Thread: Milan Trade Empire for the noobs

Default Milan Trade Empire for the noobs

I'm not an expert, for sure, but i really can tell Milan is probably the best faction to start with.
    First i'll start by saying i hate the micro management required to deal with merchants, so i'm sure some tactics with them could greatly enhance the effectivness of Milan.

Lets start with a brief overview of the faction.

- The land :
    Milan starts with 2 cities : Milan, a continental city, and Genoa, a coastal city.
    Both are fairly big from start, and a situated in the north-western part of Italy.
    To the south, there is Florence, a rebel coastal town.
    To the south west, in the sea, two rebel castles in the islands of Corsica (Ajaccio) and Sardigna (Cagliari).
    West, covered by the river Rhone and the southern part of the alps is the french kingdom and the town of Marseille.
    North West is the rebel castle of Bern in the Alps.
    North there is Insbruk a Castle owned by the HRE.
    Right to the east on the eastern coast of italy is the city of Venise.
    South east is Bologna, a town held by the HRE.
    South of Florence is the "Holy" city of Rome.

The main objective in terms of expansion will be to take Florence asap, and then both Islands, tranforming the castles into towns as these will bring in some nice cash. I dont recommend to take Bern, as it will be a death trap and i dont recommend expanding north. Unless vital or creating a landbridge to your lands, i recommand to take only coastal provinces, or provinces with settlements less than a turn's move from one of your's.

- Politics :
    During the first hundred turns, Milan will have to deal with some not so friendly neighbours.

France if treated properly should be a friendly neighbour : do not take Bern nor Dijon, even if the council advises you to do so, thus France will never have and grudges against you.