Thread: Making AARs:Keeping track of your campaign - how?

Default Making AARs:Keeping track of your campaign - how?

Hi everyone.

apologies for the length of this post.

Before medieval 2 was released I discovered, whilst playing Rome, how much fun it was to make a log of my campaigns to give a bit of history and purpose, I found this out after reading someone elses AAR and thought how well written it was and how much it sounded like actual historical accounts (being a history enthusiast myself).

Before i got really involved in that though, medieval 2 came out and i started playing that instead, at first i was too excited to play the game so didn't make a log but I recently found myself wanting to, at first I used the same method I had in my initial experiments with Rome; using a pen and paper to make notes on a year-by-year, turn-by-turn basis, but having done this for a while with M2 it became very laborious and I eventually lost interest as my notes became more and more vague. So that method wasn't good enough.

I then realised perhaps it would be better to simply record my campaign with Fraps and make notes in a word processor later, but I recieved a rude shock when my hard disk got full of 155gig of recordings by the mid to late 1100s. Another failed method.

I then had the idea of using dual-screen display to be able to switch between a word procesor and playing medieval at the flick of a mouse, but realised that even with specific software that medieval 2 doesn't allow for you to switch screens without minimizing the game, rendering dual-screening pointless as alt+tabbing can be done on a single screen but is hardly a fluid and seamless way to log the events of a campaign.

You're probably seeing a pattern here.

It seems from my attempts that there just isn't a convenient way to log your campaign in medieval 2 - how does everyone else do it?