Thread: Any tips for a first player?

Default Any tips for a first player?

Hi everyone, i started with Empire today for the very first time, i did both battle tutorials and started a short campaign with Prussians.

But the thing is, my background is entirely from MTW and RTW. This engine is different and although it has the feel from previous total war games, there is a lot of differences. The tutorials gave me a good base to battles, but the campaign part is more complex than before.

I don't want to look like a lazy guy, i like to search for informations about the gameplay and so on, but i rather learn from my mistakes before jumping in any guides or "how to play" videos.

The reason for this topic is to ask for aid to those who has a good experience in this title, I was about to post in frequently asked threads but i read about some limitations over there about tactical questions, well, i would be very happy if anyone could tell me any tips about the game in general, the campaign map, the big differences from previous TW games, some tips for my beginning with Prussians and any strategy for my early game. Also, anyone feel free to give any other type of tips at all, about anything that could be useful for a first time player.

I want to thank everyone previously and apologize if i wasn't able to create a thread like this.

Default Re: Any tips for a first player?

check ministers and re-arrange and/or replace as needed
    as a principle, set lower class tax to lowest to spawn more cities and avoid revolts, and set upper class tax to medium.
    schools causes unrest, so build them in regions that have observatories and churches, or can spawn cities-churches,
    to offset the unhappiness
    i try to get 1 school in enlightment, 1 in agriculture, and 1 in infantry ASAP, with an aim of ~8 schools in total,
    on enlightment, first get the university in the further-left field, then the economics in the further-right field,