Thread: Effectively Using Heavy Cavalry

Default Effectively Using Heavy Cavalry

To pull off a charge, does the enemy have to be set in formation? So if they attack, the only effective thing to do with your Heavy Cav is take them around and flank?

Do ya'll charge their formation with your Cavalry and then pull them back? Or do you rush with Infantry right after.

I usually line up my archers and duel it out for awhile. Sometimes I go around and flank their arty if they have it. When I do this they usually charge my lines, so there goes a chance of a charge.

Anyway, I guess I'm just looking for how the rest of you use your Cav since I'm new to TW games.

Eudorus's Avatar Tiro

Default Re: Effectively Using Heavy Cavalry

I had some problems with the charges too. To use to ROME, But the Official site has all you need to know on that

FROM OFFICIAL SITE

Regarding the new charge mechanic, there are two charges available to a cavalry unit: a formed charge which allows for most of the unit to charge into a target; and an unformed charge which stops the charge after 10% of the soldiers within that unit have made contact with the target. In RTW this wasn’t as much of an issue because cavalry did not have long lances and as such did not require two significantly different charge abilities. The M2TW charge system allows you to have a very powerful charge if you do everything right and a light charge if you don’t.

The triggers for a formed (powerful) charge include:

Line up the cavalry parallel to the target
    Utilize a long straight run up toward the target
    Prioritize stationary targets as moving targets may result in a last second turn and reform

The triggers for an unformed (weak) charge include:

The unit is spread out just before charging
    The charge is issued while too close to the target
    The charge is issued when the unit isn’t facing the target
    The player changes direction just before the charge• The target moves and turns just before being hit