT version 1_1, bug fix release

    Quote Originally Posted by paleologos View Post
    I don't think so.
    Did you try it?
    Yes but it just asks what program I want to open it with.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •