Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 49

Thread: Force Diplomacy Tutorial

  1. #1

    Default Force Diplomacy Tutorial

    Dime,

    I am trying to add this option to the above as I prefer the small map.

    I have cut out the export_descr_advice.txt thread relating to Force Diplomacy and pasted it to XGM 3 but does not work. Is there a trigger for this? The script is where it is supposed to be.

    Tx,

    JW

  2. #2
    DimeBagHo's Avatar Praeses
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    7,944

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    You need two sections from the advice file - the thread entry, and the trigger entry, which is near the end of the file. You will also need to set up the enums, text entries, and of course the script itself.

  3. #3
    Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AEnima City, USA
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Dime, do you think you could post a little tutorial or something of how to add the forced diplomacy to other mods (specifically, EB)? It's sorely lacking and it's an awesome thing you've done.

  4. #4
    DimeBagHo's Avatar Praeses
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    7,944

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    How to add a "force diplomacy" option.

    These instructions are for vanilla RTW. If you are trying to add this to another mod, you may need to add in the advice thread and the trigger from step 1.

    You need to modify two files...

    data/export_descr_advice.txt
    data/text/export_advice.txt

    ...and add one.

    data/scripts/show_me/Force_Diplomacy.txt

    1. data/export_descr_advice.txt

    Replace the existing Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Thread with this:
    Code:
    ;------------------------------------------
    AdviceThread Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Thread
        GameArea Campaign
    
        Item Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Text_01
            Suppressible n
            Uninhibitable
            Verbosity  0
            Threshold  1 
            Attitude Normal
            Presentation Default
            Title Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Text_01_Title
            Script scripts\show_me\Force_Diplomacy.txt
            Text Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Text_01_Text1
    Replace the existing 2085B_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Help_Trigger trigger with this:
    Code:
    ;------------------------------------------
    Trigger 2085B_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Help_Trigger
        WhenToTest ScrollAdviceRequested
    
        Condition ScrollAdviceRequested diplomacy_scroll
    
        AdviceThread Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Thread  0
    2. data/text/export_advice.txt (optional)

    Replace the existing Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice entries with these:
    Code:
    -------------------
    
    {Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Text_01_Title}	Force Diplomacy 
    
    {Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Text_01_Text1}
    You can force this faction to accept your offer by clicking on the "show me how" button.
    3. data/scripts/show_me/Force_Diplomacy.txt

    Here's the script itself. You will have to create this file with notepad or similar and save it in data/scripts/show_me/.
    Code:
    script
    	declare_show_me
    	declare_counter loop
    
    	monitor_event AbandonShowMe	TrueCondition
    		suspend_unscripted_advice false
    		console_command force_diplomacy off
    		terminate_script
    	end_monitor	
    
    	monitor_event ScrollClosed ScrollClosed diplomacy_scroll
    		ui_flash_stop
    		suspend_unscripted_advice false
    		console_command force_diplomacy off
    		terminate_script
    	end_monitor		
    	
    	suspend_unscripted_advice true
    	
    	console_command force_diplomacy accept
    
    	while I_CompareCounter loop = 0
    	end_while
    	
    	suspend_unscripted_advice false
    end_script
    Last edited by DimeBagHo; December 02, 2013 at 02:25 PM.

  5. #5
    Cymera's Avatar Roma Invictus
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    1,380

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    This level of help deserves a thank you and some positive rep!


    Under the Patronage of the Wise Kara Kolyo in the Hallowed House of Wilpuri
    Proud Patron of the Charming
    Balikedes, an Insightful and Tactful Warrior.

    Extended Greek Mod (XGM) Lover ..... A mod by DimeBagHo

    "
    The wise are instructed by reason, average minds by
    experience, the stupid by necessity and the brute by instinct
    "


    - Marcus Tullius Cicero






  6. #6
    Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AEnima City, USA
    Posts
    1,303

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Dime, thank you so much. Really appreciated, not just by me, but by many. You're the best!

  7. #7

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    I followed this tutorial in an attempt to add this to my RTRPE 1.8 Modswitch version and it doesen't seem to work. I followed the exact steps twice in the RTRPE/Data folder, with no results, and then in the regular Data folder and neither of them changed anything. I find this odd because the original help that you get before modding it still appears just fine, despite it having no place on my computer anymore.

  8. #8
    Scutarii's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    3,921

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    What about the latest version of XGM? Is it already on, because I can't find it.



  9. #9

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    I've tried this on RTRPE 1.6 and it worked once, but the rest of the tries give a CTD. I'm not treally sure what I could try next..

    The earth is round. Like a pancake
    - H.Finkers

  10. #10

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Somehow this doesn't work for me, it doesn't cause any CTDs, but it simply doesn't work ingame (Show Me button cannot be pushed) and when I exit the game, I get an error message "unknown token (or something) line 2, column 7: d" -- in other words, the first letter of "declare". What gives?

  11. #11

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    doesn't work... tried it several times... no CTD or any side negative side-effects, but just did not work in game. Am playing Roma Surrectum mod.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    I just wanted to add this in case someone else came here looking for directions.

    I made a mini mod for EB using this script, and this trigger didn't exist in their modified EXPORT_DESCR_ADVICE file.

    Code:
    ;------------------------------------------
    Trigger 2085A_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Trigger
        WhenToTest DiplomacyPanelOpen
    
        Condition FactionIsLocal
    
        AdviceThread UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Thread  1
    So I copied it out of this thread. And there seems to be one little part missing which was keeping it from loading,


    Code:
    ;------------------------------------------
    
    Trigger 2085A_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Trigger
        WhenToTest DiplomacyPanelOpen
    
        Condition FactionIsLocal
    
        AdviceThread Help_UI_Panel_Diplomacy_Early_Advice_Thread  1
    Notice the "Help" that has been added to the last line.

    So if you're adding this to a given mod, you just need to make sure the needed triggers haven't been removed.

    Thanks to Dimebag for coming up with this script!

    -Jarardo
    Last edited by Jarardo; December 16, 2007 at 05:49 PM.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    I'm currently using RTR-PE1.9
    But there seems no way to play.
    I did as Dimebagho said, but the game doesn't load, it just shuts.
    I added the "help" as Jarardo said, but nothing still.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Quote Originally Posted by Cymera View Post
    This level of help deserves a thank you and some positive rep!

    i've read people discussing this rep thing..how do you do it?:hmmm:

  15. #15
    EyebrowsMulligan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Stevenage, Hertfordshire, England.
    Posts
    181

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Quote Originally Posted by chazap View Post
    i've read people discussing this rep thing..how do you do it?:hmmm:
    There is a little green 'plus icon' under their name in the banner on the left - when you move over it you should get a tooltip saying 'add to reputation' or something similar.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Quote Originally Posted by EyebrowsMulligan View Post
    There is a little green 'plus icon' under their name in the banner on the left - when you move over it you should get a tooltip saying 'add to reputation' or something similar.

    nice!!! thanks!! i'll start doing that!!!

    Eyebrows, i posted some SS on the scythia vs parthia thread to explain what i deal with if you want to take a look.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Hey Dime,
    works absolutely fine for me, thanks!

  18. #18

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Ok, im sure this doesnt work now. I have tried several times but it dont work. I even reinstalled the game and did what you said and it didnt work. i know i did it right. So how does it work for you other guys?! this is lame... I have ROME TOTAL WAR 1.5 vanilla.

    Now it just CTDs when i start the game saying a file is missing or something
    Last edited by Juicemisbruk; November 30, 2008 at 12:13 PM.
    Rome: Total War 2 Then make nr. 3 And continue until it's perfect Rome: Total War 1000


    Titus Labienus :- Best leader, commander and soldier...



    Bastarnae :- Greatest people ever!!!

  19. #19
    DimeBagHo's Avatar Praeses
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    7,944

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Quote Originally Posted by Juicemisbruk View Post
    Now it just CTDs when i start the game saying a file is missing or something
    Can you give me the exact error message? You need to create one new file and make sure it is in the right location (data/scripts/show_me/Force_Diplomacy.txt).

  20. #20

    Default Re: Force Diplomacy XGM3

    Quote Originally Posted by DimeBagHo View Post
    Can you give me the exact error message? You need to create one new file and make sure it is in the right location (data/scripts/show_me/Force_Diplomacy.txt).
    It was, im sure i did everything right. I reinstalled the game once again since i couldnt play at all. Ill try again tomorrow, and say what error message i get. Please countinue to help me
    Rome: Total War 2 Then make nr. 3 And continue until it's perfect Rome: Total War 1000


    Titus Labienus :- Best leader, commander and soldier...



    Bastarnae :- Greatest people ever!!!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •