Page 12 of 78 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112131415161718192021223762 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 240 of 1545

Thread: Modding Questions and Help Thread

  1. #221
    Mank's Avatar Dormouse of Hader
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    The Mankery
    Posts
    777

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Okies, I just threw this on my version of the game to make sure it worked. Here is the export_descr_building.txt code that works for my TATW 3.2:

    Code:
    building hinterland_roads
    {
        convert_to hinterland_castle_roads
        levels roads paved_roads highways
        {
            roads city requires factions { sicily, byzantium, milan, scotland, turks, spain, venice, england, france, hre, portugal, egypt, mongols, moors, } 
            {
                convert_to 0
                capability
                {
            trade_base_income_bonus bonus 1
                    road_level 0
                }
                material wooden
                construction  4
                cost  1500
                settlement_min town
                upgrades
                {
                    paved_roads
                }
            }
            paved_roads city requires factions { sicily, byzantium, milan, scotland, turks, spain, venice, france, egypt, mongols, moors, }  and hidden_resource roads
            {
                convert_to 1
                capability
                {
            trade_base_income_bonus bonus 2
                    road_level 1
                }
                material wooden
                construction  6
                cost  3500
                settlement_min city
                upgrades
                {
                highways
                }
            }
            highways city requires factions { sicily, spain, venice, }
            {
                convert_to 2
                capability
                {
            trade_base_income_bonus bonus 2
                road_level 2
                }
                material wooden
                construction  8
                cost  5000
                settlement_min huge_city
              upgrades
              {
              }
        }
      }
      plugins
      {
      }
    }
    building hinterland_castle_roads
    {
        convert_to hinterland_roads
        levels c_roads c_paved_roads c_highways
        {
            c_roads castle requires factions { sicily, byzantium, milan, scotland, turks, spain, venice, england, france, hre, portugal, egypt, mongols, moors, } 
            {
                convert_to 0
                capability
                {
            trade_base_income_bonus bonus 1
                    road_level 0
                }
                material wooden
                construction  4
                cost  1500 
                settlement_min town
                upgrades
                {
                    c_paved_roads
                }
            }
            c_paved_roads castle requires factions { sicily, byzantium, milan, scotland, turks, spain, venice, france, egypt, mongols, moors, }  and hidden_resource roads
            {
                convert_to 1
                capability
                {
            trade_base_income_bonus bonus 2
                    road_level 1
                }
                material wooden
                construction  6
                cost  3500 
                settlement_min city
              upgrades
              {
                c_highways
              }
            }
            c_highways castle requires factions { sicily, spain, venice, }
            {
              convert_to 2
              capability
              {
            trade_base_income_bonus bonus 2
                road_level 2
              }
              material wooden
              construction  8
              cost  5000
              settlement_min huge_city
              upgrades
              {
              }
        }
      }
      plugins
      {
      }
    }
    Removing the hr_none got it working for my version, with no crash. You can try copy/pasting this code over and see if the roads show up for you.

    My confusion was coming from what you meant by "building browser". I was thinking of the icons that you click on to put something in the building queue. Anyway try this code out and tell me if it gets things up and running for you.

    Edit: Don't worry if it doesn't show up in the building "viewer" tab, look for it in the construction tab where you choose what buildings to build.
    Last edited by Mank; June 02, 2013 at 05:20 PM.

  2. #222
    riuk881's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan, US
    Posts
    492

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    It works! I also got a bit of a laugh. Idk what you did but now instead of Citadel when I mouse over it says "DO NOT TRANSLATE - ARGH! OH GOD! NOT MEANT TO BE A STAR FORT ANYWHERE! ARGH AGAIN!"
    It's not a question of where it grips it. It's a simple questions of weight ratios; a five ounce bird could not carry a one pound coconut.

  3. #223
    Mank's Avatar Dormouse of Hader
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    The Mankery
    Posts
    777

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Well first things first I'm glad it works! As to that bit of funny text, that must be an error in the export_buildings.txt file that you added those gondor strings to. Take a look again at the extra strings you added to double check, Dr. Beast posted what the citadel text should look like just a bit further up the thread.

  4. #224
    riuk881's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan, US
    Posts
    492

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    At any rate Thank you so so so much for all the help. I can't express how grateful i am.
    It's not a question of where it grips it. It's a simple questions of weight ratios; a five ounce bird could not carry a one pound coconut.

  5. #225
    Mank's Avatar Dormouse of Hader
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    The Mankery
    Posts
    777

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    You're most welcome, may your armies march many miles on the new highways!

  6. #226

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    I have a question. How do I change the in-game name of units?

  7. #227
    Ngugi's Avatar TATW & Albion Local Mod
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    10,687

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by wyrda78 View Post
    I have a question. How do I change the in-game name of units?
    Open export_units.txt found in data/text

    Then change the text after the brackets {do NOT touch the text inside}.
    Example;

    Vanilla:
    Code:
    ¬----------------
    {Fountain_Guard}    Fountain Guard
    {Fountain_Guard_descr}
    Gondorian troops who guard the Fountain and the White Tree. They are not allowed to talk when on duty and they wear silk masks to remind visitors and themselves of the absolute silence. They are finest of Gondor picked from the best of best and led by the Steward's son.\nREQUIRES MINAS TIRITH
    {Fountain_Guard_descr_short}
    Elite Gondorian spearmen without shields. REQUIRES MINAS TIRITH
    and this is what you want to edit (including descripion texts possibly):
    Code:
    ¬----------------
    {Fountain_Guard}    The Ferrit Guard
    {Fountain_Guard_descr}
    Gondorian troops who guard the Ferrit and his gang. They are not allowed to talk when on duty and they wear silk masks to remind visitors and themselves of the absolute awesomness that is the Ferrit. They are finest of Gondor picked from the best of best and led by the Steward's son.\nREQUIRES MINAS TIRITH
    {Fountain_Guard_descr_short}
    Elite Gondorian spearmen without shields. REQUIRES MINAS TIRITH
    Last edited by Ngugi; June 03, 2013 at 11:16 AM.

    Kingdom of Lindon preview video out





    DCI: Last Alliance
    - WIP Second Age mod | DCI: Tôl Acharn - mighty Dúnedain Counter Invasions |
    Additional Mercenary Minimod - more mercs; for TATW and DCI | Family Tree minimods - lore improvements | Remade Event Pictures - enhance cultures trough images |
    Favorite TATW compilation: Withwnars Submod Collection
    Patron of Mank, Kiliç Alì, FireFreak111, MIKEGOLF & Arachir Galudirithon, Earl of Memory

  8. #228
    DrBeast's Avatar Biarchus
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Somewhere Out In Space
    Posts
    684

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    What the Ferret said. Also, delete the export_units.txt.strings.bin file when you're done. The game will regenerate a new one with your changes incorporated.

  9. #229

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Thanks. + rep for both of you.

  10. #230

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Question: Is it possible to have the (custom) settlements be seen in the Background of the battlefield like it was in Rome? And is in LOTR Total War for alexander.

  11. #231
    Ngugi's Avatar TATW & Albion Local Mod
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    10,687

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    @ ThAgSp
    The discussion been up before.
    Yes, the TATW modders then replied, it is possible technically, or least some kind of substitute with same result (not my area of modding so not quite sure about the principles); but the amount of battlefield backgrounds is limited in M2, meaning it would have negative consequences elsewhere to add it and thus TATW will not spend their backgrounds on it.

    Kingdom of Lindon preview video out





    DCI: Last Alliance
    - WIP Second Age mod | DCI: Tôl Acharn - mighty Dúnedain Counter Invasions |
    Additional Mercenary Minimod - more mercs; for TATW and DCI | Family Tree minimods - lore improvements | Remade Event Pictures - enhance cultures trough images |
    Favorite TATW compilation: Withwnars Submod Collection
    Patron of Mank, Kiliç Alì, FireFreak111, MIKEGOLF & Arachir Galudirithon, Earl of Memory

  12. #232

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Mh.. I thought the background would be the surrounding terrain? E.g. when fighting in W.Osgiliath you can clearly see the Mountains of Mordor and the Mindolluin. I thought the settlements where somehow part of the landscape. Pity.. would look so cool.

  13. #233
    knight of meh's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    3,707

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    if i am not mistaken you are thinking of it the wrong way around the background is part of the custom settlement i believe and you can't generate it as a field for battle just from the pretty picture that it is in the background
    Last edited by knight of meh; June 04, 2013 at 03:45 PM. Reason: dam you keyboard

  14. #234

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Well in the "grandpa" of this mod LOTR TW the (custom) settlements can be seen in the landscape depending on how far the battle you fight is away from them. This was always the case in rome. but i thouhgt this would be possible with MTW2 too. But it seems im mistaken. Well.. would have been nice.

  15. #235
    riuk881's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan, US
    Posts
    492

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Is there a way to launch tatw without going through the kingdoms launcher and selecting the americas campaign? recently the launcher isn't closing when i launch the game and the music continues even when i'm on the campaign map and I have to use the task manager to close it. Sorry if this is in the wrong place.
    It's not a question of where it grips it. It's a simple questions of weight ratios; a five ounce bird could not carry a one pound coconut.

  16. #236
    DrBeast's Avatar Biarchus
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Somewhere Out In Space
    Posts
    684

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    In the non-Steam version, all you have to do is create a desktop shortcut of Third Age.bat, located in the main Third_Age_3 folder.

  17. #237
    riuk881's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Michigan, US
    Posts
    492

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    then it is unfortunate as i have steam...
    It's not a question of where it grips it. It's a simple questions of weight ratios; a five ounce bird could not carry a one pound coconut.

  18. #238

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    Hello guys I am using the DVC map and I have been modding my game a bit. Celeborn currently is my second greatest general and I want him to give some of his greatness to the next generation but unfortunately I couldn't get him to win a man of the hour. So I temporarily modded the files to allow princesses for the Silvian Elves alone, in the hopes of getting a princess to marry Celeborn. I was planning on using the console to get my brand new princess to him, and to then just change the files back to stop princesses from popping up in the future, but she cannot move! I tried removing the locked trait from her using the give_trait function but it does nothing, she still cant move. Then I changed the effects of one of her traits to make her able to move absurd distances. Still nothing. Can anyone help please?
    Last edited by Steward Denethor II; June 08, 2013 at 04:41 PM. Reason: Grammar Error

  19. #239
    Mhaedros's Avatar Brave Heart Tegan
    Content Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8,764
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    I don't know if scripts are save-game compatible, but if they are you could spawn a princess by script.
    Under the patronage of Finlander. Once patron to someone, no longer.
    Content's well good, innit.


  20. #240
    knight of meh's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    3,707

    Default Re: Modding Questions and Help Thread

    so you have just changed it to yes in descr_factions_blah(can't remember)

    i think you need to add, starting_action_points 120 to Descr character , look at the merchants you will see how it works

    ( tbh i know you have to add movement points somewhere because they are set to zero somewhere in the files.. but i can't for the live of me remember where so tired... )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •