Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Help With New Splash Screen

  1. #1

    Default Help With New Splash Screen

    Hi guys, I wonder can anyone assist with doing a new splash screen for the upcoming release? I am totally incapable of doing something like this.

    Ideally it would be a high-quality rendering of medieval combat. Somewhere would appear the text:
    Real Combat / Real Recruitment 2.0
    Ultimate Edition

    The text does not need to be garish or too obvious.

    On another subject, just finished adding in the ReShade graphics post-processor and it looks fantastic.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Point Blank View Post
    Hi guys, I wonder can anyone assist with doing a new splash screen for the upcoming release? I am totally incapable of doing something like this.

    Ideally it would be a high-quality rendering of medieval combat. Somewhere would appear the text:
    Real Combat / Real Recruitment 2.0
    Ultimate Edition

    The text does not need to be garish or too obvious.

    On another subject, just finished adding in the ReShade graphics post-processor and it looks fantastic.
    What is the ReShade post processor?

    Also is it a new installer? or an update to 6.2/6.4

    If you need help with testing let me know, I have a little time off work.

    Not much good with the Photoshop stuff I'm afraid.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    ReShade adds a number of effects in real time and no slow-down to the rendering pipeline. The ones I have chosen make colors more vibrant, sharpen the image beyond the usual anti-aliasing, add a slight graininess, a cinematic effect, improved depth-of-field and bring out textures much more. Please see the following vid:
    https://youtu.be/LsM9mU9SsIY
    Definitely brings the game up to scratch graphically and can be applied to your other games too. Have also modified the M2TW config file with some additional tweaks for maximum effects.
    Will try to negotiate for better battle and stratmap textures from something like EBII..

  4. #4
    cedric37's Avatar Why Not !
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    7,767

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Will this do, PB ?

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    My submods & other links
    AUI for 3rd Age|EFI for Call of Warhammer|E2DI for Stainless Steel
    Making Kingdoms UI's (basics)|New Campaign UI's for 3rd Age
    Patronized by y2day/Patron of KDK, Swagger & Navajo Joe, of the Imperial House of Hader


  5. #5
    Navajo Joe's Avatar SS Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,097

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Do, its fantastic Ced, a masterpiece, love it loads

    NJ





    'Proud to be patronised by cedric37(My Father and My Guardian)

  6. #6

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Wow mate, that is fantastic, thank you so much! Sold!

    The long swords are slightly out of place with the coat-of-plates armor, but I think we can let that by in this case
    Last edited by Point Blank; May 02, 2018 at 01:51 PM.

  7. #7
    cedric37's Avatar Why Not !
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    7,767

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Thanks mates
    And really PB, you're welcome... you can always count on me :bow.
    Keep up your fantastic work
    My submods & other links
    AUI for 3rd Age|EFI for Call of Warhammer|E2DI for Stainless Steel
    Making Kingdoms UI's (basics)|New Campaign UI's for 3rd Age
    Patronized by y2day/Patron of KDK, Swagger & Navajo Joe, of the Imperial House of Hader


  8. #8

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    I used to know this, but can anyone tell me where the files are located that specify what image file the game uses for the Main Menu screen and the transition screen between the Splash screen and that? Looked in the Menu folder but cannot find them, it’s been a while lol.

  9. #9
    cedric37's Avatar Why Not !
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    7,767

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    You need to save this in /data/menu and save as splash.tga
    My submods & other links
    AUI for 3rd Age|EFI for Call of Warhammer|E2DI for Stainless Steel
    Making Kingdoms UI's (basics)|New Campaign UI's for 3rd Age
    Patronized by y2day/Patron of KDK, Swagger & Navajo Joe, of the Imperial House of Hader


  10. #10

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Yeah I have done that and it works, but want it to also be used for the main menu backdrop and that is the one I can’t find.

  11. #11
    cedric37's Avatar Why Not !
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    7,767

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    For a backdrop menu I can provide you with a version without logo and rightly named _m2_border_frontend.tga (), would look better

    PS: this becomes _m2_border.tga after 1st page
    My submods & other links
    AUI for 3rd Age|EFI for Call of Warhammer|E2DI for Stainless Steel
    Making Kingdoms UI's (basics)|New Campaign UI's for 3rd Age
    Patronized by y2day/Patron of KDK, Swagger & Navajo Joe, of the Imperial House of Hader


  12. #12

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Ok that sounds great thanks

  13. #13
    cedric37's Avatar Why Not !
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    7,767

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Use this one for frontend then copy and rename to _m2_border.tga.
    Same place as splash.tga (/data/menu)

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/a6v3me...r_frontend.tga
    My submods & other links
    AUI for 3rd Age|EFI for Call of Warhammer|E2DI for Stainless Steel
    Making Kingdoms UI's (basics)|New Campaign UI's for 3rd Age
    Patronized by y2day/Patron of KDK, Swagger & Navajo Joe, of the Imperial House of Hader


  14. #14

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    cheers mate

  15. #15

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    If you want some genuine medieval warfare loading screens, I've uploaded some here :
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/downl...o=file&id=4352

  16. #16

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Nice! Thanks Roz

  17. #17

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Point Blank View Post
    The long swords are slightly out of place with the coat-of-plates armor
    The earliest evidence of longsword usage goes back to the 1220s and 1230s, so the issue would only be that they weren't that widespread during the 13th century, not that they did not exist.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Help With New Splash Screen

    That’s why I said ‘slightly’

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •