Thread: Helpful advice to a failed AAR author?

Massive_attack's Avatar Campidoctor
    Citizen

Default Helpful advice to a failed AAR author?

Hey everyone!

Long time TWC vet here. Love this series and these forums, but this is my first time in this sub-forum, so forgive my transgressions. I might as well be a newbie in these particular parts.

Anyway, I've recently felt inspired to try my hand at a new medieval 2 total war AAR. Stainless Steel 6.0, with a bit of my own homebrew tweaks, but that's more or less irrelevant. I'm typing this up because I don't want a repeat of what happened last time.

What happened, you ask? A few things. I had no audience, for one, but that was likely because I was posting in a dying forum and I suppose my initial post advertising the work didn't catch anyone's attention. So there was clearly issues to be had with my narrative 'hook.'

Additionally, when I -eventually- got a small audience- something like 30 or so souls who occasionally glanced at the work; not really a devout fan-base at all, my content started to sputter out. I couldn't keep a good rhythm going. I had plot threads all wound up together that lead nowhere. I was building a cast out of thin air that, while potentially interesting, couldn't keep the story flowing nicely. People ultimately got dropped off and were 'killed off-screen' while two, maybe three main characters held the entire thing together. Sort of.

I think you probably see the problems just with that description alone. The end result was a work that flagged for months behind any schedules I wanted, that was mediocre even if individual scenes could be well written. The human moments were lost in a never ending tirade of "And then this battle or war happened!" and whatever narrative messages I was gunning for were turned into poor jests.

So I think before I go about stabbing at this whole 'writing' thing again I should ask for help from the pros- you fellows!