• Modding Interview with Sara Temer

Modding Interview with Sara Temer

Interview by Vladyvid What got you into the total war series, and what is/are your favourite total war game/s?

I feel that my answer here will be standard enough. I started playing Total War games when my cousin installed Medieval II on my PC, and from the concept of gameplay where you are ruler of your kingdom combined with large battles was amazing for me. In the same time I also played Battle for the Middle-Earth where the scale of battles was disappointing for me (okay, mods can fix it, but I didn’t know about mods back then) and Total War games gave me what I wanted. My favourite Total War games are definitely Medieval II and Shogun 2.

Can you tell us a bit about how you joined the TWC?

The answer here isn’t surprising - I was looking for mods in LotR setting. Precisely it was the Lord of the Rings: Total War for first Rome. I also heard about the Third Age, but I had Medieval II without Kingdoms expansion so I couldn’t install it. And to this day, mods are reason to visit the forum, because I usually never join other conversations there.

What got you into modding? How it started?

It’s a bit funny, because I started browsing game files, because I wanted to use some UI elements in thumbnails for my videos from Total War games on my YouTube channel. Next I read more about it, mostly about modding of campaign map in Shogun 2, because the lack of mods changing campaign map hurts me in Total War on warscape engine (except Shogun 2, but even in Shogun 2 there's small amount of such mods). I did some tiny mods myself, next I did submod for Morning Sun mod with custom shroud (campaign fog of war, which in Shogun 2 is in form painted map), and then I started to work on LotR mod for Shogun 2.

Modding requires a lot of dedication. What drives you forward? What aspect of modding do you enjoy the most?