Thread: Go Carbon Zero!

Shatterer's Avatar Civis

Default Go Carbon Zero!

With the growing threat of Global Warming, it's about time we all went carbon zero. So what does "carbon zero" mean?:hmmm: Well, by going "carbon zero" you would be neutralizing your CO2 emissions. So I challenge you to calculate your level of CO2 emissions by clicking on the carbon zero calculator here: http://www.gocarbonzero.com/

Here are my results (note that I am still a student):

Y o u r I m p a c t
    Your estimated CO2 emissions are 26.65 tons per year
    You can help to offset your impact by planting 20 trees

Default Re: Go Carbon Zero!

With your donation, the Conservation Fund will plant 22 trees in one of our Carbon Zero forests. Over the next 70 years, these trees will sequester approximately 29.68 tons of carbon dioxide -- one of the most potent greenhouse gases.

roflmao....

The most I do to help the environment is not throw rubber and plastic on the floor when im outside. And even then, I'm not sure the Earth cares. Ive never heard it say thank you at least. Rubber and plastic came out of the Earth, who's to say it cares if we throw it back down on the ground? It'll just swallow it back up into itself.

*shrug*

This is what environmentalism is to me, an issue full of uncertainty and contradiction.

Denny Crane!'s Avatar Comes Rei Militaris

In some northern climates some trees do more harm in global warming than good by retaining heat. Far more appropriate would be investing in green power or something similar. By investing your time in supporting scientific endeavour or lobbying the government.

Peter

Shatterer's Avatar Civis

Quote Originally Posted by Seneca View Post
    In some northern climates some trees do more harm in global warming than good by retaining heat. Far more appropriate would be investing in green power or something similar. By investing your time in supporting scientific endeavour or lobbying the government.

Peter