Thread: Army Composition

Default Army Composition

I am trying to play the grand campaign (as the English) in MTW2 and I encountered a rather large problem: I have no idea what kind of infantry to use to hold the main battle line. I am a vet of the series and in RTW, for instance, there were the legionaries, or the phalanxes, or the swordsmen, or warbands; but in MTW I cannot seem to find a standard, easily replaceable type of infantry unit to be the backbone of my army. I use "hammer and anvil" tactics in my battles and have been using armored sergeants to hold the line but they simply cannot stand up to late period armored units. So after that I switched to Armoured Swordsmen but they are fairly expensive and not easily replaceable. Are swordsmen the best? Or should I switch to a civ with pikemen? Help is appreciated.

Default Re: Army Composition

Quote Originally Posted by Mike08 View Post
    I am trying to play the grand campaign (as the English) in MTW2 and I encountered a rather large problem: I have no idea what kind of infantry to use to hold the main battle line. I am a vet of the series and in RTW, for instance, there were the legionaries, or the phalanxes, or the swordsmen, or warbands; but in MTW I cannot seem to find a standard, easily replaceable type of infantry unit to be the backbone of my army. I use "hammer and anvil" tactics in my battles and have been using armored sergeants to hold the line but they simply cannot stand up to late period armored units. So after that I switched to Armoured Swordsmen but they are fairly expensive and not easily replaceable. Are swordsmen the best? Or should I switch to a civ with pikemen? Help is appreciated.
    The english really does lack good late-period line infantry that's cheap and easy to replace (city-trainable is probably a good way to put it). Your best bet is, as you've guessed already, Armoured Swordsmen. What you're basically looking for in line infantry is a combination of two things: