Thread: Small towns as resources, merchants as governors

Default Small towns as resources, merchants as governors

I thought this would be a cool idea, what if there were small towns as resources and that instead of recruiting merchants you recruited governors or tax collectors to increase your income from that town. im new to the modding but I’m trying to learn what I can and I’m not sure if something like that is possible and I don't think it would really make much of a difference to game play unless there was a way to make it so your generals could go in and take the assets of a governor. It would also make it feel more real if the enemies’ army could go around your lands taking out your governors and your towns provoking you to fight out side your massive castle. Also is there anyway to bring back the deeds and titles to lands like in the first medieval.
    Just throwing the idea out there to see if it is possible for now and I am sure it is something we will have to wait for the unpacker to get started.
    Last edited by Oda Nobunaga; December 12, 2006 at 01:14 PM.

Default Re: Small towns as resources, merchants as governo

Knights of Honor operates on the principle of "resource towns". It's based on a solid reality of the history, so it would certainly add realism to MTW2, if we had resource towns. But the hard code is probably a wall against implimenting any major change like that.

Unless we changed the graphic picture for one of the resources. Like coal or whatever. And made that into a "picture-icon of a town". Then we could put a merchant on that.

"Pillaging" was also in Knights of Honor. It forced armies out of Castles and out onto free range battlefields in the country. To stop the pillagers from trashing investments in buildings and such.

Any way to increase open field battles in a real way is a good creative tack to take as a modder.