Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415 LastLast
Results 141 to 160 of 289

Thread: Scandza: Total War

  1. #141
    Kdssow's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Awesome Beta, good music too!
    Gjallarhorn is an awesome band, and now I know more Pagan/Folk-bands from Scandinavia thanks to this little Beta.
    I hope the Frissians will be there in the full version.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. #142
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    It's a submod in the sense that much of the basic work, such as banners, models, textures, etc., of ArthurianTW have been used.
    Yes I expect to improve this mod somewhat - as I progress I will expand the map and add factions; and yes, kdssow, the Frisians are to be included.

    Cheers!
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  3. #143
    Kdssow's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    What's the status by now? I'm so excited, finally a mod that is actually making good progress these days, I can't wait for the full version!

  4. #144

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Hi all,

    thought I'd give this a look, but upon loading the splash screen I get a CTD with error message which tells me that the file "...barbarian_large_city_underlay.CAS" does not exist.

    Any thoughts?

    Edit: Nevermind, typical user error.

    This looks quite interesting - nice to see a smaller focus mod! I was just thinking about a mod set in the Beowulf era and region, so it's cool to find this still being worked on.

    If I had a suggestion, it would be to keep the focus nice and small. Personally, I would love to see the map expanded just a tiny bit - to include the lands of the Frisians in the southwest and the lands of the Beowulf-era Swedish kings around whatever that lake is called to the northeast. I would actually leave out Britain, southern/central Germany, and anything beyond the immediate eastern coast of the Baltic.

    You could have a very tightly-focused campaign then, which would avoid the problems and pitfalls of a Europe-wide map - which would be practically required if you expanded into southern Germany and Britain. I imagine it would be hard to accurately represent only a fraction of the Frankish kingdom, for example, so you'd be tempted to include much of France; and you could hardly include the Franks without including their neighbors, and so on and so on... It would open a big can of worms, I think.

    If the campaign began in the mid 500s or so you also wouldn't have to worry quite so much about modelling the migration to Britain.

    Anyway, that's my own selfish wish: a *slightly* larger campaign map (so I could replay the fight at Finnsburgh or the ravages of Ongentheo), but still keeping the great focus you've achieved so far.

    At any rate, keep up the good work!
    Last edited by CountMRVHS; September 05, 2011 at 07:02 PM.
    One of the most sophisticated Total War modders ever developed...

  5. #145
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Thanks for your suggestions and kind comments

    I have a small fix for you - nothing new really. The reason I upload it is because some of the music-tracks were a bit off, so I felt I had to do something about it asap:
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=OGZU7U3N

    Just replace your "amleth"-folder.

    Cheers!
    Last edited by Dansk viking; February 01, 2017 at 09:22 AM.
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  6. #146

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    If Beowulf appears here, then I'll play it!!!

  7. #147

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Cool, an update!
    One of the most sophisticated Total War modders ever developed...

  8. #148
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    I will upload the files on RapidShare shortly!

    EDIT: Done! Although a bit messy...
    Last edited by Dansk viking; February 03, 2012 at 07:57 AM.
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  9. #149
    Kdssow's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    185

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    R.I.P Megaupload , damn those federals.
    EDIT: aside from ranting against the US's new policy of destro...[Cencored by SOPA for telling the truth.]..the internet.
    How is the mod doing?
    Last edited by Kdssow; February 05, 2012 at 04:03 PM.

  10. #150
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    So, I added a proper download now, including instructions.
    I altered a few text-files (names, mainly) otherwise it's the same tale.
    I might upload a few screenshots soon for advertisement

    Download link: http://www.gamefront.com/files/21905166/AmlethTW_rar
    Mirror:https://rapidshare.com/files/781984788/AmlethTW.rar

    Installation:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    - Place the "bi" folder in your MAIN Rome: Total War directory (the mod is completely mod-
    foldered; it will not affect your clean installation of RTW:BI 1.6)

    - Change the destination-lines in the shortcut:
    "[Your path]\Rome - Total War\RomeTW-BI.exe" -mod:bi\amleth -nm -show_err
    &
    "[Your path]\Rome - Total War"

    - Alternatively select the icon included for the shortcut.

    - Start through your customized shortcut!

    - Enjoy!


    Credit:
    - The ArthurianTW team for a dev-forum (Agraes), base of units, and other stuff to work from.
    - Loading-screens courtesy of Giovanni Caselli.
    - Music rights pending.
    Others: Saxo Grammaticus, Svensk Viking, Swabian, Hross, etc.

    EDIT: Rapidshare seems to be very slow - I'll upload on GameFront!
    Last edited by Dansk viking; February 01, 2017 at 09:22 AM.
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  11. #151
    Har­urā­az's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Junak°punger, Swerike
    Posts
    1,091

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Good job Danskr VÝkingr!

  12. #152
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    I am honoured by your presence, my Swedish counterpart. Thank you!
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  13. #153
    Har­urā­az's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Junak°punger, Swerike
    Posts
    1,091

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War


  14. #154
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Here's a Video-presentation:
    Last edited by Dansk viking; June 27, 2012 at 11:19 AM.
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  15. #155
    Agraes's Avatar Pillar of Prydein
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brittany (France)
    Posts
    889

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    That looks nice, cheers

  16. #156

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Hey, I've downloaded the mod and put the correct paths in, I think atleast I have since they seem to be the only ones that actually get it to semi work. Anyway anytime I try to play the mod RTW vanilla comes up. what could be causing that? Please reply I really want to play this mod.

  17. #157
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Could you give me the paths (excluding username etc.) you use in the shortcut? Usually when this happens, it's because of one or both of these being wrong.
    I hope I can help you, and thank you for your interest.
    //DV

    PS. Also make sure the "amleth" folder is inside the "bi" folder.
    Last edited by Dansk viking; August 08, 2012 at 06:30 PM.
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  18. #158

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Quote Originally Posted by Dansk viking View Post
    Could you give me the paths (excluding username etc.) you use in the shortcut? Usually when this happens, it's because of one or both of these being wrong.
    I hope I can help you, and thank you for your interest.
    //DV

    PS. Also make sure the "amleth" folder is inside the "bi" folder.
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\The Creative Assembly\Rome - Total War\RomeTW-BI.exe" -mod:bi\amleth -nm -show_err

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\The Creative Assembly\Rome - Total War"

    I've looked and the amleth folder is in the bi folder.

    Also my computer runs windows 7. I've got the compatability mode set to windows 7 so I don't think thats causing the issue. I also got BI patched to 1.6 and I just got done reinstalling BI just incase.

  19. #159
    Dansk viking's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Looks good enough - though, I strongly advice that you place your installation elsewhere (not in the "Program Files (x86)") since I've experienced problems modifying the game when it has been placed there. Try a path like: "C:\Games\Rome - Total War" and then place the "bi"-folder containing "amleth" in this directory. And of course, as you seem to know, make sure to have a clean BI 1.6 installed.

    Also, the game automatically creates a folder called "amleth" inside "bi" if it's not there - only containing preferences etc. This means that in case you placed "amleth" in the main directory, it'd look like you've installed it correctly even though all the files are wrongly placed. (If you have an "amleth"-folder in both the RTW-directory and the "bi"-folder, that's the problem - not saying that you did this, but I'm trying to find any possible explanation to what is causing the problems you're experiencing).

    DV
    Gesaga him Úac wordum, ■Št hÝe sint wilcuman Deniga lÚodum

  20. #160

    Default Re: Scandza: Total War

    Hello

    I need a little bit of help
    Do i rename the BI shortcut to make it playable?
    when trying to rename the folder it says the : sign is not allowed
    as in mod:bi\amleth -nm -show_err
    It seemed i had fixed it but when i clicked on the Amleth total war shortcut nothing happened

    Im not a computer genius

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •