Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 121 to 140 of 179

Thread: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

  1. #121
    Markmilan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    East Anglia, UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Hi there,

    Lengthy post so I hope you’ll bear with me!

    Was after some advice about making 4 changes to the early era campaign start pos.

    At game start France holds Angers + Bordeaux and the rebels hold Lyon + Metz. My plan is to swap Angers ownership with Lyon and Bordeaux ownership with Metz.

    I therefore went into Desc_Strat in the SS mod folder and copied and pasted Lyon & Metz and gave to France and copied and pasted Angers and Bordeaux and gave to rebels.

    Then I moved the armies (changing the x & y co-ordinates) as follows;
    French Commander and Army in Angers into Lyon
    Commander and Army in Lyon into Angers
    Commander and Army in Bordeaux into Metz
    Commander and Army in Metz into Bordeaux
    NB changed region name accordingly above each army.

    When I loaded up the game none of the above had changed.

    I’ve had a look on google and was wondering if I need to edit any other files for these changes to go into effect. Some of the guides I read said to delete the armies in the regions I’m changing but I was hoping that by changing their starting co-ordinates they would have garrisons as above?

    Would appreciate any help/advice?

    Thanks

  2. #122
    paleologos's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Variable
    Posts
    4,058

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Does your SS_Launcher file contain the line file_first=true ?

  3. #123
    Gigantus's Avatar I always insist on burying the hatchet. At night. Still dripping. Next to my opponent
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    41,414
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Changing the co-ordinates is enough to move them.
    Copy\pasting settlements - did you remove the original entries after pasting, eg Angers in france section (now in slave section)?
    Delete the map.rwm file to generate a new map.

  4. #124
    Markmilan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    East Anglia, UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Hi Paleologos and Gigantus, thanks for the replies.

    Paleologos
    Thanks for the tip, I didn't check this, will check tonight.

    Gigantus
    Yeah, I did delete the original entries after pasting so I didn't have dual entries. Thanks for the tip, I will delete the map.rwm tonight as well - I didn't do this before. That map can be found here isn't it; SS6.3\data\world\maps\base?

    Thanks v much for your help both will try the above tonight

  5. #125
    paleologos's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Variable
    Posts
    4,058

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    You are welcome and I know that Giga is gaga to be of service as well.

  6. #126
    Markmilan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    East Anglia, UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by paleologos View Post
    Does your SS_Launcher file contain the line file_first=true ?
    Hi Paleologos, please could you tell me where I find the SS_Launcher file?

    Thanks

  7. #127
    Markmilan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    East Anglia, UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Markmilan View Post
    Hi Paleologos, please could you tell me where I find the SS_Launcher file?

    Thanks
    Pls ignore above. I added;
    [io]
    file_first = true in the config file (medieval2.preference.cfg).

    I must have made an error somewhere editing desc_strat though as had a watchtower fault in the system.log so will revisit tomorrow.

    Thanks again for the tips.

  8. #128
    Gigantus's Avatar I always insist on burying the hatchet. At night. Still dripping. Next to my opponent
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    41,414
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Markmilan View Post
    Pls ignore above. I added;
    [io]
    file_first = true in the config file (medieval2.preference.cfg).

    I must have made an error somewhere editing desc_strat though as had a watchtower fault in the system.log so will revisit tomorrow.

    Thanks again for the tips.
    The file_first entry should have been in the mod's CFG file already....?

    Pre-placed watchtowers and forts are linked to a region - if you alter the region's border in map_regions it may happen that they end up in another region. You will then have to change their entry accordingly. The same may also be the case if you change the co-ordinates.

  9. #129
    Markmilan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    East Anglia, UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    The file_first entry should have been in the mod's CFG file already....?

    Pre-placed watchtowers and forts are linked to a region - if you alter the region's border in map_regions it may happen that they end up in another region. You will then have to change their entry accordingly. The same may also be the case if you change the co-ordinates.
    Not sure how I managed to do that......but kept the old desc_strat as backup and game is working fine. Will take another look tonight! Thanks Gigantus & Paleologos

  10. #130
    Markmilan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    East Anglia, UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Hi,

    Just 2 last questions if I may;

    1) Faction Heir
    Playing as England the Faction Heir is always called "Duke" X in the game.
    Is it possible to mod SS so that the faction heir is always called "Prince" X instead of Duke?

    2) Family Tree
    I edited Desc_Strat early era to make the England royal family Plantagenets (not historically accurate at that date I know!) & gave the heir a son (aged 1). I noticed in the Desc_Strat folder that all Females and children have 'never a leader' after their name & age. Can the heirs son still be leader when he comes of age (or heir) with never a leader against his name in the desc_strat folder?

    Thanks!

  11. #131
    Gigantus's Avatar I always insist on burying the hatchet. At night. Still dripping. Next to my opponent
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    41,414
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    1 - entry in expanded.txt, second line in the example is what you are looking for (you obviously need the ENGLAND variation):
    {EMT_AZTECS_FACTION_HEIR}Aztec Faction Heir
    {EMT_AZTECS_FACTION_HEIR_NAME}Prince %S

    2 - yes he possibly can, it just indicates that he is not leader at the start of the game. There is a setting that makes him a leader or heir at the start, 'present_leader' and 'present_heir' I think. There obviously can't be another named_character then with that title. For more precise stuff check here.
    Last edited by Gigantus; February 18, 2016 at 03:57 AM.

  12. #132
    Markmilan's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    East Anglia, UK
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Thanks for your help again Gigantus, much appreciated.

  13. #133
    Gigantus's Avatar I always insist on burying the hatchet. At night. Still dripping. Next to my opponent
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    41,414
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!


  14. #134

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    How to make so that i can train/retrain units, construct/repair buildings in the same turn after a siege? I ask because in TATW i can do that.

  15. #135

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Is it possible to give regular units the ability to replenish their numbers over time in the same way general bodygaurd units do?

  16. #136
    Gigantus's Avatar I always insist on burying the hatchet. At night. Still dripping. Next to my opponent
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    41,414
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Not possible - this was introduced only as of ETW.

  17. #137

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    I am having serious problems trying to mod Stainless Steel into one settlement type to the point that not even system.log is telling me anything except that something happens during or after a trigger named sicily is fired. At this point, any advice helps.

  18. #138

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Have an issue with real recruitment..and I wonder if anyone can point me in the right direction. I use SS_Launcher, and always used byg`s grim reality IV and real recruitment for added difficulty. I noticed now..the game was more fun imo without RR, but when I disable it in the setup.. local forces aren`t available to me anymore(example, muslim archer in sicily)

    is this a bug..or is it ment to be that way. can I do anything to mod this back to life. the game looses imo a lot of flavour with unique units gone. big thanks for any answers

    ps..are there any mods that complement stainless steel nicely, don`t hesitate to give me your opinion

  19. #139

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    I'm looking to change the campaign map models of some the resources in SSHIP back to their original ones, but I can't seem to find the default .cas files for most of the resources on the map, like grain or wine for example.

    Does anybody know where I can get those files, or if there is a better way of going about this I just don't know about?

    I'd appreciate some insight.

  20. #140

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    ".../SS6.3/data/model_strat/" is where you should look for, I think that you only need to delete the new models as IIRC SS used M2TW stock ones just with new textures.
    You can check descr_sm_resources.txt

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •