Thread: Target of total assassination?!

Default Target of total assassination?!

I'm very new to Medieval Total War so I have a question.

Some info first:
    I started playing my first campaigne with Italy. I built, built and built again... prospered of course. I've managed to avoid war. Well I had one battle in the sea but I settled it. My army is big and so on... blaa blaa... Now I am constantly bombarded by assassins from all over the place. About 3 attempts every move and all working for my allies(mostly). SO WTF!

So the real question is that is this a common tactic for CPU players or is this because I'm strong and I have powerful allies? I made multiple counter assassination with a big smile on my face but is there any other way to stop murders except border forts? Does it help if you have your own assasin in a province... you know to stop the other hitters?

Comments, please.
    Thanks!

KaerMorhen's Avatar Vicarius

Default Re: Target of total assassination?!

Yes it may help to have an assassin "guarding" your important characters. I can't say much about AI because I haven't played MTW for "ages", I remember sometimes it behaves very annoing but it's only AI. Hope in M2TW advancement and improvement of AI will be huge.

Having your own assassin won't prevent enemy assassins. Having a spy in the province should though. And yes it is a common tactic. Doesn't matter how friendly you are with a faction they will still always try to assassinate your men.

So if your own assasin won't help you spotting enemy assasins, what is the point having a assasin counterspying?
    It works like an emissary would... just spying...
    Last edited by DonIthe1st; October 04, 2006 at 02:40 AM.