Thread: Best Faction For New Players

Icon5 Best Faction For New Players

I know a lot of people probably ask this question, but what's the best faction for new players? I consider myself to be a reasonably experienced Total War player (been playing since Medieval I), but I am completely new to all things Warhammer. Bearing that in mind, what is the best faction for a new player to start with, without having to use mods, cheats, or exploits?

Default Re: Best Faction For New Players

I'd have to say that the Empire is the best starting faction, standard humans with a versatile roster that covers pretty much everything except for monstrous units. Plenty of expansion directions through diplomacy and war.
    For a veteran TW player you should pretty quickly get into the campaign side of any faction really, there's nothing really mind blowing going on. For example Vampire Counts has no ranged units (They do have magic though) whilst Dwarfs have no cavalry and a very limited form of magic etc.

Icon1 Re: Best Faction For New Players

Quote Originally Posted by Npk View Post
    I'd have to say that the Empire is the best starting faction, standard humans with a versatile roster that covers pretty much everything except for monstrous units. Plenty of expansion directions through diplomacy and war.
    For a veteran TW player you should pretty quickly get into the campaign side of any faction really, there's nothing really mind blowing going on. For example Vampire Counts has no ranged units (They do have magic though) whilst Dwarfs have no cavalry and a very limited form of magic etc.
    That the Empire is the easiest faction for new players seems to be the general consensus among people who have played this game. Based on wikis, forums, LPs, etc., it seems to me that faction dififculty generally goes in the following order:
    • Easy - Empire, Brettonia
    • Medium - Dwarves, Orcs, Vampire Counts
    • Hard - Wood Elves, Beastmen, Chaos