Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Thread: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

  1. #1
    ur-Lord Tedric's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,062

    Default Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Happy Roman Players,

    As I help the Team test possible fixes and whilst they do not endorse 'hot fixes' per se, there is a relatively simple 'edit' that any of you should be able to do that should disable the 2nd Rebellion - and keep your .sav's compatible/allow you to simply continue.

    Whether you're playing a 0turn (in the 'Play_Rome' folder) or, like all mine, playing 1turn (in the 'Play_Rome_One_Turn' folder); in the /data sub-folder, you will find a text file called:

    'export_descr_character_traits' - I'm sure many of you are familiar with it. Make a back-up copy, then...

    Open this with Notepad (or similar) and 'Find' (Ctrl-F) the following Trait Trigger:

    ;------------------------------------------


    Trigger Caesar_Rebellion1
    WhenToTest CharacterTurnEnd

    Condition FactionType romans_brutii
    and IsFactionLeader
    and not Trait HouseCaesar = 1
    and not Trait Dictator > 0
    and I_NumberOfSettlements romans_brutii >= 85
    and I_TurnNumber > 2


    Affects Caesar_Rebellion 1 Chance 5

    ;------------------------------------------;

    For interest, you will note that there is a 5% chance that this will trigger every turn after you gain 85 Settlements. To simply disable it - change/edit the number '85' to '198' and the rebellion should no longer occur (Note: there are 199 Settlements, but you are not supposed to capture the Free People's (SW corner) or Gotland, the Rebels Home).

    Because you are not changing the structure of the file, this will be .sav-compatible.

    As an aside - it is possible that a player may never get the rebellion (capturing 130 settlements) - but only in 1:100 campaigns.

    Please note: this is a personal post, I'm just a serious play-tester for the Team and they take no responsibility for any sub-mods (which effectively this is). Take care when editing the file and you should have no problems, however.
    "VH campaign difficulty is bugged out (CA bug that never got fixed) and thus easier than Hard so play on that instead" - apple

    RSII 2.5/2.6 Tester and pesky irritant to the Team. Mucho praise for long suffering dvk'.

  2. #2
    Munifex
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Sounds promising and logic. Will try it out in my 1-turn campaign when I reach the 85 and trigger the rebellion.

  3. #3
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Thanks man. Great work on the mod btw. I'm definitely an addict. Can you disable the rebellion after it has started? So the 3rd,4th,5th...don't start.

  4. #4
    ur-Lord Tedric's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,062

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by tjohnsoniv1200 View Post
    Thanks man. Great work on the mod btw. I'm definitely an addict. Can you disable the rebellion after it has started? So the 3rd,4th,5th...don't start.
    The Mod is not down to me - I'm just a Tester and Tweaker - you can thank the Team; me, I just bother them to death with questions.

    The last bit is tricky - for if I knew that, then I could fix it myself! You could, however, try the same 'tweak' as above - for a success would help 'us' narrow down what's causing the problem in the first place.
    "VH campaign difficulty is bugged out (CA bug that never got fixed) and thus easier than Hard so play on that instead" - apple

    RSII 2.5/2.6 Tester and pesky irritant to the Team. Mucho praise for long suffering dvk'.

  5. #5
    Hastatas Prior
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    651

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Very clever. Good thinking Tedric

    edit- lol I haven't logged in for months and it won't let me rep you because you were one of the last people I rep'd. Glad to see you're still contributing good stuff, man.

  6. #6
    Munifex
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by ur-Lord Tedric View Post
    Happy Roman Players,

    As I help the Team test possible fixes and whilst they do not endorse 'hot fixes' per se, there is a relatively simple 'edit' that any of you should be able to do that should disable the 2nd Rebellion - and keep your .sav's compatible/allow you to simply continue.

    Whether you're playing a 0turn (in the 'Play_Rome' folder) or, like all mine, playing 1turn (in the 'Play_Rome_One_Turn' folder); in the /data sub-folder, you will find a text file called:

    'export_descr_character_traits' - I'm sure many of you are familiar with it. Make a back-up copy, then...

    Open this with Notepad (or similar) and 'Find' (Ctrl-F) the following Trait Trigger:

    ;------------------------------------------


    Trigger Caesar_Rebellion1
    WhenToTest CharacterTurnEnd

    Condition FactionType romans_brutii
    and IsFactionLeader
    and not Trait HouseCaesar = 1
    and not Trait Dictator > 0
    and I_NumberOfSettlements romans_brutii >= 85
    and I_TurnNumber > 2


    Affects Caesar_Rebellion 1 Chance 5

    ;------------------------------------------;

    For interest, you will note that there is a 5% chance that this will trigger every turn after you gain 85 Settlements. To simply disable it - change/edit the number '85' to '198' and the rebellion should no longer occur (Note: there are 199 Settlements, but you are not supposed to capture the Free People's (SW corner) or Gotland, the Rebels Home).

    Because you are not changing the structure of the file, this will be .sav-compatible.

    As an aside - it is possible that a player may never get the rebellion (capturing 130 settlements) - but only in 1:100 campaigns.

    Please note: this is a personal post, I'm just a serious play-tester for the Team and they take no responsibility for any sub-mods (which effectively this is). Take care when editing the file and you should have no problems, however.
    I had something around 65 regions,no rebellion yet so I decided to test it:
    -so I set it to 55 instead 85,and out of 18 rebel regions(they are listed in descr file) I deleted 15.
    Effect:
    -not a single settlement rebelled but I got a few Roman Rebel full stacks here and there for about ten turns.I killed one - another appeared.
    After that,all quiet.There IS something inside those lines there.

  7. #7
    Luxchamp's Avatar Hastatas Posterior
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Luxembourg
    Posts
    758

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    i have to ask... does this work with the 4tpy submod?
    "Siehst du in des Waldes Grün feindlicher Gewehrmaschin?"
    - Peronje

    "Der NKWD in Russland, der SD im Deutschland des Dritten Reiches und alle anderen Geheimpolizeiorganisationen ähnlicher Art sind Spielwiesen für Psychopathen, für Usurpatoren illegaler Macht über Millionen.
    Dort liegen die Krebsherde der modernen Gesellschaft."


    aus "Holt Hartmann vom Himmel" Motorbuch Verlag Spezial 2007

  8. #8
    ur-Lord Tedric's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,062

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by Luxchamp View Post
    i have to ask... does this work with the 4tpy submod?
    I don't know what's been tweaked in that sub-mod and it would be best to ask and seek an answer in that sub-mod's sub-forum I'm sure.

    However, I don't see why not - and may allow you to play all possible 1,278 turns to 100AD!
    "VH campaign difficulty is bugged out (CA bug that never got fixed) and thus easier than Hard so play on that instead" - apple

    RSII 2.5/2.6 Tester and pesky irritant to the Team. Mucho praise for long suffering dvk'.

  9. #9
    Sukauto
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Finally registered on the forums, and gotta say love this mod by the way definitely the best mod out there and believe me I've played a lot. I know I should Tone this and I probably will but I was wondering if it's possible if your fix will work for Tone's FGE submod?

  10. #10
    Sukauto
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Hate to do this but I can't edit...it's Chris's FGE submod...my b. Everyone who's put in the time and effort to make this beautiful mod really are awesome. From an avid player I salute and thank you!

  11. #11
    tungri_centurio's Avatar Hastatas Posterior
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    belgium/flanders/tungria
    Posts
    788

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    iff i edit the files can i than put my FM back in to the conquered citys??or do they still gonna loose ther loyalty??
    otherwise i just start a new game with other faction untill 2.6 or minipatch is out.

  12. #12
    Petite Wolf's Avatar Centurio
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    428

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Tungri, I'd say just give it a go and see. Wait for the rebellion to happen, and after it has, apply the fix in this thread, then report back your findings.



  13. #13
    ur-Lord Tedric's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,062

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by Smokeyy View Post
    Finally registered on the forums, and gotta say love this mod by the way definitely the best mod out there and believe me I've played a lot. I know I should Tone this and I probably will but I was wondering if it's possible if your fix will work for Tone's FGE submod?
    I don't know enough about the sub-mod to know, but provided the situation is similar, then I don't see why not. But see below....
    "VH campaign difficulty is bugged out (CA bug that never got fixed) and thus easier than Hard so play on that instead" - apple

    RSII 2.5/2.6 Tester and pesky irritant to the Team. Mucho praise for long suffering dvk'.

  14. #14
    ur-Lord Tedric's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,062

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by tungri_centurio View Post
    iff i edit the files can i than put my FM back in to the conquered citys??or do they still gonna loose ther loyalty??
    otherwise i just start a new game with other faction untill 2.6 or minipatch is out.
    Quote Originally Posted by Petite Wolf View Post
    Tungri, I'd say just give it a go and see. Wait for the rebellion to happen, and after it has, apply the fix in this thread, then report back your findings.
    This little 'tweak', won't sort out an existing 2nd Rebellion 'problem' - what it does is stop the 2nd Rebellion happening at all.
    "VH campaign difficulty is bugged out (CA bug that never got fixed) and thus easier than Hard so play on that instead" - apple

    RSII 2.5/2.6 Tester and pesky irritant to the Team. Mucho praise for long suffering dvk'.

  15. #15
    Petite Wolf's Avatar Centurio
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    428

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Ah okay. I misunderstood.



  16. #16
    Sertorio's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Castelo dos Mouros, Portugal
    Posts
    2,350

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    FGE is for RS 2.1, i don't think its bugged but i could be wrong.
    Texture works by Sertorio, banner courtesy of Joar

    My AAR for VGRII-AQUILAE

  17. #17
    tungri_centurio's Avatar Hastatas Posterior
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    belgium/flanders/tungria
    Posts
    788

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    i did not try this fix but let the 2de rebellion happen again so here is some info what happend
    i lost the same regions like last time only mid and south italie did not rebeled now
    i hit 85 settlements again and the 31 i took back from the rebels rebeled again
    2 of my FM switched sides with ther army here is a pic how the map looks like[IMG]
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    [/IMG
    ] hope it helps to solv the rebellion problem lord tedric
    oh something else also is it normal that the rebels spawn 2pretorian legions,3 gallic legions,2claudia pia... legions.,i try to make 1 of eatch but they spawn 2/3 of same legions.and the same as my legions not the opposit that i have??
    Last edited by tungri_centurio; March 30, 2013 at 03:02 PM.

  18. #18
    Petite Wolf's Avatar Centurio
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    428

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    I have a question. Is this bug caused by the rebellion repeatedly happening, or is it caused by the rebellion never technically ending? If it is caused by it repeatedly happening, then theoretically playing until the rebellion occurs then applying the fix only after it has happened so that when you reach 85 settlements again it doesn't reoccur should work. If it is caused by the rebellion never being recognised as having ended, then I dunno. I want to play a Roman campaign, but I want the whole experience and so applying this fix before the second rebellion occurs removes a lot of the fun of the campaign for me.



  19. #19
    ur-Lord Tedric's Avatar Sagittarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3,062

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by Petite Wolf View Post
    I have a question. Is this bug caused by the rebellion repeatedly happening, or is it caused by the rebellion never technically ending? ..............
    If we knew - then we could fix it.......
    "VH campaign difficulty is bugged out (CA bug that never got fixed) and thus easier than Hard so play on that instead" - apple

    RSII 2.5/2.6 Tester and pesky irritant to the Team. Mucho praise for long suffering dvk'.

  20. #20
    Sertorio's Avatar Pili Prior
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Castelo dos Mouros, Portugal
    Posts
    2,350

    Default Re: Temporarily Disabling the 2nd Rebellion/Civil War - .sav-compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by Petite Wolf View Post
    I have a question. Is this bug caused by the rebellion repeatedly happening, or is it caused by the rebellion never technically ending? If it is caused by it repeatedly happening, then theoretically playing until the rebellion occurs then applying the fix only after it has happened so that when you reach 85 settlements again it doesn't reoccur should work. If it is caused by the rebellion never being recognised as having ended, then I dunno. I want to play a Roman campaign, but I want the whole experience and so applying this fix before the second rebellion occurs removes a lot of the fun of the campaign for me.
    Tungri seems to be in the right condition to try that same fix. His rebellion already has happened so it would be interesting to see what happens post-fix.
    Texture works by Sertorio, banner courtesy of Joar

    My AAR for VGRII-AQUILAE

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •