Thread: Any ideas on stopping calvary?

Default Any ideas on stopping calvary?

I admit that I am a noob but dang those horemen walk over my infantry. They seem to run in and out at will. They do alot of damage in these attacks and seem to take very few losses. Even my spearman and pikemen seem to just get run over.
    1. One cav unit charges and retreats.
    2. Seconds later another hits.
    3. The spearmen rout.
    Even light horse are devasting in charges against infantry. Just minutes ago several units of light horse ate my spearmen and heavy infantry whole.
    Its so hard to pin them down after they hit you. They just seem to ride off. Its also very hard to turn an inf unit so keep your flanks safe from them.
    Is there any way to make my inf more effective against them?

Default Re: Any ideas on stopping calvary?

*sighs*

first off, wat sort of cavalry? if heavy cavalry (knights etc) then only face them head on with spear infantry. (pikemen, armoured sergents, halberds) the common tactic for all cavalry was to charge, disengage and charge again, so get ur cavalry behind ur enemies 2 cut off their path of escape
    HE WHO IS RED

If its light cavalry place peasants in front of your heavy units, tell them to run backwards ("flee" key) and the horses charge will become obsolete and dispersed. (bug, but its the only way)
    “"The robber of your free will," writes Epictetus, "does not exist”

Cha0sMarin3's Avatar Semisalis