Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 40 of 40

Thread: Expanding The Campaign Map

  1. #21
    Swagger's Avatar Imperial Coffee-Runner
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,434

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    just one question j@mes...


    you should have seen my thread, about ''how to expand the map''


    the curious part, was that it was for the crusades campaign...


    did you made this tutorial, and using the crusades map just for me ?...or 'inspired' in me ?



    anyway..it's a very good tutorial, too bad i already learn how to do it, before you made it..otherwise it would be very usefull...


    Under the Patronage of the Dreadful cedric37!
    Ancs Guide, Emergent Factions , Yes/No Events |L'Outremer for Modders| Swagger's Skymod

  2. #22

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    sorry where was that? no i made this based on the amount of PM i had asking how i extended America so instead of replying to them every week it where more practical just to write a tutorial on this and the crusader campaign where just random.


  3. #23

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Quote Originally Posted by J@mes View Post
    sorry where was that? no i made this based on the amount of PM i had asking how i extended America so instead of replying to them every week it where more practical just to write a tutorial on this and the crusader campaign where just random.
    me for one you have anymore tutorials like this planned?.
    I managed to get a full map working but my rivers and moutains need major work maybe you could shed some light in these areas.

  4. #24
    Swagger's Avatar Imperial Coffee-Runner
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,434

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    j@mes:

    see HERE




    Grneyeddvl, was the one who said he might be going to do a How to Expand the map tutorial..


    j@mes, i added the Caspian sea...

    and after i see the pixel connection (only from pixel edges) i still get a triangle, where it shouldn't be anything (or sea)...


    the map_heights, map_ground_types, map_climates are cool..


    no ideas ?

    :hmmm:
    Under the Patronage of the Dreadful cedric37!
    Ancs Guide, Emergent Factions , Yes/No Events |L'Outremer for Modders| Swagger's Skymod

  5. #25

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    sorry i thought you wrote a tutorial on this! had the wrong end of the stick i will take a look at this.


  6. #26

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Nice tutorial.

  7. #27
    Venta Icenor Um's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Venta Icenor Um, Britannia
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Hi, nice tutorial, i just successfully (well almost successfully) extended my map north and added a few nice new regions, all was going well untill when i got it up and running untill i tried to end the first turn when i got a CTD. I think it may have something to do with the snow, so which file deals with where snow is placed and what should i remember to look out for when i am editing the aforementioned files?
    Those who live by the sword, Play Total War




  8. #28

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    map climates deals with snow. what does your log say?


  9. #29
    Mr.Man's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Upper Darby PA
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    i tried expanding the broken crescent map to include greece and i keep getting unspecified error that doesn't show up in system log. I havent added any new regions or cities and ive kept it pretty simple by just adding only water.

  10. #30

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Man View Post
    i tried expanding the broken crescent map to include greece and i keep getting unspecified error that doesn't show up in system log. I havent added any new regions or cities and ive kept it pretty simple by just adding only water.
    First of all what are the default heights and width of the crescent map? do you get to see the map?
    do you have full error logging on?


  11. #31
    Mr.Man's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Upper Darby PA
    Posts
    161

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    The default height273 width420 my height is 273 and my width is 460. And i get the unspecified error when i try and start a game, like it freezes right after i click start the ctd's and says unspecified error and nothin shows up in system log

  12. #32
    Indefinitely Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    13,968

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Excellent tutorial.

  13. #33
    Evil_Dane's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    442

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Any guide on this for gimp, as my other computer with Photoshop is down for a while? :

  14. #34

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Evil_Dane check my sig for the GIMP tutorial.


  15. #35

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Man View Post
    i tried expanding the broken crescent map to include greece and i keep getting unspecified error that doesn't show up in system log. I havent added any new regions or cities and ive kept it pretty simple by just adding only water.
    If you expanding the map to west, then you will need to redo every coordinate in the maps. The game starts out in the SW corner at 0,0 and all the adding you can do is to the south and east without having to do a bunch of text editting.

  16. #36

    Default Re: Tutorial: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Its not too hard to expand to the west though, if you round the map size up by expanding east first. Then expand west by 100 or 200 pixels, that way its a simple matter of adding 100 or 200 to the x co-ordinate for each resource and army/agent. Didn't take me more than half an hour...

  17. #37

    Default Re: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Hi. i'm trying to create a new mod, i've already added over 30 settlements and it works. now i'm trying to expand the map. i do all those steps, but i've got an error. when i looked at system.log file i saw that all the things that have coordinate in the map have an "invalid tile" problem... i think i don't have a problem with the maps but just a coordinate problem.. i couldn't fix it... anybody has an idea??

  18. #38

    Default Re: Expanding The Campaign Map

    was because of i was expanding to west... i just redid the coordinates in the descr_strat and fixed it... thanx..

  19. #39
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,250
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Yup, post #36 was mentioning that (more or less).



  20. #40
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,877

    Default Re: Expanding The Campaign Map

    Its always good to know the old way to do things but Geomod will do this now in a matter of seconds...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •