Page 1 of 33 123456789101126 ... LastLast

Thread: Sebidee's Complete Guide to Warhammer Unit Modding

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Sebidee's Avatar Artifex

Default Sebidee's Complete Guide to Warhammer Unit Modding

Hello future modders,

I’ve been modding Total War for 3 years which is a long time for someone with such a short attention span. My speciality is units and I have created over 1,000 individual units for Rome 2 and Attila in 3 major modifications and dozens of standalone unit mods. But that’s nothing special because modding isn’t actually that difficult, in fact contrary to what most people would have you believe it’s damn easy! You don’t need to have any kind of technical skills or know how things work or really be very clever at all (god knows I’m not). All you need is to have a little bit of creativity and the ability to click a mouse and press a few buttons on your keyboard. Come on man, they can train chimps to do that, are you dumber than a chimp?!

Learning how to mod can be a little daunting at first, it seems like there is so much to it. But there isn’t, it’s all in your mind man. It’s only difficult because you think it is. Remember when Yoda lifted the X-Wing out of the swamp on Dagoba in Empire Strikes Back? He’s a 1 foot tall goblin looking thing and he lifted a starfigher out of the mud after Luke couldn’t. It’s all the same with modding and if you don’t believe me then, to quote Master Yoda, “That is why you fail.”

So buckle up buttercup, strap yourself in and hold onto your butt because I’m going to learn you how to mod so hard that you’re probably going to unlearn something else, like how to drive or your name or whatever.

For this tutorial I am going to make the Altdorf Company of Honour and will guide you through the process step by step.

Read on and you’ll be churning out unit mods in no time!