Thread: Putting Etruscan chariots back in charge... (RotR unit mod)

Skotos of Sinope's Avatar Macstre Gaposal

Default Putting Etruscan chariots back in charge... (RotR unit mod)

Update: Unit is done and has been released! Download the unit here.

So this is a mod with a very limited audience, it's fair to say. I don't see a lot of custom unit threads here. In any event, this mod grew out of a discussion in the Rome II general forum about the Rise of the Republic DLC. If you've read today's patch notes you'll see that Tarchuna is having chariots taken away as a general's bodyguard, even in custom battles. In fact, their very inclusion in the first place was an accident.

This was disappointing for me. I pre-ordered the DLC in part because I saw the roster in a youtube vid prior to release, and I was looking forward to play as the last vestige of chariot warfare in the Italian peninsula. But when I started playing the game, I noticed that no matter what I built or what skill trees I exhausted, the unit I dreamed of playing in eluded me. I went to the CA forums and asked if this was a bug. Yes, they said. It was a bug that they ever included it in the first place. But chariots would be available as lower units. This was strange. As chariots disappeared from the battlefield, because of their expense and prestige they became concentrated at the higher ranks, not the lowest. In all probability they ended up as “battle taxis” for generals and the wealthy first class ranks, rather than a shock unit manned by unarmored peasants riding in a Gallic chariot (??!!) as we get in the game. And so, in my madness and defiance, I set about building my first mod.