Thread: The Sicilian Vespers

Default The Sicilian Vespers

''It was in the year ten eighty, At darkest hour of night, That King Roger from Palermo came, On his way to Florence fight!''

Apologies for the shameless reworking of ''The Ballad of John Nicolson'' by Sir Henry Newbolt but we have started a Sicilian Campaign on H/VH and things are getting serious.

This is my first time as the Sicilians and my first campaign on H/VH so I am expecting to come a cropper and to have my proverbial backside well and truly tanned, but lets wait and see - you never know.

Right off the bat let me say that I actually like the gameplay on Hard the Diplomacy seems to work better. I have Alliances and Trade agreements with loads of people and when I had to attack the Moors to take Caligiari they sent an Ambassador to patch up our differences and to offer me a truce. Now that never happened to me on Medium gameplay. So I am enjoying it so far. The battles do not seem to be so very hard and I have won all my encounters so far, but more of that later. However, Sicily is a hard faction to handle and money is short, short, short.

So off we started with Naples and Palermo and 9,000 Florins, jolly good I thought and yet the Florins they were soon spent and nothing much to show for it. The economy did not so much pick up as open an eye, grunt and go back to sleep!! Well thats the Sicilian sun for you!!