Thread: Looking for New Desktop

Default Looking for New Desktop

Hi guys,

I'm currently looking to replace my 10 year old HP Pavilion desktop. It's been awhile since I bought a PC, so I thought I'd ask here. It will primary be used for school, media (streaming movies, etc), and some moderate gaming. So I guess it would be an all-around computer. I have a budget about $300-$500, and while it would be interesting to build one, I don't have the technical means or time.
    Assuming it's compatible with the new tech,I might be able to use the 9800gtx and the 4 or 500 PSU that's in my Pavilion right now.

It's imperative that the new PC have a HDMI port, as my monitor is a HDTV.

Hoping to get my new PC within a month. Just doing my research now, any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

Frunk's Avatar Form Follows Function
    Artifex

Default Re: Looking for New Desktop

I'm no expert, but I don't know if $500 gets you much these days...

Where are you based?
    If a post I make helps you or makes you laugh, don't forget to +rep me.

Quote Originally Posted by glitch View Post
    Hi guys,

I'm currently looking to replace my 10 year old HP Pavilion desktop. It's been awhile since I bought a PC, so I thought I'd ask here. It will primary be used for school, media (streaming movies, etc), and some moderate gaming. So I guess it would be an all-around computer. I have a budget about $300-$500, and while it would be interesting to build one, I don't have the technical means or time.
    Assuming it's compatible with the new tech,I might be able to use the 9800gtx and the 4 or 500 PSU that's in my Pavilion right now.

It's imperative that the new PC have a HDMI port, as my monitor is a HDTV.

Hoping to get my new PC within a month. Just doing my research now, any help would be appreciated! Thanks.
    Save up an extra 200-300 bucks and you should be able to get something worthwhile on black friday from tiger direct.

Quote Originally Posted by Infiernus View Post