Thread: Narrative choices/ "Decision Paths" in TW:R2

Icon3 Narrative choices/ "Decision Paths" in TW:R2

Hello folks.

Hopefully you can help me - I'm a student doing some research on Total War: Rome 2 and wanted to ask about in-game events that occur. Like, is there certain events that happen at preset times in the game based on when the actual historical events happended? Or do these events occur only in response to the actions that players take within their individual campaigns?

It also would be great to hear about some of the decision paths & choices that players make and some of the consequences of these in terms of how the campaign plays out - as I'm sure must be huge differences in how the game unfolds depending on what choices people make when they play.

[Apologies in advance for not finding this out just by playing the game - time is always a factor for me....]

Thanks in advance for your help!

/Bewavertronius

Alwyn's Avatar Frothy Goodness
    Content Director Patrician Citizen

Default Re: Narrative choices/ "Decision Paths" in TW:R2

Hi Beavertronius, yes there are events which happen at different times. As far as I can tell, the events which I am thinking of are random, I don't think they are linked to specific years or specific actions by the player. (This is different from Empire Total War, when the player would be notified of historical events involving their faction or part of the world in the in-game year when the events happened.)

The events I'm thinking of involve things such as:-
    - A merchant arrives offering purple dye. Do you adopt the dye for the exclusive use of your ruling family, allow the merchant to trade or (something else I can't remember)?
    - A dispute in your ruling family needs resolution - something like: one member of your family has murdered another. A family member wants to kill the murderer, do you allow this?