View RSS Feed

The PikeStance Experience

Part IV: Jetsetter [Africa] [THEN AND NOW SERIES}

Rate this Entry
Part IV: Jetsetter [Africa]
THEN AND NOW SERIES

I had two advantures on the continent of Africa.
In 2000 I was a Peace Corps Volunteer
In 2006- 2008 I was a teacher at the international school.
Both were in Beautiful Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)

In 2000, I joined the Peace Corps. We met in Philadelphia for initial training and a chance to get to know everyone. We were there for about three days. We then took a bus to New York and flew out on Air Afrique which I heard went out of business. It was more or less direct to Abidjan. We had a brief stopover, but I honestly do not remember where. We arrived early in the morning and took a bus to a Catholic retreat facility. The bus ride was interesting. It seems the whole ride there were people lined along side the road seemingly doing nothing. In fact, someone commented that he never saw so many people standing around doing nothing. When we arrived we found out we would be put in "barracks" and we were not divided my gender which seems odd given it was a "Catholic" retreat facility. Oddly, no one cared.

We were divided into three groups: "Engineering," Education, and administration. The "engineering" group would go to the most remote areas and work on sanitation projects. The Administrative group would work in various government offices and would most likely work in larger villages or small towns offices. My group, education group, were in charge with developing programs to keep young girls in school while not alienating the boys.

After about a week of beginner French classes, we were introduced to our host families that we would live with for the remainder of our training.
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ivorian Family.jpg 
Views:	903 
Size:	714.9 KB 
ID:	325184