Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New win10 error (?)

  1. #1

    Default New win10 error (?)

    Ok so I admit that I haven't been playing RTW:XGM (or any RTW for that matter) in the past month or so..
    Yet now, when I tried to start up the modded game through Steam (using the alternate launch options: "-ne -show_err -nm -mod:xgm", which worked fine before) it gives me this error message:



    In the words of George Lucas or w/e:
    "Please DimeBagHo, you're our only hope!"


    EDIT: I would hate to reinstall the mod completely because I would hate to lose my saved games.. but if you think I should try that first, let me know..
    The reason I wouldn't like to re-install is because I am unsure of the certain choices I made months ago when installing this mod.. and every deviation from those original choices could corrupt my savegames...
    Last edited by Skizzy; November 20, 2015 at 03:17 PM.

  2. #2
    DimeBagHo's Avatar Praeses
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    7,945

    Default Re: New win10 error (?)

    My first guess is that you have installed XGM for the BI exe but you are trying to run with either the RTW or ALEX exe. Only the BI exe supports hording.

    You can check your previous install choices by looking at a file called xgmversion.txt which is located in the xgm mod folder.

  3. #3

    Default Re: New win10 error (?)

    Extended Greek Mod version 5.9.29
    Use BI: Yes
    Use Alex: No
    Use Steam: Yes
    Enable Fatigue: Yes
    Faster Movement: Yes
    Land Bridges: No
    Minimal Borders: No
    No Red Line: No
    Prometheus Cities: Yes
    Reduce AI Bonuses: Yes
    One Hitpoint System: Yes
    Enable Loyalty: No


    EDIT:
    I installed it over BI.exe
    I disabled land bridges btw, but it doesn't seem to disable them however way I install your modpack. I don't mind at all, so don;t worry about that..
    EDIT2:
    I only try to run the game over RTW:BI via Steam btw.. not/never via Alex.exe
    Last edited by Skizzy; November 20, 2015 at 04:07 PM.

  4. #4
    DimeBagHo's Avatar Praeses
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    7,945

    Default Re: New win10 error (?)

    It looks like you are starting up with the RTW exe. Error messages from the BI exe show "Rome Total War - Barbarian Invasion" in the title bar.

    When you start the game in Steam are you choosing to run Barbarian Invasion?

    http://www.wmwiki.com/hosted/xgm/xgm...withsteam.html

  5. #5

    Default Re: New win10 error (?)

    Well my emperor and call me a Greek...
    You were completely right about that one..!
    I didn't even check before, because I usually always start on BI.exe on Steam because of your fantastic mod!
    I only switched to normal RTW because of some other mods I was trying out.
    Ticking the BI-check-box on Steam-start-up fixed it all again
    Thanks mate! <3

  6. #6
    DimeBagHo's Avatar Praeses
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    7,945

    Default Re: New win10 error (?)

    Glad I could help.

  7. #7

    Default Re: New win10 error (?)

    Quote Originally Posted by DimeBagHo View Post
    Glad I could help.
    And that is why you are my hero when it comes to XGM
    Last edited by Skizzy; November 21, 2015 at 03:45 AM.

  8. #8

    Default Re: New win10 error (?)

    On a sidenote:
    This (me being unable to play XGM and this entire conversation) would've never have happened if I only had a little more control over my weekend drinking-habits..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •