Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 61 to 77 of 77

Thread: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

  1. #61
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    how are the joints of your animal units named? elephant like (platform) or infantry like (pelvis) ????

  2. #62
    bitterhowl's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Russian Feodality
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    My wardogs are from Banzai's models pack.

    My sister, do you still recall the blue Hasan and Khalkhin-Gol?
    Russian warship is winning. Proofs needed? Go find yourself!

  3. #63
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    cant find it. is there a link?

  4. #64
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    my animals had a model wich first joint was named bone_platform.
    I just renamed it to bone_pelvis but it still crash.
    Last edited by leo.civil.uefs; February 16, 2024 at 03:27 PM.

  5. #65
    bitterhowl's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Russian Feodality
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)


    My sister, do you still recall the blue Hasan and Khalkhin-Gol?
    Russian warship is winning. Proofs needed? Go find yourself!

  6. #66
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    Damn, beat me to it. The link underneath has the mesh and textures of the wardogs plus a text file with all the entries (descr_animals, descr_skeleton, EDU).
    Handle with care, the file is over ten years old and might be brittle.

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/dnft2...hunde.rar/file










  7. #67
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    Quote Originally Posted by bitterhowl View Post
    well the joints in this model have totally different names from the ones I having in one working animal so it seems the joint name is not te problem.

    from the files you just sent I tried:

    the descr_animals config but still crashed

    The animation section in bmdb but still crashed (I kept it anyway)

    The skeleton from descr_skeleton.txt but I already had all that animations, but not in that order. my entry in descr_skeleton had 3 attack anims while the one you sent me has only 2 still crashed (I kept it anyway)

    I also removed all the paths to .evt files in each animation line
    Last edited by leo.civil.uefs; February 17, 2024 at 12:50 AM.

  8. #68
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    nevermind Im lost
    Last edited by leo.civil.uefs; February 17, 2024 at 12:19 AM.

  9. #69
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    LOL - I hadn't realized that bitterhowl had uploaded my file.

    How about actually testing that model with the provided files details? It did work in 1648.

    Code:
    ; --- Kriegshunde ----
    
    type             Wardogs
    dictionary       Wardogs      ;Wardogs
    category         handler
    class            heavy
    voice_type       Heavy
    banner faction   main_infantry
    banner holy      crusade
    soldier          musketiere, 10, 30, 1.0
    animal           wardogs
    attributes       sea_faring, hide_improved_forest, hardy, can_withdraw, frighten_foot, mercenary_unit, power_charge, no_custom
    formation        2.6, 2.6, 3.8, 3.8, 2, square
    stat_health      1, 1
    stat_pri         8, 3, no, 0, 0, melee, melee_blade, piercing, spear, 25, 0.6
    ;stat_pri_ex      0, 4, 0
    stat_pri_attr    spear, spear_bonus_8
    stat_sec         12, 6, no, 0, 0, melee, melee_simple, piercing, none, 0, 5
    ;stat_sec_ex      0, 0, 0
    stat_sec_attr    no
    stat_pri_armour  2, 4, 6, metal
    ;stat_armour_ex   2, 0, 0, 0, 5, 0, 0, metal
    stat_sec_armour  0, 3, flesh
    stat_heat        1
    stat_ground      0, 0, 0, 0
    stat_mental      13, disciplined, highly_trained
    stat_charge_dist 40
    stat_fire_delay  0
    stat_food        60, 300
    stat_cost        1, 500, 200, 60, 140, 500, 1, 110
    armour_ug_levels 1
    armour_ug_models musketiere
    ownership        slave, england
    era 0            england
    era 1            england
    era 2            england
    ;unit_info        7, 0, 7
    info_pic_dir    Mercs
    card_pic_dir    Mercs
    recruit_priority_offset    -50
    Last edited by Gigantus; February 18, 2024 at 08:04 AM.










  10. #70
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    I did test using the very same setup bitterhowl provided. edu, descr_animals, skeleton etc

    it still crahses. but the crash seems absolutelly random
    some times the entire battle happens with no crash, some times it crashes about middle of its duration.

    If I remove all animals from the unit there is no crash so Im sure the problem is the animals.

    however, I can see them using all animations, die, attack etc, and as I said sometimes the battle simply wont crash.

    weird.

  11. #71
    bitterhowl's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Russian Feodality
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    In my experience all my crashes now occured when handler died before number of dogs decreased so some internal engine parameters are broken. I'd advise to increase handler's stats to prevent them being killed before dogs.

    After decreasing numbers of dogs in unit (I had 40 previously) I avoid CTD at all at this moment.

    My sister, do you still recall the blue Hasan and Khalkhin-Gol?
    Russian warship is winning. Proofs needed? Go find yourself!

  12. #72
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    just tried giving the handlers and animals an obscene defensive stat so none of them die.
    game still crashes during battle

    I basically tried everything so the only possibility now is that the animations are somehow bugged. they are custom animations from warhammer mod and while they work fine for elephant units they might have something that makes crash as animals in handler unit
    Last edited by leo.civil.uefs; February 18, 2024 at 11:53 PM.

  13. #73
    bitterhowl's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Russian Feodality
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    I'll upload my anomations a bit later today.

    My sister, do you still recall the blue Hasan and Khalkhin-Gol?
    Russian warship is winning. Proofs needed? Go find yourself!

  14. #74
    bitterhowl's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Russian Feodality
    Posts
    1,695

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    This is a link to 7zip with wardogs animations set and skeleton. It should be placed into data/animations/ folder, this way was written in skeleton file.

    This is a link to dogs animation set
    Last edited by bitterhowl; February 19, 2024 at 06:06 AM.

    My sister, do you still recall the blue Hasan and Khalkhin-Gol?
    Russian warship is winning. Proofs needed? Go find yourself!

  15. #75
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    thanks for not giving up helping me.
    Last edited by leo.civil.uefs; February 20, 2024 at 12:12 AM.

  16. #76
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    Looking at those numbers it does seem odd: 10 handlers, 30 animals

    Anyone got RTW handy to check what they used then?

    And I just noted the unit has no stat_stl line = "Number of soldiers needed for unit to count as alive". Although afaik that only affects if the unit gets dissolved after battle.










  17. #77
    leo.civil.uefs's Avatar nis que va bruxo!
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,135

    Default Re: How to add an animal handler unit (Wardogs)

    I just used the wardogs model Bitterhowl sent , same descr_skeleton entry too

    and still crashes. LOL

    I give up, did everything possible. Im done.

    thanks everyone involved anyway

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •