Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 126

Thread: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

  1. #41

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    Hey Im wondering about textures, does the folder appear when the formatted campaign is unpacked in the folder? because if you are modding you need to have the textures, and if not, where do they appear ?
    Last edited by The Norseman; December 27, 2011 at 10:54 AM.

  2. #42
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,351
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    All files will be unpacked, just make sure that they don't end up in the VirtualStore. Check here how to prevent that.




  3. #43

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    Here maybe this pic will explain my problems!

    Last edited by The Norseman; December 27, 2011 at 11:12 AM.

  4. #44
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,023

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    The .py file belongs in your unit_models folder.

  5. #45

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    But I thought I could just make a new folder? I just made a folder at desctop and extracted the formatted files there and then copy pasted the "unpack_all".bat file in the folder and unpacked the files.

    Do I have to extract the formatted files to data/unit_models as well?
    Last edited by The Norseman; December 27, 2011 at 12:17 PM.

  6. #46
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,023

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    No.

    It should be in your mod's data\unit_models folder as it is the one it is supposed to be checking.

  7. #47
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,351
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    The files need to be placed in it's relevant mod folder and the extension has to be removed, example:

    battle_models-Americas(.modeldb) == mods\americas\data\unit_models\battle_models(.modeldb)




  8. #48

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    do i need all the kingdoms battledb. or just the basic (Vanilla) campaign battledb .if i want to create a new mmod?

  9. #49

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    It probably depends on what units you'll want in there.


    I'm having a problem with the BMDB of Broken Crescent. I've added some entries to it (just mounts), and now I'm getting an error.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    ****** Faction count error at line 27022, count says 1 but number of entries is 0
    ****** Faction count error at line 27076, count says 1 but number of entries is 0
    ****** Faction count error at line 27103, count says 1 but number of entries is 0
    ****** Faction count error at line 27130, count says 1 but number of entries is 0
    Unit count at top of file = 1128
    Number of processed unit models = 1128
    It is advisable that these two numbers should match.
    Total errors: 4
    String count errors: 0
    Faction count errors: 4


    The problem is that the lines indicated don't have any 1s or 0s.

    There were 6 errors originally, but I fixed two of them. The checker said there was an error on line 488, but I found the error in question on line 403. The second one was on line 74728, as the checker said, so it's obvious it's not totally incompetent. Does anyone know what's causing the checker to count lines so poorly and if there's some kind of formatting wizardry I could do to fix this? I have opened the BMDB with both Notepad and Notepad++ and there has been no difference. The numbers coughed up by the checker are close together, so if I can find one of the errors, I'll find them all. I'm going to take a closer look at the entries I've added, but does anyone have a better way of finding the problem than manual inspection?

    The forum refuses to upload this file, so I put it on Gamefront: http://www.gamefront.com/files/23728...tle_models.rar

    Edit: I've taken another look at the four lines the checker is having a hissy fit about.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    22 Mount_Bc_templar_Horse
    1.12 1
    60 unit_models/Mounts/Barded_Horse/mount_barded_horse_lod2.mesh 10000
    1
    6 france
    67 unit_models/_units/jerusalem/textures/bc_templar_horse_diff.texture
    67 unit_models/_units/jerusalem/textures/bc_templar_horse_norm.texture
    47 unit_sprites/merc_Mount_Mailed_Horse_sprite.spr 0 1
    5 Horse
    22 fs_heavy_horse_brawler 0
    0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0


    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    34 Mount_Bc_Scale_Horse_Lancer_and_HA
    1.12 1
    52 unit_models/_units/ghazni/mount_felt_horse_lod0.mesh 6400
    5
    5 slave
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    4 merc
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    7 england
    67 unit_models/_units/georgia/new_textures/scale_horse_georgia.texture
    66 unit_models/_units/georgia/new_textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    5 turks
    59 unit_models/_units/turks/textures/scale_horse_turks.texture
    60 unit_models/_units/turks/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    6 poland
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr 0 1
    5 Horse
    28 fs_heavy_horse_lancer_and_HA 0
    0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0


    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    28 Mount_Bc_Scale_Horse_Charger
    1.12 1
    52 unit_models/_units/ghazni/mount_felt_horse_lod0.mesh 6400
    5
    5 slave
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    4 merc
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    7 england
    67 unit_models/_units/georgia/new_textures/scale_horse_georgia.texture
    66 unit_models/_units/georgia/new_textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    5 turks
    59 unit_models/_units/turks/textures/scale_horse_turks.texture
    60 unit_models/_units/turks/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    6 poland
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr 0 1
    5 Horse
    22 fs_heavy_horse_charger 0
    0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0


    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    28 Mount_Bc_Scale_Horse_Brawler
    1.12 1
    52 unit_models/_units/ghazni/mount_felt_horse_lod0.mesh 6400
    5
    5 slave
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    4 merc
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    7 england
    67 unit_models/_units/georgia/new_textures/scale_horse_georgia.texture
    66 unit_models/_units/georgia/new_textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    5 turks
    59 unit_models/_units/turks/textures/scale_horse_turks.texture
    60 unit_models/_units/turks/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr
    6 poland
    63 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_armenia.texture
    62 unit_models/_units/armenia/textures/scale_horse_normal.texture
    47 unit_sprites/slave_Mount_Heavy_Horse_sprite.spr 0 1
    5 Horse
    22 fs_heavy_horse_brawler 0
    0 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0


    The bolded lines are the ones the checker doesn't like. There is no faction count on that line, and the faction count of the whole entry is correct. There are two spaces after the 0.
    Last edited by k/t; September 26, 2013 at 11:34 PM.

  10. #50
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,351
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    GameFront doesn't like me either - gives an error.

    Compress again - maybe use 7zip - and then attach here.




  11. #51

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    Ok, I used 7zip, but the forum still doesn't accept it.

    http://www.gamefront.com/files/23728...ttle_models.7z


    Should I try on another uploading website if Gamefront doesn't work for you this time either? And which one?

  12. #52
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,351
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    This time it's a '403 Forbidden' message. Not sure if it is my locale (India) that is messing me around. MediaFire works without problems for me.

    Edit: This is most likely the cause of your problem, adjust your lines accordingly:

    42 unit_sprites/normans_Mount_Pony_sprite.spr 0
    1

    5 Horse
    8 fs_horse 0
    Last edited by Gigantus; September 27, 2013 at 04:13 AM.




  13. #53
    irishron's Avatar Cura Palatii
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cirith Ungol
    Posts
    47,023

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    It's Vbulletin ing with you and Gamefront has half the known world blocked. It didn't like my .jpg the other day.

  14. #54

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5


  15. #55
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,351
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    That was a difficult birth - the checker doesn't accept capital letters in the model's name.

    eg. Mount_Barded_Horse should be mount_barded_horse




  16. #56

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    That can't be the reason why the game doesn't work, since BC's BMDB had capital letters in model names and the game worked fine.

    It had this, for example:

    22 Mount_Bc_templar_Horse

    I changed some of the mount names to lowercase letters, but the game still doesn't work. It's the same error as before:

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] pack close,,data/shaders/new/mesh_fire_mt.vsh,,,-594
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [info] exists: missing mods/Broken_Crescent_kingdoms/data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] file open,,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,,not found
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] pack open,packs/localized.pack,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,,not found
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] pack open,packs/data_2.pack,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,517
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [info] open: found data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh (from: packs/data_2.pack)
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] pack close,,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,,,-517
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [info] exists: missing mods/Broken_Crescent_kingdoms/data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] file open,,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,,not found
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] pack open,packs/localized.pack,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,,not found
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] pack open,packs/data_2.pack,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,517
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [info] open: found data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh (from: packs/data_2.pack)
    10:46:24.890 [system.io] [trace] pack close,,data/shaders/new/fleximesh0_fire_mt.vsh,,,-517
    10:46:24.921 [system.io] [info] exists: found mods/Broken_Crescent_kingdoms/data/unit_models/battle_models.modelDB (from: D:\SEGA\Medieval 2 Total War)
    10:46:24.921 [system.io] [trace] file open,,mods/Broken_Crescent_kingdoms/data/unit_models/battle_models.modelDB,4115513
    10:46:24.921 [system.io] [info] open: found mods/Broken_Crescent_kingdoms/data/unit_models/battle_models.modelDB (from: D:\SEGA\Medieval 2 Total War)
    10:46:25.203 [system.rpt] [error] Medieval 2: Total War encountered an unspecified error and will now exit.

  17. #57
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,351
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    I only got those 4 errors from the checker which were gone after I converted the names into lower case. I forgot to check the format of the file...Notepad++ tells me the encoding should be "UTF8 without BOM"

    Otherwise I can't help you further.

    The only other thing I can think of is the custom animations of the marka horses which may be missing or a missing mesh.
    Last edited by Gigantus; September 28, 2013 at 10:16 AM.




  18. #58

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    There are no Marka models in BC, and I didn't add any to BMDB, but they are mentioned in descr_mount. I thought that wouldn't matter, since they're not mentioned in the EDU or BMDB.

  19. #59
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,351
    Blog Entries
    23

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    This is a custom animation for a mount (my bad assuming it was a marka animation): fs_heavy_horse_charger (as per your modeldb entry further up)
    It requires an entry in descr_skeleton and a custom data\animations\skeleton.dat and idx file




  20. #60

    Default Re: Formatted campaign modeldb files for all campaigns - Kingdoms & Vanilla 1.5

    It does have an entry in descr_skeleton, since I used the descr_skeleton that Point Blank released.

    I merged the RR/RC Compilation for SS animations with the BC animations, so all the required animations should be there. Of course, there's the possibility I did something wrong.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •