Thread: Help a noob with naval battles

Default Help a noob with naval battles

Hi, I'm new to naval battles in the TW games and DarthMod Empire is my first experience of them. I'm pretty good at land battles but in naval battles I can't figure out what's going on. Mainly, my issue is about moving my ships around and commanding them to attack.

So I'm playing as Spain and my first battle is a sloop, brig, and galleon (admiral) vs the Barbary pirates (3 galleys and one larger admiral ship, can't remember which exactly). I keep playing this battle over and over, losing, and reloading. The game tells me the battle odds are about equal, so I figure I should be able to win eventually, but I just can't.

So here's where I'm confused. I have no idea whether it would be best to command my ships to move in a certain way and just keep fire-at-will on, or if its better to select a unit and then double click an enemy to let them go attack it. Is there any difference between single and double clicking an enemy to attack? (on land, single click is march and double is charge). Or should I be using some formation? When you tell a ship to attack by double clicking an enemy, what exactly does that mean? Is my ship going to circle around it, stay still and rotate to fire its cannons, or head straight towards it? I've seen all three happen, and I can't figure out why.

Default Re: Help a noob with naval battles

A few general tips/comments:
    1) Most ETW players (& NTW players for that matter) have no idea how to fight naval battles. The game provides all the basic mechanics (sail direction, formations, different ship attributes) but naval warfare requires somewhat of a nuanced grasp of tactics and seamanship. Basic takeway: pay attention to wind direction. Your ships can easily sail in direction the wind is blowing, but they can also sail, by varying angles, towards the wind. Read some basic articles on sailing:
    https://www.discoverboating.com/reso...s-of-sail-trim