Thread: Spending a Semester in Austria...

EmperorBatman999's Avatar I say, what, what?

Default Spending a Semester in Austria...

hey everyone,

I am an American student that is going to be spending a semester in Austria this spring taking courses at Salzburg University for five months. I will be residing in a university dormitory in town.

I want to get an idea on how to make a smooth transition into Austrian culture and society. I want to understand the ways and manners of this society, to figure out the "psychology" of the general Austrian, so to speak. I certainly don't want to be a brash American. I especially want to meet and befriend the local students and young people my age.

I don't speak German, but I am doing some independent study to get started and I will be taking language courses when I arrive. Are there any pointers I should know about before proceeding? I know some Spanish and Italian and know my way confidently around Romance languages, but grasping with a Germanic language that differs from English should be a new experience.

Anybody got any pointers for a guy?
    Last edited by EmperorBatman999; October 09, 2016 at 08:13 PM.

Adar's Avatar Just doing it
    Civitate

Default Re: Spending a Semester in Austria...

I am not Austrian but I work a lot with Austrians. They are a pretty non-weird country to work with so I don't think you have to worry about anything. They are pretty much like the conservative-leaning parts of Germany and conservative in this context mean good manners rather than burning abortion-clinics. Their English skills tend to be a bit worse than most other small European countries so it is probably a good idea to learn basic polite phrases and how to ask for directions in German.

Compared to working with Americans I think there are only two things I have observed that are good to know about.