Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kilo11's Cartography Corner

Default Kilo11's Cartography Corner

Welcome to Kilo11's Cartography Corner!

About
    I am an AAR writer, and in that work I found that blank maps can be a tremendous help. However, despite how incredibly useful it can be to have a high-quality blank map, it seemed oddly difficult to find such maps, especially ones which do not include unwanted details like current borders, roads, or current names of cities or other locations. As a result, I began making my own maps, and as I improved in my abilities I thought it might be nice for the community if I shared those skills and the final products. For that reason I decided to create this thread, in order to have a single place where I could put up some detailed maps with geographic features well picked out on them, and to present some (quite minimal) tutorials for how to go about making maps for yourself. I hope the thread serves that purpose well, and that viewers are able to gain some knowledge from it, or even just can take a map away and use it for their own works.

Also, in all of what follows, I have benefited greatly from numerous discussions with Cookiegod, who was kind enough to share much wisdom and many tips with me when I was getting started on my own maps. There is also a fair chance that some of his mapping resources will find their way into later posts as well, and for that we should all be grateful. So, a big hand for that fellow!

Usage