Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 52

Thread: Editing Units

  1. #1
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Editing Units

    I am new at modding and spent about 3 hours trying to figure out how to edit a unit in DarthMod's Empire 8. I have pack manager and opened it, selected the file I wanted and exported to desktop so i could edit the unit with the included unit editor but the .tsv file does not load in the unit editor. I even downloaded the DBEdit tool and used that and there is no export option with that tool. The question is how can i get this to work? DarthMod's mod came with pack file manager and it too did not load the .tsv files after exporting from PFM.

  2. #2
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    The simplest Method is to use the DB editor, you can either edit the stats directly (without exporting) or copy and paste into excel, make your edits the copy and paste back to Db editor
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  3. #3
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Quote Originally Posted by ♔hammeredalways♔ View Post
    The simplest Method is to use the DB editor, you can either edit the stats directly (without exporting) or copy and paste into excel, make your edits the copy and paste back to Db editor
    Oh ok thanks! Can you tell what file(s) I would need to edit? Is it more than just one unit file? I just want to make an awesome USA unit

  4. #4
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    do you want to add a new unit, or edit an existing one?
    Last edited by ♔hammeredalways♔; July 25, 2013 at 11:18 AM.
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  5. #5
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Quote Originally Posted by ♔hammeredalways♔ View Post
    do you want to add a new unit, or edit an existing one?
    I tried adding a new one but I could not follow the tutorial to a T because it didn't match up with the program i was using...PFM...so just editing one would be good. Example - step 2 i believe, it said to open the main.pack file and extract a file, and import it into the custom pack file. Well, when i right clicked like told to do, i selected extract and then it asks which folder to extract to. The tutorial said click extract and then import to the my.pack.pack. No option to import the file. The tutorial is good but rather vague for a noob.

  6. #6
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    I just wish there was step by step instructions for a noob like myself

  7. #7
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    probably the best method is trial and error, also if you take a look through this section try a search for Db editor guides, tools etc. some are outdated but the basics are still applicable. I attach a very basic into guide as well as the DB editor file I use, if you want to something specific please let me know
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DB Editor basic.pdf  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  8. #8
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Thanks a lot, that helped immensely!!!

  9. #9
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    I have made the pack and the screenshots, and tested in game, I will have to now mark up the PDF's and will load them and the pack file either tonight or likely tomorrow


    something like this ok?
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Catlin Connecticut Brigade.jpg  
    Last edited by ♔hammeredalways♔; July 26, 2013 at 06:19 PM.
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  10. #10
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Quote Originally Posted by ♔hammeredalways♔ View Post
    I have made the pack and the screenshots, and tested in game, I will have to now mark up the PDF's and will load them and the pack file either tonight or likely tomorrow


    something like this ok?
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Awww man, it says invalid...can't see the pic

  11. #11
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Thanks for the help, I really do appreciate you taking the time and helping me!

  12. #12
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    This is what it said when I clicked the image - Invalid Attachment specified. Check that the URL is correct. If it seems to be, the resource you requested probably no longer exists, and links pointing to it should be deleted or updated.

  13. #13
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Ok in the attached is (hopefully step by step guide) on adding a new unit. It does not cover graphic editing etc.,as there a number of tutorials to do this - (take a look here to start http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...1#post11232691 )

    I have also zipped
    the pack file manager that I used


    the db editor is in post 7

    Finally the pack containing the Catlin's Elite Line Infantry is included

    if anything is unclear please let me know
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Add New unit guide1.pdf  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  14. #14
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Quote Originally Posted by Beantownfan73 View Post
    This is what it said when I clicked the image - Invalid Attachment specified. Check that the URL is correct. If it seems to be, the resource you requested probably no longer exists, and links pointing to it should be deleted or updated.
    I have added as an attachment so hopefully you should be able to view now
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  15. #15
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    On the assumption that you are not using a Mod then place the attached file in this directory

    C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\The Creative Assembly\Empire\scripts

    also assuming that C is where your game is located
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  16. #16
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Thanks! I am using DarthMod's Mod Empire 8. Will that clash with this?

  17. #17
    ♔hammeredalways♔'s Avatar Darthmod Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,250

    Default Re: Editing Units

    no it will be fine, you will need to increase the men per unit to 300 to be in sync with the others, I will check the other stats as well as I used a base vanilla unit to clone and Darth makes a number of changes. I will upload here once completed
    Knight of the binge-drinking-Kebab-shop-vomiting-taxi rank-punch-up? 32nd degree

  18. #18
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Wonderful, thanks!

  19. #19
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    I am using your guide now...very detailed, I don't know what to say?! You are awesome and this seemed like a lot of work for you! I'm doing it too and so far so good. How do i give you reps or kudos? I know it's just a game but you have helped me immensely. I am finding as i go along with your guide how easy it actually is now. After many hours of frustration, thanks to you, I will have that custom unit!

  20. #20
    Beantownfan73's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Editing Units

    Quote Originally Posted by ♔hammeredalways♔ View Post
    I have made the pack and the screenshots, and tested in game, I will have to now mark up the PDF's and will load them and the pack file either tonight or likely tomorrow


    something like this ok?
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    I love it! Looks great, don't change a thing!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •