Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 175

Thread: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

  1. #1
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Icon5 How to: Mod Stainless Steel!





    Edit: I have changed the purpose of this thread to help with all modding related questions about Stainless Steel or any Stainless Steel submods. If you have any questions please feel free to ask them here.



    I noticed a lot of people download SS for the first time and run into errors but dont know how to do anything about it. Well here is a guide to tell you how to check for errors and what to do with that information.


    Step 1.
    Open the system.log file located in your Stainless Steel folder (or other mod folder)
    Typical Install:


    • C drive - Program Files - Sega - Medieval 2 Total War - mods - SS6.3 - system.log <-------- Open this


    Step 2.
    Here is an example of what you will see:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    08:55:18.291 [system.rpt] [always] CPU: SSE2
    08:55:18.298 [system.rpt] [always] ==== system log start, build date: Aug 3 2007 version bld-medieval2-kingdoms-104 (45562) ===
    08:55:18.301 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_0.pack
    08:55:18.302 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_1.pack
    08:55:18.303 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_2.pack
    08:55:18.304 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_3.pack
    08:55:18.305 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_4.pack
    08:55:18.305 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/localized.pack
    08:57:45.343 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/base/descr_sounds_music_types.txt, at line 51, column 70
    Unknown faction 'serbia'
    08:57:45.343 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/base/descr_sounds_music_types.txt, at line 51, column 170
    Unknown faction 'georgia'
    08:57:45.343 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/base/descr_sounds_music_types.txt, at line 51, column 170
    Duplicate faction 'georgia'
    08:57:45.344 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/base/descr_sounds_music_types.txt, at line 51, column 210
    Unknown faction 'armenia'
    08:57:45.344 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/base/descr_sounds_music_types.txt, at line 51, column 210
    Duplicate faction 'armenia'
    08:57:45.344 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/base/descr_sounds_music_types.txt, at line 51, column 224
    Unknown faction 'abbasid'
    08:57:45.344 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/base/descr_sounds_music_types.txt, at line 51, column 224
    Duplicate faction 'abbasid'
    09:00:56.709 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12600, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12601, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12602, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12603, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12604, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12605, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12606, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12607, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.710 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12608, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.711 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12609, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.711 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12610, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.711 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12611, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.711 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12612, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.711 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12613, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.711 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12614, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.711 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12615, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.712 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 12616, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    09:00:56.716 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit22'.
    09:00:56.716 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit23'.
    09:00:56.717 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit24'.
    09:00:56.717 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit25'.
    09:00:56.717 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit26'.
    09:00:56.717 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit27'.
    09:00:56.718 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit28'.
    09:00:56.718 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 12619, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'unit29'.


    This is actually from one of my test games. You can see there are a lot of [error] lines reported. Thats okay because not all [error] will cause a crash.

    Highlight everything in the system.log and right click and copy.

    Step 3.


    Chances are you wont know how to fix the problem yourself. What you can do is post your error log onto a bug report/help page and hopefully someone can help you. People are more likely to help you if you can go ahead and post this information yourself.

    Bug Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by k/t View Post
    You should add "Read the *$#@$ instructions" to your guide, since that's where most people go wrong.

    Also, tell them to set the log to "trace" if it's not already.
    Last edited by Andytheplatypus; May 02, 2014 at 09:09 PM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: How to: Check your own errors!

    I noticed a lot of people download SS for the first time, don't read the instructions, and then come whine on the forum that "the game crashes" and give absolutely no information about anything, because they don't bother reading the crash reporting instructions either. I never reply to such posts, because such people don't deserve help. Or I reply in an insulting way. Because such people deserve only insults.

    You should add "Read the *$#@$ instructions" to your guide, since that's where most people go wrong.

    Also, tell them to set the log to "trace" if it's not already.

  3. #3

    Default Re: How to: Check your own errors!

    this is what im getting
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Check your own errors!

    Quote Originally Posted by boo385 View Post
    this is what im getting
    Well this is the only error I am seeing:

    19:14:32.390 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/export_descr_unit.txt, at line 164, column 39
    Invalid ownership type 'kwarezm' found in unit 'baghlah'.

    This is what I found to be in the original SS Edu:
    ownership egypt, turks, moors, kwarezm
    recruit_priority_offset -45

    What you can try to do is go to line 164 (or you can search for baglah and just go to the bottom) and delete kwarezm from ownership.

    Save the file and see if that fixes your crash.

  5. #5
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    I have changed this thread to help with all modding related questions. If you have any questions about wanting to change something or where to get started, please feel free to ask.

  6. #6
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    bump

    No questions?

  7. #7

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    i have a question
    in ss the ribault (normal one not the monster) doesn't have reload animation after firing so it's simply better than the monster version
    is there a way to fix that, since in vanilla version it needs to reload after each volley

    i've already asked in the bug section but still no reply

  8. #8
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by ikyu828 View Post
    i have a question
    in ss the ribault (normal one not the monster) doesn't have reload animation after firing so it's simply better than the monster version
    is there a way to fix that, since in vanilla version it needs to reload after each volley

    i've already asked in the bug section but still no reply

    I havent used a gun powder unit in a really long time. If the reload animation for the ribault is different for SS then vanilla it might be a bad install for some reason. Cant think of why the animation would be messed up. I am 99% certain that nobody messed with the animations for SS since it is by no means easy to do.

    I have never messed with animations so I cant even tell you what file to look for. Sorry I wasnt much help.

  9. #9

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Andytheplatypus View Post
    I havent used a gun powder unit in a really long time. If the reload animation for the ribault is different for SS then vanilla it might be a bad install for some reason. Cant think of why the animation would be messed up. I am 99% certain that nobody messed with the animations for SS since it is by no means easy to do.

    I have never messed with animations so I cant even tell you what file to look for. Sorry I wasnt much help.
    i'm using the torrent version of ss if it matters
    is it possible if you try it in your version of ss ?
    i just want to make sure it's not only me who experience this

  10. #10
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Torrent wont matter, thats what I downloaded.

    I just tried it and they seem to be reloading normally for me.

    What do yours do just stand there? Does it still fire?

  11. #11

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Andytheplatypus View Post
    Torrent wont matter, thats what I downloaded.

    I just tried it and they seem to be reloading normally for me.

    What do yours do just stand there? Does it still fire?
    they will still fire but in my ss there is only a short delay between each volley
    while in vanilla the crew has reloading animation after every volley

    since there is no reloading animation for the ribault it's simply outperform the monster ribault

  12. #12
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    That sounds like something got messed up in the install. you should be able to just change the animation part of the unit so it will work.... not really 100% sure how to do that though. Its probably tied to the .mesh part of the unit.

    Here is a link to the new .mesh for them http://www.mediafire.com/?8r2988xz2uvd2

    Go to your SS data folder unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded <---- open this folder and paste the 4 .mesh files you downloaded here. Then open SS and see if it works.

  13. #13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Andytheplatypus View Post
    That sounds like something got messed up in the install. you should be able to just change the animation part of the unit so it will work.... not really 100% sure how to do that though. Its probably tied to the .mesh part of the unit.

    Here is a link to the new .mesh for them http://www.mediafire.com/?8r2988xz2uvd2

    Go to your SS data folder unit_models/_Units/EN_Peasant_Padded <---- open this folder and paste the 4 .mesh files you downloaded here. Then open SS and see if it works.
    it's still the same, no reloading animation at all
    the ss ribault still only has a short delay between each volley

  14. #14

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    sorry have been busy with real life but it is making me delete all of the factions that did not exist in the original game

  15. #15
    Gigantus's Avatar You're getting old when you don't care where your spouse goes, just as long as you don't have to go along.
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    40,613
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    No reloading animations - open the modeldb of SS and check what animation it's using (the bottom part of the entry). Then check descr_skeletons if an loading sequence is mentioned there.
    It does look intentional to me as it is very likely that the battle would crash when the ribault is firing if an animation was missing. Being vanilla animations most likely that wouldn't be the case anyhow - hence my thought about descr_skeletons where animation sequences are defined.

    It will make sense also to compare your IDX and DAT files (size) in the mod's data\animations folder.
    Last edited by Gigantus; May 12, 2014 at 12:36 AM.
    .


  16. #16

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    No reloading animations - open the modeldb of SS and check what animation it's using (the bottom part of the entry). Then check descr_skeletons if an loading sequence is mentioned there.
    It does look intentional to me as it is very likely that the battle would crash when the ribault is firing if an animation was missing. Being vanilla animations most likely that wouldn't be the case anyhow - hence my thought about descr_skeletons where animation sequences are defined.

    It will make sense also to compare your IDX and DAT files (size) in the mod's data\animations folder.
    the ribault is using MTW2_Crew_Ribault in descr.skeleton
    and there are differences between ss and vanilla for the MTW2_Crew_Ribault text command
    but even when i copy and paste the text command from vanilla to ss (for the MTW2_Crew_Ribault only), it still has no reloading animation

    my dat files for pack (50.874 kb) and skeletons (2.992 kb)
    for idx files for pack (204 kb) and skeletons ( 5 kb)

  17. #17
    Gigantus's Avatar You're getting old when you don't care where your spouse goes, just as long as you don't have to go along.
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    40,613
    Blog Entries
    13

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    and there are differences between ss and vanilla for the MTW2_Crew_Ribault text command
    That confirms my suspicions

    but even when i copy and paste the text command from vanilla to ss (for the MTW2_Crew_Ribault only), it still has no reloading animation
    It's bit more complicated then that. I suppose there are custom animations in SS's descr_skeleton file apart from the Ribault one which necessitate the generating of new idx and dat files.
    .


  18. #18
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by boo385 View Post
    sorry have been busy with real life but it is making me delete all of the factions that did not exist in the original game
    You need to delete and re-install SS completely. Something isnt right.

    Quote Originally Posted by ikyu828 View Post
    the ribault is using MTW2_Crew_Ribault in descr.skeleton
    and there are differences between ss and vanilla for the MTW2_Crew_Ribault text command
    but even when i copy and paste the text command from vanilla to ss (for the MTW2_Crew_Ribault only), it still has no reloading animation

    my dat files for pack (50.874 kb) and skeletons (2.992 kb)
    for idx files for pack (204 kb) and skeletons ( 5 kb)
    There doesnt seem to be a simple solution, like Gig said. I would just live with it unless you want to try a re-install of SS.

    + rep Gig

  19. #19

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    Quote Originally Posted by Andytheplatypus View Post
    There doesnt seem to be a simple solution, like Gig said. I would just live with it unless you want to try a re-install of SS.
    i've tried to re-install several times, but even on a clean install of version 6.3 n 6.4, it still has the same problem

  20. #20
    Andytheplatypus's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    . U.S. - MS, Gulf Coast.
    Posts
    2,385

    Default Re: How to: Mod Stainless Steel!

    It might be a problem with your original m2tw install but ill look into it.

Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •