Thread: Spartan tactics

Default Spartan tactics

Recently began a campaign with Sparta on VH/N, expanded to Athens and the two greek islands + the town between Macedonians. Rome has apollonia and Macedon is looking strong with their pikes up north. My questions is related to fighting macedonians and specially their pikes. I am a veteran but with my 1 stack of hoplites and cretan archers + slingers I am afraid figthing their 2 and half stack of pikes With them being in peace with all I cant even wait for them to leave and backstab them quickly. Where do yous have expanded in this situation? I cant afford fighting more than 1 faction at a time, and macedon seems logical.

Default Re: Spartan tactics

There is zero reason for you is the player to be afraid of AI pikes.

Use the same tactics you used against the other Greek States.

In fact you'll actually perform better, because your cretan archers and rhodian slingers can absolutely devastated Pikes friendly once they go into Phalanx formation.

Spartan hoplites travel a bit quicker, so you can actually have your hoplites move back a distance after the enemy is gone into Phalanx formation and then just tear them apart with your range units.

♔Greek Strategos♔'s Avatar THE BEARDED MACE
    took an arrow to the knee

Just watch the 300 movie and you'll learn anything you'll ever need.

Quote Originally Posted by Greek strategos View Post
    Just watch the 300 movie and you'll learn anything you'll ever need.
    I'd day it's more of a WH manual. As in, how to fight ogres, dark elven blademasters and whatnot.

Managed to defeat macedon and thracians pretty easily, they began tearing each other up eventually and had easy time clearing them both while they were weakened.