Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 69

Thread: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

  1. #41
    Vicarius Provinciae
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hobs Crk
    Posts
    10,636

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    but I did this and when I 2click the .bat file it runs with the cfg settings but with the actual game textures.

  2. #42
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    It did it to me too.

    I changed the cfg config to this, and then it worked :
    Code:
    [log]
    to=logs/TextureClass.system.log.txt
    level=*script* trace
    
    [io]
    file_first = true 
    
    [video]
    windowed = true
    movies = false
    anisotropic_level = 4
    anti_alias_mode = off
    antialiasing = 0
    assassination_movies = 1
    autodetect = 0
    battle_resolution = 1024 768
    bloom = 1
    building_detail = high
    campaign_resolution = 1024 768
    depth_shadows = 2
    depth_shadows_resolution = 2
    effect_quality = high
    event_movies = 1
    gamma = 128
    grass_distance = 75
    ground_buffers_per_node = 4
    ground_cover_buffers_per_node = 4
    infiltration_movies = 1
    model_buffers_per_node = 4
    no_background_fmv = 0
    reflection = 1
    sabotage_movies = 1
    shader = 2
    show_banners = 1
    show_package_litter = 1
    skip_mip_levels = 0
    splashes = 1
    sprite_buffers_per_node = 4
    stencil_shadows = 1
    subtitles = 0
    terrain_quality = custom
    texture_filtering = 2
    unit_detail = high
    vegetation = 1
    vegetation_quality = high
    vsync = 1
    water_buffers_per_node = 4
    widescreen = 0
    
    [features]
    editor = true
    mod = Basic_Mesh_Texturing
    
    [misc]
    show_hud_date	= true
    
    [ai] 
    ltgd_logging = true
    
    [multiplayer]
    playable = 0
    
    [hotseat]
    autoresolve_battles = 0
    disable_console = 0
    disable_papal_elections = 0
    save_prefs = 1
    update_ai_camera = 1
    validate_diplomacy = 1

  3. #43
    Vicarius Provinciae
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hobs Crk
    Posts
    10,636

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    still nothing, but thnx sinople!

  4. #44
    sinople's Avatar These Romans are crazy!
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    2,459

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Try on another mod or on your Medieval 2 data

  5. #45
    Vicarius Provinciae
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hobs Crk
    Posts
    10,636

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    tried ss and it works.

  6. #46
    Romanos IV's Avatar The 120th Article, § 4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    the hell outta here (Athens, European Client State of Greece)
    Posts
    3,891

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input












    What do you think?
    Under the noble patronage of Jimkatalanos

  7. #47
    Vicarius Provinciae
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hobs Crk
    Posts
    10,636

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    great work romanos...

  8. #48

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Ok thanks B WARD here is the Attachmentsets







    Attachments and units texture:


    Contribuitor IBIICB-WOTN-Modeler-Scripter


  9. #49
    Vicarius Provinciae
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hobs Crk
    Posts
    10,636

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    if only I could show mine...

  10. #50
    Jaguar Paw's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,294

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Any ideas on this problem?

    I'm trying to view the modified files in the game. When I launch the game from the m2tw directory, using mesh_texturing.bat, the game just starts to launch, and then I get an "unspecified error" message, and I have to close the game. But launching from the standard desktop icon still works fine, but of course then I don't get to see the altered textures. Any ideas would be much appreciated.
    Member: The Frontier. Researcher, Skinner, and Modeler.












    Member: The Frontier Researcher

  11. #51
    Augustus Lucifer's Avatar Life = Like a beanstalk
    Patrician Citizen

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mote of Dust
    Posts
    10,697

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Here's Mine, The Gleep-Glorp Knights of Coloradia VII(they're a bit blurred due to being in JPEG):

    Unit Texture:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    Unit Attachments:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    In-game Dismounted Gleep-Glorps:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    In-game Gleep-Glorps(what you earthlings call 'Horse' aggravates the Gleep-Glorps for not being nearly colorful enough, they continually plot to invade the mount texture):
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    Overhead View, you can see them from space!:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    Close-up, post-mutilation of Scottish General:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    The picture used on the shields:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    And before you ask, I can't allow you to use the awesome power of the gleep-glorp armada in your mod. The last time someone tried to stick them in a folder for long, they blew up the hard drive and escaped into sub-space. It was a travesty really... poor Jimmy...

    As for the problems most people seem to be having. In GIMP, the easiest possible way to get the image from multi-layered PSD to DDS is just to right click on any layer and there should be an option along the lines of "Merge all visible layers". This will merge them all to the background and then you should be able to follow the DDS convert instructions in the lesson just fine. Don't necessarily need to re-create the alpha maps or anything as someone suggested, since you still have the PSD to work from if necessary, and it will appear in-game without doing so.

    And mod folder problems are probably caused by not following the instruction correctly:

    1) Are the .bat, .cfg(the fixer created), and mod folder in the main directory(not data, where oyu see the .exe's) of your installation?
    2) Did you make them into .texture files? They don't run as .dds, you need to further convert them to texture as specified in the lesson.
    3) Are they in the proper folders? You'll need to create the attachmentsets folder on your own to put the diff one in.
    4) Did you re-name the files? Perhaps an easy to miss step, you need to replace where it says 'template' in the file name with 'england' otherwise the default game .modelsdb file won't look for the texture and will use the default one. (This is most likely the problem)
    Last edited by Augustus Lucifer; October 27, 2008 at 12:21 AM.

  12. #52
    Vicarius Provinciae
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Hobs Crk
    Posts
    10,636

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input



    SO?

    btw: how did you paint the helmets? I cannot find any layer...
    PS: Thanks B. Ward!!
    Last edited by Hobbes; October 27, 2008 at 06:05 AM.

  13. #53
    Jaguar Paw's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,294

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    I think that is the problem Augustus, I haven't re-named the files. Duh. Thankyou very much for the help, very useful. Let me try that now.
    Member: The Frontier. Researcher, Skinner, and Modeler.












    Member: The Frontier Researcher

  14. #54
    Jaguar Paw's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,294

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Nope, still a no go. Let me see if I can get a copy of the error message up here, maybe someone with greater computer expertise than me (which isn't hard to do ) can crack this problem.
    Member: The Frontier. Researcher, Skinner, and Modeler.












    Member: The Frontier Researcher

  15. #55

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    I had to keep it basic as it half term over here and my time has been limited. None the less I quite like the look of the shield's. Here they are...
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    [url=http://imageshack.us]

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    [url=http://imageshack.us]

    And the in game shots
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 



    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    [url=http://imageshack.us]

  16. #56
    Augustus Lucifer's Avatar Life = Like a beanstalk
    Patrician Citizen

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mote of Dust
    Posts
    10,697

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Quote Originally Posted by Julius2 View Post
    btw: how did you paint the helmets? I cannot find any layer...
    PS: Thanks B. Ward!!
    The quickest way is to just use the Free Select tool to select around the helmet, doesn't have to be extremely precise I've found, just needs to outline the area, since the file seems to have a memory of all the UV mapped things, even if they lack layers. Then you can just bucket fill it, if you want it to be one color.

  17. #57

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    How do I get this Python thing to work?

    I've got version 2.6 and it's sitting on my desktop filled to the brim with random folders. In which folder do I place my two .dds fellas also in a folder? I'm afraid the "You will need your files in the same directory as the converter to work." doesn't help me much, neither does the screenshot.

    Edit- okay well got tired of playing with this python thing so I just used alpaca's MTW2 .texture converter, version 0.1. I hope that's okay.

    Here are my textures and some ingame shots. (Yes I went there, shameless plugs all around!)

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 










    Edit Two: This is for AL.



    Devoirs The Empress
    Last edited by Empress Meg; October 27, 2008 at 09:48 PM.
    The Lordz Modding Collective
    "The LMC expects every modder to do his Duty" - not by Lord Nelson
    "Blow it out your arse." - Halie Satanus
    The Eagle Standard

  18. #58
    Jaguar Paw's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,294

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Well, still can't get'em in the game, but here are shots of the raw files.http://img338.imageshack.us/my.php?i...atediffwd2.jpg

    and
    http://img338.imageshack.us/my.php?i...emplatesj8.jpg
    Member: The Frontier. Researcher, Skinner, and Modeler.












    Member: The Frontier Researcher

  19. #59
    B. Ward's Avatar ★★★★ RockNRolla ★★★★
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    East Coast, United States
    Posts
    4,373

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Well alpaca created the .dds converter I've used for this lesson as well. The python program is needed to run it, that's why you install it. Once you have python installed you should place your .dds files in the folder that you have the .dds/texture converter in and just run the convert_all_dds.bat file and a command prompt box should come up telling you that the files have been converted and to press enter to exit. Also @ Jaguar Paw, what exactly is your issue with getting the files to work in the game so we can try to work through it?

  20. #60
    GrnEyedDvl's Avatar Liberalism is a Socially Transmitted Disease
    Artifex Technical Staff

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Denver CO
    Posts
    23,805
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default Re: Lesson Two : Vanilla Mesh Retexturing & Input

    Good stuff. I will post some tomorrow. Had a long day today.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •