Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 96

Thread: Descr_Strat tutorial

  1. #21
    Seleukos's Avatar Hell hath no fury
    Patrician

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Washington, US
    Posts
    8,866

    Default

    Yes, there is nothing wrong with that code. Make sure you delete the map.rwm after every reload that you make a change.

  2. #22

    Default Unit speed:

    Is it possible to change a units speed? I would like to speed up cavalry (slightly) in one of the mods I'm using, and wanted to know if I could use this file to do that. Can you change the speed of just the cavalry?

  3. #23
    davepyne's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tittils
    Try to delete your map.rwm in the base folder. It should work.

    - Tittils -
    deleted it. works perfect! thanks, Tittils.

  4. #24
    davepyne's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    194

    Default

    I'm wondering is it possible to assign two or more models to one building. For instance could I make it so that my core building caused a port graphic to be seen on the strat map, as well as a level one wall on the strat map, and battle map?

  5. #25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard
    mn1321, it tells you the location of desc_strat.txt in the 5th line of the first post...
    yea I know that, what I'm saying is that it does not work when i type it in on run, and I was wondering of I typed it in in the right place, as I did not see where the guide says to put it in...

  6. #26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mn1321
    yea I know that, what I'm saying is that it does not work when i type it in on run, and I was wondering of I typed it in in the right place, as I did not see where the guide says to put it in...
    You don't type in anything anywhere. This is not like an ".exe" thing you run, it's a simple text file in a folder.
    you just have to locate your installed RTW on your hard drive and open up the data/world/campaign folder.

  7. #27

    Default

    ; >>>> start of regions section <<<<
    region Bituriges
    watchtower 51 94

    You can build watchtowers on map from the start. Any where a normal watchtower can go.

    I can't get this to work for the life of me.
    I put in the co-ordinates and region name then got rid of the map.rwm but no watchtowers or forts. Any ideas?
    Get the LOTR mod - based on the movie trilogy:
    Official Site --- TWC Sub-Forum
    Patronised byTRAJAN

  8. #28

    Default

    Yes, Thanks Archer, for some reason I thought I had to type it in on run, but i after you told me that that wasnt it, I ran a system wide search for "rome" and i just followed the pathway and found it. I feel like an idiot... Thanks!

  9. #29

    Default

    Hi everyone I am new. I was wondering if I could completely delete a faction by changing the descr_strat. I cut and pasted the cities and the family members from the Julii to the Scipii but after changing their names it still didn't seem to work. Whenever I would start an imperial campaign with the scipii it would immediately take me back to the single player screen and when I click on imperial campaign again nothing happens. I then took out the juliis total faction section in the dscr_strat and now when I start an imperial campaign with the scipii I crash to the desktop. Can someone help me?

  10. #30

    Default

    Anyone have any input? Please...

  11. #31
    HouseOfHam's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    Quote Originally Posted by TDarksword View Post
    A male child must have his father's surname. Girl children do not have surnames.
    We used a female surname in RTRVII:TIC to construct a multilevel family tree and have it show correctly in the scroll. Hamilcar Barca's daughter Althaia is married to Hasdrubal who has a different surname (or just doesn't have one).

    Originally, when she was coded without a surname, she showed in the scroll, but her husband did not, because the engine did not know it's the same Althaia, so it created 2 Althaia's, one Hamilcar's daughter, and another Hasdrubal's wife. Since the scroll only shows the main family tree line, Hasdrubal and the 2nd Althaia were not visible.

    Once we gave her a surname, it worked as intended.
    Last edited by HouseOfHam; September 27, 2008 at 01:24 AM.
    RTR website/SVN admin

    - Settlement coordinate locator -for RTW/M2TW
    - EDB Validator v1.2.8 (Oct 16, 2012) - for RTW/M2TW
    - RTW scripting tutorials
    - n-turns per year script generator

  12. #32
    HouseOfHam's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    I've made a couple more finds today:

    1. It's possible to set the starting building health. For example,
    Code:
        building
        {
            type defenses stone_wall
            health 75%
        }
    2. It's possible to define a garrison for a settlement right when you define it, without having to create a separate army. For example,

    Code:
    settlement
    {
        level town
        region Lucania;    Grumentum
        year_founded 0
        population 1480
        plan_set default_set
        faction_creator epirus
        garrisoned_army
        unit        fac rome light infantry                    exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
        unit        aor oscan skirmishers                    exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
        building
        {
            type core_building governors_house
        }
    }
    RTR website/SVN admin

    - Settlement coordinate locator -for RTW/M2TW
    - EDB Validator v1.2.8 (Oct 16, 2012) - for RTW/M2TW
    - RTW scripting tutorials
    - n-turns per year script generator

  13. #33

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    Those are very useful finds. The garrison find especially looks to be very helpful. Have you noticed any problems with either of those?

    Expand your borders, a mod based on XGM 5.

  14. #34
    HouseOfHam's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    No, but I've only tested on BI v1.6, so don't know if it will work with other versions or RTW/Alex.
    RTR website/SVN admin

    - Settlement coordinate locator -for RTW/M2TW
    - EDB Validator v1.2.8 (Oct 16, 2012) - for RTW/M2TW
    - RTW scripting tutorials
    - n-turns per year script generator

  15. #35
    MasterOfNone's Avatar RTW Modder 2004-2015
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    16,701

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    Good find, Houseof Ham
    "One of the most sophisticated Total War mods ever developed..."


  16. #36

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    Great find, very useful!! Thanks for sharing HoH!

  17. #37

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    Good one HoH!

  18. #38

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    The daughter part I discovered myself some time ago(the hard way ). But the garrison find is very important. It makes for rapid codding when adding new regions. Good job!

    I also have a question. Is the year_founded line useful or important for anything? I`ve noticed in BI they`ve changed it for most settlements to be 363, the year the game starts. In RTW it used to be 0 for most afaik.
    Doing a search I`ve only found one relevant post:
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...488#post693488
    But it`s kinda old so I was wondering if the conclusion still stands today.

  19. #39
    HouseOfHam's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    Quote Originally Posted by florin80 View Post
    I also have a question. Is the year_founded line useful or important for anything? I`ve noticed in BI they`ve changed it for most settlements to be 363, the year the game starts. In RTW it used to be 0 for most afaik.
    Doing a search I`ve only found one relevant post:
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...488#post693488
    But it`s kinda old so I was wondering if the conclusion still stands today.
    I think it's just as useless today as it has always been. Even in MTW2, it's not used for anything. Most likely, CA left it in there so they would not have to change parsing code.
    RTR website/SVN admin

    - Settlement coordinate locator -for RTW/M2TW
    - EDB Validator v1.2.8 (Oct 16, 2012) - for RTW/M2TW
    - RTW scripting tutorials
    - n-turns per year script generator

  20. #40

    Default Re: Descr_Strat tutorial

    Trying army bit out on Alexander. I get a KTM with error message saying World Creation Error: Cannot find unit description for unit type "unit name exp 0 weapon 0 armor 0"

    It is also for the Slave faction.
    RIP Calvin, you won't be forgotten.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •