Thread: Common Knowledge Mod (Proposal)

Default Common Knowledge Mod (Proposal)

Hi, I'm pretty much new to these forums, and modding in general. So, right from the outset, I have little to no experience with modding. But, I'd like to put forward a proposal and invite suggestions for a possible mod for M2:TW.

In the campaign game, there is no efficient way of telling what is happening in the world outside your little empire. Playing as the english, for instance, though I used my spies to find out who controlled which provinces in France, Spain, and Denmark, when it came to the holy land, the east, and Italy, it was just plain impossible to figure out what was happening in the wider world. I knew who was at war with who, but, for instance, there was no way for me to know whether the Byzantines held one territory, or ten.

I realise that this is what spies are meant for. But, sending out spies throughout the world is an inefficient way to figure out the shape of the lands held by factions. So, instead, I thought up this idea.

I think it is reasonable and historically accurate to assume that almost any leader of the playable factions in M2:TW would have a ROUGH idea of the shape of the European kingdoms. He would know the rough boundaries of the other kingdoms, though his infomation might be out of date by perhaps a few years. Such inmformation would be gathered from... well, at the least, "hearsay" and common knowledge. Traders and merchant captains would sail, for instance, from all over the world to constantinople, bringing news of local developments from their homes. Rulers WOULD KNOW the general shape of empires. They would know this, furthermore, without having to send spies to every damned province in Europe.