Thread: Requesting advice for first AAR

Caillagh de Bodemloze's Avatar to rede I me delyte
    Content Emeritus spy of the council

Default Requesting advice for first AAR

I'm here in the hope of some advice.

I have been thinking of writing a Skyrim AAR. I'd like to say I was inspired by Hitai de Bodemloze's “By Gods' Jest” – it would be a worthy inspiration – but in fact I started wondering about this a while ago. I hope my AAR wouldn't step on Hitai's (or anyone else's) toes: the idea is that it would be about someone from this world who ends up in Skyrim and has to cope with that.

Anyway, I've never written an AAR before. I've found lots of useful stuff here in the Writers Lounge, and I've been reading through that. Any additional advice would obviously be useful, but what I particularly wanted to ask was what people think should be included in the OP. Links to chapters, or other sections, are clearly a good idea (once I've made it past 25 posts, at least), but is there anything else I should definitely include?

(Well, that's what I want to ask at the moment. When I've started the AAR, I'm sure I'll find I have more questions!)

Thank you in advance.

Hitai de Bodemloze's Avatar 避世絕俗
    Tournaments Joined
    Tournaments Won
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Requesting advice for first AAR

My AAR completely rips off another one anyway, I wouldn't worry! It's just a fun side project of mine as well, not anything serious. Skyrim AARs used to be really popular a few years ago, but I'm not sure how many of the old Skyrim AARtists are still around. Swaeft isn't around any more, Dance is a bit of a rarity these days unfortunately, people like Katsumoto and LuckyLewis who inspired me are long gone. Chirugeon of Nascent Ranger and An Orc In Skyrim fame is still lurking around the Rome II subforum though I think, so if you want some specific Skyrim AAR advice you could give him a shout.